We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Royal Lancaster London
Ranked #216 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Always a pleasure staying at the Lancaster. All the staff are friendly and nothing is too much trouble for them. The room was clean and in good order. Although the hotel was very busy, we where never disturbed by the other guests and had a very peaceful nights sleep in the comfortable bed. We had breakfast in the Island Grill restaurant, offers a good choice and anything is cooked fresh for you.
The location of this hotel is excellent. Great advantage of having it's own car park, just left the car there and used the underground. Lancaster Gate station underneath, so super convenient for getting around. Will certainly be using this hotel again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David_Val_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Royal Lancaster London, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Dear David_Val_13,

We are delighted to have you as a regular guest at the Lancaster London.

It is great to hear that yet again we have made your stay comfortable and easy. Thank you for your positive comments about our Island Grill, it is indeed very nice, even a lot of local residents come to have breakfast there.

We hope you will have another reason to come back very soon.

Kind regards
Thoralf Kretzschmar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,523)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,791 - 1,797 of 3,523 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2013

stayed here one night for works long service dinner nice room,needs updating,but still ok, room small for big hotel,view lovely.the bathroom mirror couldnt see in it to put makeup on bad lighting very dark in there.we had tea and sandwiches in lounge very expensive but very nice, staff very polite and helpful would stay again

Room Tip: get higher floor for lovely view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank james h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Royal Lancaster London, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Dear james h,

Thank you for your comment about your recent stay at the Lancaster London.

We are sorry to hear that you felt the bathroom was too dark. This aspect is certainly a point which will be rectified during the full refurbishment of the hotel. I would like to thank you for your praise of our staff.

We look forward to being your host in the not too distant future.

Kind regards
Thoralf Kretzschmar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

I really can't fault this stay - from start to finish.

On arrival, the staff were very friendly and welcoming - I got a fantastic room on the 13th floor with an amazing view of the London skyline, spacious, with good amenities (including ironing facilities!), and (most importantly) a comfortable bed. I particularly appreciated the option of having fresh milk with the tea and coffee, which arrived within 5 mins of my call.

The breakfast options are also another plus. Hotels, and London hotels in particular, often ask ridiculous prices for their breakfast, which, if all you fancy is a coffee and croissant, is a rip off. This hotel though has a "grab and go" option, of aforementioned coffee and pastry, for a very reasonable price. This was great!

The only caveat is that the hotel is not particularly central, however, as it is right around the corner from a tube station, this isn't really a problem. Also, the sound insulation in the hotel was good, which cannot always be said about London hotels!

Finally, the staff were really helpful with questions about best way to get to which shop, and gave us a pleasant send-off. All in all, a really good experience, and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruthie81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Royal Lancaster London, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Dear ruthie81,

Thank you for your very nice feedback

We are really pleased to read that you have enjoyed every aspect of your stay. The Grab and Go breakfast was indeed aimed at providing a value for money option for guests wishing to have a light bite.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Thoralf Kretzschmar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Stayed at This hotel as I was attending a conference there the next day. Traditional type hotel but the room was a little tired. The sad thing was that with a tube of evo stick to replace the plastic on the back of the bathroom door and one or two bits of wallpaper it would have been so much better. Great bed. The panoramic view of the car park was a bit disappointing but not really a problem. The most stunning thing about the hotel were the staff who were faultless. At every level they were professional, friendly and around when you needed someone. Well done to whoever sets up training for them.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the park and take some glue
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandyBeech1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Royal Lancaster London, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2013

Dear SandyBeech1,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.

We are sorry to hear that your room was not to your full satisfaction, especially the maintenance issues you have encountered. In order to enjoy the fantastic views of Hyde Park and the London sky line, may I recommend to book Park or city view rooms which will never be lower than 8th floor.

I am however delighted to learn that our staff have been brilliant and that you all in all had a very good stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back during a future event.

Kind Regards
Thoralf Kretzschmar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

It was only one night,but I get the value of what I paid .i did rated as excellent Because I have been served from the door to room service great and good service .
Any things we ask for we get more than what we need, especially Mr Ali in room service was helpful and he went extra mile to let us enjoy our stay I do recommend this great experience .

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alcade72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Royal Lancaster London, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2013

Alcade72,

Thank you for your kind comments.

We are overjoyed to read that you had a great stay, with the service our teams have provided being your main feedback. I will make sure Ali gets praised for his efforts.

We hope to be your home away from home soon once again.

Kind Regards
Thoralf Kretzschmar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

wed stayed here 14-17nov had a great time the staff where very friendly the hotel is in the
perfect location, we had a room overlooking Hyde Park and the city,tube station is very close by
so you easy access to the rest of the city, just a walk away from Bayswater where there are some
very good chinese restaurants the four seasons just to name one,also the Hotel has an excellent
Thai Restaurant which I would recomend visiting, the breakfast buffet is excellent, if you are staying in London try the Lancaster you will not regret it
Tony k

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TONY K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Royal Lancaster London, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2013

Dear TONY K,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.

We are glad that you had a fantastic 3 night stay with us. Our Nipa Authentic Thai restaurant is indeed one of the best in London with most customers coming from outside.Our staff is our biggest asset and we are glad you were provided with excellent hospitality.

I am sure other readers will like you tips about the surrounding area.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Thoralf Kretzschmar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We stayed in this hotel last Nov 19-20 with one of my colleagues who have stayed there three times before and was highly recommended. Indeed my colleague's previous worthwhile experience is confirmed. Warm reception from all the staff, good sanitation and hygiene and of course the food at the restaurant, all this for half the regular price with their promo weekends. I also have to include the ease of travelling using the underground train with Lancaster gate just around the hotel. Nice experience staying at Lancaster London.

Room Tip: 14th floor or above to have a good view of London
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edwin t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Royal Lancaster London, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2013

Dear edwin t,

We are delighted to know that your experience of the Lancaster matched that of your colleagues
who recommended us to you.

Thank you for your kind comments about our reception staff and the high standard of cleanliness of the hotel. We are also pleased to know that you found as very good value for money.

We hope to welcome you or your colleagues back very soon.

Kind Regards
Thoralf Kretzschmar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
The Westbourne Hyde Park
#105 of 1,076 in London
425 reviews
Lancaster Gate Hotel
#447 of 1,076 in London
2,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arbor Hyde Park Hotel
#233 of 1,076 in London
641 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
Mercure London Hyde Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Lancaster London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Lancaster London

Address: Lancaster Terrace, London W2 2TY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#130 Family Hotel in London
#153 Romantic Hotel in London
#165 Luxury Hotel in London
#206 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: £191 - £335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Lancaster London 5*
Number of rooms: 411
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located across from Hyde Park, 15 minutes from the financial district and a quick taxi ride to popular sight-seeing locations such as Buckingham Palace. Royal Lancaster London hotel is uniquely positioned to serve the needs of any distinguished guest. Business travelers are invited to take advantage of the hotel’s impressive meeting spaces while enjoying the accessibility of our state-of-the-art on-site gym, hot breakfast and hotel bar. Don’t miss out on their award-winning restaurants, Nipa Thai – offering authentic and delicious Thai dishes, and Island Grill – known for its fresh and sustainable cuisine. The hotel has just inaugurated a collection of brand new rooms and suites, showcasing an effortless blend of mid-century design and contemporary luxury. Curated down to the smallest detail, all rooms feature Smart TVs, heated bathroom floors, quality linen, USB charging port and much more. Choose one of the suites to discover the meaning of “a view with a room”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Lancaster London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancaster London Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing