We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent central London Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Royal Lancaster London
Ranked #234 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Lancaster Hotel have an excellent location near Hyde Park and Lancaster Gate tube and just 5 minutes walking frpom Paddington station. Excellent service, you feel special and at home, an excellent relation of price quality. Acces to a Gym. You can choose between a more expense bau very good Thai restaurant with 2 Michelin starts and an intrernational restaurant with tstted food and good price.

Room Tip: Corner suites with Hyde Park view are larger and the view is excellent
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Royal Lancaster London, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

Maria C,

Thank you for the review of the Lancaster London.

We are delighted you enjoyed all aspects of your stay, especially as you felt at home with us. I would like to clarify that our Nipa restaurant does not have 2 Michelin stars, however is one of the very finest authentic Thai restaurants in the country.

We hope to have you as our guest soon again.

Kind regards
Thoralf Kretzschmar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,497)
There are newer reviews for Royal Lancaster London
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,733 - 1,739 of 3,497 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2013

Grew up not far from here so know the area very well. Finally got to stay here for my husband's birthday alas for 1 night only. Service in the hotel was excellent, we had booked a superior double and put us on a high floor looking towards Marble Arch. We were greeted at reception with a lovely girl and the lovely girl in the breakfast room was were engaging in talking to us. She has been with the hotel for 2 years and is obviously a great asset.
Overall first class service. Yes bathrooms little old but all very clean, bonus is you are on top of the tube and the park awaits for walking.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnMarie303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Royal Lancaster London, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Dear AnnMarie303,

Thank you for your lovely feedback. It is fantastic that you have chosen us for your stay.

We are delighted your arrival experience and breakfast experience was second to none and the culture of true hospitality at every touch point shone through.

Once again, thank you for your great feedback and we sincerely hope to be able to welcome you back many more times in the future.

Kind regards
Thoralf Kretzschmar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Great location to stay in London with well educated staff. Clean and cozy rooms. World class hospitality. We had some great drinks at the lounge bar with its warm decor. Be sure we will return in our next visit to London.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DAlcon13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Royal Lancaster London, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2013

Dear DAIcon13,

Thank you for sharing your experience of your recent stay at the Lancaster London.

We are delighted to hear that we provided you with world class service. It is also great to know you like d the ambiance in our lounge bar and the drinks ordered were of high quality.

We very much look forward to having you as a guest in the future.

Kind Regards
Thoralf Kretzschmar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Great hotel, handy for Paddington and Heathrow express, 5 minute walk. Central location and short distance from Oxford Street/Park Lane.
Staff very helpful and friendly, room clean and bright and well maintained with everything you needed.
Good that the hotel has smoking rooms for those of us with the habit!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blagdon28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Royal Lancaster London, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2013

Dear Blagdon28,

thank you for the feedback on your recent stay.

We are glad you had a brilliant stay with us and that we were able to provide you with a smoking room. We only have a very low number of smoking rooms, so please contact us in advance in order to allocate you these rooms.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Thoralf Kretzschmar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Just a one night stay, booked at the last minute, but what a great find.

5 min walk from Paddington Station or 1 min walk from Lancaster Gate tube (central line). Friendly reception staff and large lobby are very welcoming. Rooms are clean and tidy, decor is a touch dated maybe but by no means unappealing, and have everything you should need for a stay.

Made use of the gym which looks brand new and equipment is certainly a recent addition as it's all latest stuff (built in tv's/radios's on most of the machines). Is fairly small but everything you need is there for a decent workout.

Didn;t use the restaurants in the evening so made use of the pizza delivery service direct to your room. Lounge bar area looked a nice quiet place for an evening drink and a read if you wanted to relax away from your room and didn't fancy Oxford Street crush in December!

Breakfast may seem expensive to some (£15.50), but still cheaper than a lot of central london hotels, selection of hot & cold english, continental, mediterreanean and even Japanese offerings means the choice is very good.

All staff were friendly and polite throughout the hotel. This is overall the best hotel I have stayed at in central london, certainly at £139 rate I got. Puts a lot of more expensive hotels to shame.

Didn't have a view of Hyde Park, but from the other side of the hotel could see BT Tower, Millenium Wheel and the hotel's own honey farm!

Will certainly be staying here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisW178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Royal Lancaster London, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2013

Dear ChrisW178,

We are overjoyed to read your review.

Thank you for sharing all aspects of your stay with the Tripadvisor community, including mentioning our very own Honey farm. We are delighted you find the Lancaster London value for money and that we have outshone all other hotels you stayed in during your visits to London.

The gym is indeed very new, just opened in June 2013. It is great to hear you found it to be excellent.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards
Thoralf Kretzschmar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We stayed for my wife's 30th birthday; the park suite room we stayed in was excellent along with the service we received from all staff members making our stay one to remember. I can highly recommend this hotel if ever taking a trip to London.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Royal Lancaster London, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2013

Dear Dave B,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.

Our aim is to create memorable moments for all our guests. We are delighted that we have managed just that during your stay and would be very happy to look after you again in the not too distant future, or maybe your wife’s 31st birthday.

Kind Regards
Thoralf Kretzschmar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Stayed for 2 nights with my mother for Christmas shopping. Great customer service and welcome on arrival. Twin room was a good size for London with lovely view over Hyde Park. We had breakfast in the Park Room - choice is excellent and service efficient. Definitely worth paying the extra for a lovely no hassle stay.

Room Tip: The rooms on the higher floors are quiet with good views.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FarmingHerefordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Royal Lancaster London, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2013

Dear FarmingHerefordshire,

Thank you for sharing your experience of the Lancaster London.

We are delighted to know that that you had very good stay with us which was started off with a warm welcome and finished with a excellent dining experience during breakfast.

London is fantastic for shopping and we hope you will be choosing the Lancaster London as a base for all your future shopping trips.

Kind Regards
Thoralf Kretzschmar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
The Westbourne Hyde Park
#112 of 1,072 in London
384 reviews
Lancaster Gate Hotel
#449 of 1,072 in London
2,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paddington / Maida Vale
Park Grand Paddington Court
Park Grand Paddington Court
#221 of 1,072 in London
1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Lancaster London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Lancaster London

Address: Lancaster Terrace, London W2 2TY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#130 Family Hotel in London
#153 Romantic Hotel in London
#177 Luxury Hotel in London
#206 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: £180 - £516 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Lancaster London 5*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether looking down from one of the 416 well-appointed guest rooms and suites, or admiring the outlook from either award-winning restaurant, the 4-star deluxe Lancaster London hotel boasts some of the most panoramic views in the city, overlooking the lush green expanse of Hyde Park and many of the capital's famous landmarks. Walking-distance from Oxford Street, adjacent to Lancaster Gate Central Line tube station (providing a fast direct link to the CBD) and just a stone's throw from the Heathrow Express at Paddington, the hotel's location is perfect for all business and leisure visits to London. Renowned for its world-class function space, the Lancaster London's flexible meetings and events facilities can accommodate up to 3,000 guests. The vast Nine Kings and Westbourne Suites have their own dedicated entrances, sound-proofed dividing walls, state-of-the-art AV equipment and retractable Italian chandeliers. The Forest Suite is a collection of 13 contemporary spaces that can cater for smaller meetings and events of up to 200 delegates. Stylishly yet comfortably furnished using natural woods and fabrics, they are individually-designed to be inviting, calm and businesslike. Dining options at the hotel range from 24-hour room service, to traditional Afternoon Tea, to gourmet experiences in one of the highly-regarded restaurants. Inspired by the original Nipa Restaurant in The Landmark Bangkok Hotel, the 55-seat Nipa Thai Restaurant features a teak panelled interior and stunning traditional furnishings and ornaments, crafted in Thailand. Whether you judge it on its mouthwatering cuisine, subtle oriental décor or welcoming ambience, it is one of the most authentic Thai eating experiences in Europe. In contrast, Island Grill is a stylish modern venue featuring a delicious menu of wide-ranging European dishes alongside a varied selection of cocktails and wines to suit every taste and appetite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Lancaster London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancaster London Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing