We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Lancaster London

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lancaster London
Ranked #240 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Taiwan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

We have just had a short stay last week. Good location with quiet and relaxing environment: the Lancaster Gate underground station is at the back and the Kensington Garden (and Hyde Park) is adjacent. The entrance and lobby of the hotel are magnificent but the room and the toilet are small. The buffet breakfast is good except for the taste of the coffee.

We enjoyed jogging in the garden in the morning and went shopping and sight-seeing by the underground afterwards. We recommend travel by taxi between the Heathrow airport and the hotel because the fare is close if you have 2 or more people travel together as compared to the train. It is troublesome if you travel by the underground because of the transit and lugguage (no elevator)!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldTraveler7788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Lancaster London, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Dear WorldTraveler7788,

Thank you for your feedback and your tips to the Tripadvisor community on how to reach us.

We are glad to know that you had a comfortable stay, despite the fact the room was not as large as you may have expected. I have taken you feedback about the coffee quality on board and will share it with our Restaurant Management team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards
Thoralf Kretzschmar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,436 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,533
    1,299
    425
    120
    59
See reviews for
561
1,345
170
733
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (789)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jerez De La Frontera, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

My daughter and I stayed two nights at the Lancaster in Paddington while we were visiting our son who is studying at ICL. We found everything about the hotel to be excellent, the rooms, the cleanliness, the location and especially the staff.

Every person we had contact with was very friendly and helpful without fail. We had a wonderful city view from the room. The room itself was very comfortable, and for us, offered real value for money. We could have spent a little less and ended up in a B&B, but we could have spent a LOT more and not had a better experience

There are many options around Paddington, and we feel the Lancaster was the very best.

The only thing that could have been better was the weather in November! The sun did come out when we were on our way back to Heathrow.

Room Tip: The City view rooms are stunning at night on the higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olson_dc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Lancaster London, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Dear olson_dc,

Thank you for your lovely feedback.

We wish to be able to reserve excellent weather for our guests, but we are delighted that all aspects within our power were to your full satisfaction. We are glad you found your room to be comfortable and with great views and that our staff made your stay very pleasant.

We hope you will be choosing the Lancaster London in the future.

Kind regards
Thoralf Kretzschmar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leek, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

I thought I would share my experience of booking a hotel in London - I always use trip advisor to read reviews and found them to be good. It is my 4th visit to the Lancaster but my first using Hotelophia website, reviews did not read good so I was very sceptical of the booking.After checking with the Lancaster I found out the company who actually took the booking was Hotelbeds.co.uk and they had instantly paid for my required room. My stay at the Lancaster was as normal superb, very clean, we were given a fabulous room with city views.Great Location. All the staff are very efficient and friendly. Breakfast cooked to perfection. I will certainly stay at the Lancaster again if I can find a good price using the various websites available.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Lancaster London, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Dear Janet D,

Thank you for your kind feedback.

We are delighted you had once again a brilliant stay at the Lancaster London. Thank you for your positive comments about our staff, your room and your breakfast experience.

We hope to see you soon for your 5th visit.

Kind regards
Thoralf Kretzschmar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

We have been staying at the Lancaster Hotel over 10 years now. What makes us feel good is the positive attitude of the personnel, they really go out of their way to please the customers. Very professional but at the same time very personalized service. On top of it the hotel is very clean, the location is brilliant, with easy access to the underground and buses. Being adjacent to Hyde Park is lovely and peaceful, away from the noisy traffic of Oxford Street.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leyla L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Lancaster London, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Dear Leyla L,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback.

To read your high praise of our staff makes us very proud, especially as you have been staying with us for 10 years. Positive attitude and commitment to care are very important and we are glad you have continuously received excellent service.

We hope your next stay is not too far away.

Kind regards
Thoralf Kretzschmar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
62 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

2 cold showers out of 3 rules out any higher number of stars. When I told the concierge I was told "Oh yes if you just flush the toilet that usually fixes it". Really? Those items are related? And in the unlikely event that they are, the manager hasn't done something to fix the issue?

Which is a shame because service was excellent - checkin, checkout, bar, general service all very good.
Rooms clean and well appointed. I attended a conference and the finger food was exceptionally good. I didn't use the restaurant.
Breakfast is the standard international buffet but well organized so no queues.
No early morning noise from rubbish collection.
Very close to Lancaster Gate tube station.

Room Tip: Some rooms overlook the park which is plasant
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heafod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Lancaster London, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear Heafod,

Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience you have experienced. The response you have received form one of our team members is certainly not up to the standard of care we do expect here at the Lancaster London.

I would like to clarify that on rare occasions air gets into the fresh water supply pipe work which causes a malfunction of valves. If this is reported to our engineering team this issue can generally be resolved rather quickly. These instances will be completely eliminated once our upgrade and refurbishment of all back of house structures are completed.

We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed all other aspects of your stay, in particular that our Reception Team and Restaurant and Bar Teams have provided you with exceptional service.

We look forward to welcoming you back for a future event or a private trip.

Kind Regards
Thoralf Kretzschmar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

Good location - but not a quick walk to Oxford Street. Great for Winter Wonderland. Rooms clean and beds good. Breakfast however, I've had better for less. The full English was not as hot as it could be, a bit fatty and tea and coffee -not the best.

Room Tip: Ask for a front room, the view of west London is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Lancaster London, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear WendyW184,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

Generally our Breakfast Buffet gets very good feedback, however we are very sorry that the quality and temperature of the breakfast items has not met your expectations on this occasion.

Our location is indeed perfect for visiting Winter Wonderland, a special Winter Wonderland package is also available to book on our website.

We hope to welcome you back soon so that you can enjoy our usually piping hot breakfast.

Kind Regards
Thoralf Kretzschmar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

The hotel offers great location with very, very friendly and helpful staff. Hotel interior is aversge one, our double room was clean but quite small. We stayed in 14th floor with stunning view over Hyde Park, London Eye... Convenient location for both sightseing and shopping. Good breakfast buffet. Great Nipa Thai Restaurant. Hotel price a bit high but still on London level :-)

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BaraP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Lancaster London, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear BaraP,

Thank you for your lovely feedback.

We are delighted that all our staff has made your stay very comfortable. Thank you for commenting so positively about out breakfast buffet and Thai Restaurant also.

We are sorry to read that your room was slightly on the small side, but pleased to know that it was spotlessly clean.

We hope to see you soon again.

Kind Regards
Thoralf Kretzschmar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
The Westbourne Hyde Park
#119 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Lancaster Gate Hotel
#436 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paddington / Maida Vale
Park Grand Paddington Court
Park Grand Paddington Court
#201 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
Arbor Hyde Park Hotel
#184 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancaster London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster London

Property: Lancaster London
Address: Lancaster Terrace, London W2 2TY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#130 Family Hotel in London
#153 Romantic Hotel in London
#180 Luxury Hotel in London
#206 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lancaster London 4*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether looking down from one of the 416 well-appointed guest rooms and suites, or admiring the outlook from either award-winning restaurant, the 4-star deluxe Lancaster London hotel boasts some of the most panoramic views in the city, overlooking the lush green expanse of Hyde Park and many of the capital's famous landmarks. Walking-distance from Oxford Street, adjacent to Lancaster Gate Central Line tube station (providing a fast direct link to the CBD) and just a stone's throw from the Heathrow Express at Paddington, the hotel's location is perfect for all business and leisure visits to London. Renowned for its world-class function space, the Lancaster London's flexible meetings and events facilities can accommodate up to 3,000 guests. The vast Nine Kings and Westbourne Suites have their own dedicated entrances, sound-proofed dividing walls, state-of-the-art AV equipment and retractable Italian chandeliers. The Forest Suite is a collection of 13 contemporary spaces that can cater for smaller meetings and events of up to 200 delegates. Stylishly yet comfortably furnished using natural woods and fabrics, they are individually-designed to be inviting, calm and businesslike. Dining options at the hotel range from 24-hour room service, to traditional Afternoon Tea, to gourmet experiences in one of the highly-regarded restaurants. Inspired by the original Nipa Restaurant in The Landmark Bangkok Hotel, the 55-seat Nipa Thai Restaurant features a teak panelled interior and stunning traditional furnishings and ornaments, crafted in Thailand. Whether you judge it on its mouthwatering cuisine, subtle oriental décor or welcoming ambience, it is one of the most authentic Thai eating experiences in Europe. In contrast, Island Grill is a stylish modern venue featuring a delicious menu of wide-ranging European dishes alongside a varied selection of cocktails and wines to suit every taste and appetite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lancaster London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancaster London Hotel London
Royal Lancaster London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing