We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Royal Lancaster London
Ranked #215 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Good location - but not a quick walk to Oxford Street. Great for Winter Wonderland. Rooms clean and beds good. Breakfast however, I've had better for less. The full English was not as hot as it could be, a bit fatty and tea and coffee -not the best.

Room Tip: Ask for a front room, the view of west London is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Royal Lancaster London, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Dear WendyW184,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

Generally our Breakfast Buffet gets very good feedback, however we are very sorry that the quality and temperature of the breakfast items has not met your expectations on this occasion.

Our location is indeed perfect for visiting Winter Wonderland, a special Winter Wonderland package is also available to book on our website.

We hope to welcome you back soon so that you can enjoy our usually piping hot breakfast.

Kind Regards
Thoralf Kretzschmar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,526)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,784 - 1,790 of 3,526 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

The hotel offers great location with very, very friendly and helpful staff. Hotel interior is aversge one, our double room was clean but quite small. We stayed in 14th floor with stunning view over Hyde Park, London Eye... Convenient location for both sightseing and shopping. Good breakfast buffet. Great Nipa Thai Restaurant. Hotel price a bit high but still on London level :-)

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank BaraP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Royal Lancaster London, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Dear BaraP,

Thank you for your lovely feedback.

We are delighted that all our staff has made your stay very comfortable. Thank you for commenting so positively about out breakfast buffet and Thai Restaurant also.

We are sorry to read that your room was slightly on the small side, but pleased to know that it was spotlessly clean.

We hope to see you soon again.

Kind Regards
Thoralf Kretzschmar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

I've chosen to stay at this hotel 3 times now and I must say it's a wonderful place to have as a 'homebase' during your visit to London.

My last visit was for the occasion of my mothers birthday and we we're personally greeted (with an upgrade) and some nice chocolates in honor of her birthday. That was really nice and made our trip to London that much more special.

The hotel is situated at the edge of Hyde Park and directly above an Underground station, you are 1 stop away from Queensway which has some nice pubs and is a good place to spend the evening and 2 stops from Bond Street.

The hotel itself is clean and well kept, everyone is very friendly and customer orientated.
Breakfast is nice, although a little expensive in my opinion. Your better off eating something in the city and saving that money for shopping.

10/10 would stay again :)

Room Tip: If it's available then always ask for a room with a view over Hyde Park (Especially nice to take...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mkanninga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Royal Lancaster London, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

mkanninga,

Thank you for your lovely feedback.

We are delighted to have been able to make your mothers stay that little bit more special. Our staff is indeed solely customer orientated, striving to ensure an excellent experience.

We are glad to know that you would be staying with us again and look forward to seeing you.

Kind Regards
Thoralf Kretzschmar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Booked as flight plus hotel through BA
Good price with breakfast included
5 minutes walk from Paddington station, buses and tube on the doorstep, overlooks Hyde Park if you are lucky and great polite effective service - what more can you ask for!
A very pleasant stay

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJC0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Royal Lancaster London, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

SJC0,

Thank you for your feedback.

We are delighted to know that you had good overall experience, especially that the service our team provided you with excellent.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards
Thoralf Kretzschmar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

+: Good location, tube nearby;
-: Rooms (at least mine) habe quite old, used furniture, bathroom mirror broken, bathroom sink broken, hair dryer faulty, very noisy gangways.
High speed Internet access not being included in room rate of apx 200 GBP in a 'business hotel' is ridiculous.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank rcarlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Royal Lancaster London, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Dear rcarlos,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.

We are naturally disappointed to read that aspects of your stay have not met your expectations.

I am very concerned about the comments of your room, and would kindly request that you contact me in order to inspect the room myself.

We would also like to use this opportunity to advise that an inclusive Wifi Package is available exclusively on our website. We have however made a note of your feedback that the highspeed internet should be free.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind Regards
Thoralf Kretzschmar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Although I haven't really stayed in the hotel, but only attended a conference that was held there during a couple of days, I had a great experience. Staff was very nice and friendly. They also turned out to be incredibly helpful when I lost my bag during the conference. As it was quite difficult to locate it immediately, I left my contact and received a call in a few days that my belongings were found in the hotel restaurant. The fact that what I had lost wasn't very valuable makes me appreciate their dedication even more.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Service
Thank Ivana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Royal Lancaster London, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Dear Ivana C,

Thank you for your feedback.

It is great to hear that our Guest Safety Team was able to locate your lost item and that you were pro-actively contacted to have your items returned.

We are also pleased to know that you had a great experience during your conference and everyone you came into contact with was helpful and friendly.

We hope you have the chance to stay overnight in the near future.

Kind Regards
Thoralf Kretzschmar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We took three rooms at this hotel for a very special occasion - an investiture at Windsor Castle. From the moment I contacted the hotel their staff bent over backwards to help, advise and support our efforts to make the stay really special

From check-in to check-out they put a huge amount of effort into our stay, and nothing was too much trouble for them - including arranging transport to Windsor, and a complimentary bottle of champagne on our return! Every person who we spoke to seemed to know of the award and congratulate me!

The rooms are very comfortable and being on the 12th floor the view across the London Skyline and Hyde park was breathtaking. Food was of excellent quality and with lots of options available. But the best asset this hotel has (even above the excellent position and facilities) are the staff - London hotels can be very impersonal with false smiles and impersonal service, but this hotel shows how it should be done - top job and cannot thank you enough!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking Hyde park on the upper floors would I suspect be best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Royal Lancaster London, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Dear Mike D,

It was all our pleasure to make your stay the most memorable experience. We are delighted that you had a brilliant experience with us.

In particular I would like to thank you for your comments about our staff. I will share this throughout the Hotel, I am confident it will put yet another smile on all the faces.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards
Thoralf Kretzschmar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
The Westbourne Hyde Park
#101 of 1,076 in London
426 reviews
Lancaster Gate Hotel
#450 of 1,076 in London
2,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arbor Hyde Park Hotel
#229 of 1,076 in London
641 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Park Grand Paddington Court
Park Grand Paddington Court
#205 of 1,076 in London
1,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Lancaster London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Lancaster London

Address: Lancaster Terrace, London W2 2TY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#130 Family Hotel in London
#153 Romantic Hotel in London
#164 Luxury Hotel in London
#206 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: £190 - £340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Lancaster London 5*
Number of rooms: 411
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located across from Hyde Park, 15 minutes from the financial district and a quick taxi ride to popular sight-seeing locations such as Buckingham Palace. Royal Lancaster London hotel is uniquely positioned to serve the needs of any distinguished guest. Business travelers are invited to take advantage of the hotel’s impressive meeting spaces while enjoying the accessibility of our state-of-the-art on-site gym, hot breakfast and hotel bar. Don’t miss out on their award-winning restaurants, Nipa Thai – offering authentic and delicious Thai dishes, and Island Grill – known for its fresh and sustainable cuisine. The hotel has just inaugurated a collection of brand new rooms and suites, showcasing an effortless blend of mid-century design and contemporary luxury. Curated down to the smallest detail, all rooms feature Smart TVs, heated bathroom floors, quality linen, USB charging port and much more. Choose one of the suites to discover the meaning of “a view with a room”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Royal Lancaster London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancaster London Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing