We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The good and the bad”
Review of Lancaster London

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Lancaster London
Ranked #237 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“The good and the bad”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

This was my wife and mine 7th visit at the Lancaster London. We like having our breakfast in the modern dining area with a view over the park, dinner in the beautiful Island Restaurant & Bar, and a drink in the cosy Lounge Bar. It is strange, that this nice hotel has such a windy and cold Lobby with no atmosphere. Our room was a bit worn down, plus the beds are for Hobbits. If you want a good nights sleep, you need to sleep with a pillow over your ear, because you can hear the neighbour guests talking, the noisy air con, the piping ventilation and the loud cleaners. After a few nights at the Lancaster London you really need a Holyday :-)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danish4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Lancaster London, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear danish4,

Thank you for your review of the Lancaster London.

I am very sorry to hear that your recent stay was influenced by noisy neighbours and the A/C and our room attendants. I would like to assure you that sound insulation will be addressed in our upcoming refurbishment of the hotel. This refurbishment will also involve a complete lobby revamp, creating a lovely buzz and atmosphere.

We are glad you have stayed with us 7 times already and hope you will continue using the Lancaster London; get in touch with us going forwards to allocate you a quiet room.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Thoralf Kretzschmar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,452 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,543
    1,303
    426
    120
    60
See reviews for
567
1,349
170
737
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (791)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

My husband and I went down to London so that he could run the marathon,.

This hotel is really well located and very handy for the underground.

The room was lovely and the staff were great and so was the food.

Room Tip: Get a room as high up as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ET0703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Lancaster London, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear ET0703,

Thank you for your review and congratulations on your husband running the marathon.

We are glad that our staff made your stay comfortable and that you enjoyed our food and beverage offering.

We hope to see soon again, latest for the next marathon.

Kind regards
Thoralf Kretzschmar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordan
Level Contributor
88 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I've stayed there on December 2013 for 5 nights, the location is perfect the Lancaster station is just at the side of the building and very close to Marble Arch and just few steps from Hyde park.
The overall stay is perfect except I decided to extend one night so I booked online and then I went to the receptionist to confirm our reservation, she said we have to change our room (Park view) because the new reservation is city view and the initial reservation was park view which is more expensive, I told her it is only one night and we spend most of our time out of the hotel, the lady insist that I have to change my reservation (or pay the difference) or change my room. I didn't have another option only to pay the difference and keep the same room. I didn't like her attitude in dealing with the case, she need me only to pay the difference. I think when you have a guest who stayed for 5 nights you have to treat him/her politely. I was thinking to change the hotel even for this night because of her attitude, but my family insist to stay on the same hotel and not move on. I was expecting to get an upgrade of our room rather than asking for the difference.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoubaSammour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Lancaster London, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear roubey,

thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us.

I am very sorry to hear that you felt the receptionist was not as helpful as you would have expected. All our team members are encouraged and empowered to make a decision about room allocation, please accept my apologies that not more flexibility was shown in your instance.

I am however pleased to know that you otherwise had a perfect stay at the Lancaster London.

We sincere hope this isolated incident does not deter you form returning to the Lancaster London.

Kind regards
Thoralf Kretzschmar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 April 2014

There are many reasons to stay in this hotel but if there's one stand out reason to do so then book now for the best Thai food in London, if not the UK. Quite simply the food is amazing (fresh, fragrant and authentic) and it is backed up by the most impeccable and friendly service.

And if Thai food isn't to your taste then I can also recommend the Island Grill restaurant which serves great food from breakfast straight through to dinner. I recommend the Pork belly - fantastic.

Overall I would highly recommend this hotel and restaurants within.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gavin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Lancaster London, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Gavin H,

thank you for your compliments about the hotel, Nipa Thai and Island Grill.

It is great to read that our culinary offering is to your liking and you also enjoyed the impeccable service. Each of the restaurants have their own TripAdvisor page, I would invite you to give feedback after your next experience there.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards
Thoralf Kretzschmar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshunt, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I booked an overnight stay at The Lancaster to mark our ruby wedding anniversary, having spent our wedding night there 40 years ago. The Guest Relations Manager contacted me by return e-mail to check the details of our stay. She promised me that we would be well looked after and we certainly were. Our room was upgraded to a suite and we were made to feel very, very special. All of the staff in the hotel seemed to know our story and wished us well. The Dine Around experience was truly superb, the food and hospitality in the Thai and Island restaurants second to none. In short, I have never been made to feel more welcome. The hotel staff made our special occasion even more special and my wife and I had a truly wonderful time.

Room Tip: Royal Park suite has views to 3 sides and we could see Wembley stadium arch to the NW right round 30...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank I B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Lancaster London, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear I B,

Thank you for your wonderful review.

We are delighted to have been able to make your day just that little bit more special. To hear that you stayed at the Lancaster London after 40 years is an amazing story and we definitely wanted to be part of writing a nice chapter for you.

We hope to see again for your next anniversary or even sooner.

Kind regards
Thoralf Kretzschmar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

The hotel is good and the service amazing, always helping out. The event had a lot of last minute changes and they adapted to it each time, and every department. The rooms are nice and beautiful views.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Misspedgrift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Lancaster London, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Soped,

Thank you for your review.

We are pleased to read you had a fantastic stay for an event here at the Lancaster London. Our Events team is dedicated to deal with any kind of short term requests and changes.

We hope you will be attending another event in the not too distant future.

Kind regards
Thoralf Kretzschmar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level Contributor
241 reviews
154 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

This hotel has got hospitality right. Every single element of it.
Their general manager certainly knows his or her stuff. The positive experience starts where it should,.... at reception. Friendly, efficient, and communicating the impression that they really do want your stay to be a good one. We were even given some cake to have with our cup of tea in our bedroom before we went out for dinner locally at Bel Canto. I had mentioned to reception that I was already quite hungry and couldn't believe it when one of the receptionists produced the little slices of cake (which were actually delicious). It's that type of attitude that makes this hotel exceptional. An impression is always formed of any establishment by their front line staff. They are really the ambassadors of the hotel and the visitor will form an immediate impression by how they are initially greeted and checked in.
The hotel is lovely and although I have read it is going to be refurbished within the next year it is quite lovely as it is already. Our bedroom was on the 18th floor - room 1812. Big, comfortable bed, very spacious indeed as it was large enough to hold a couch. Everything that a guest needs were supplied including an ironing board. Good toiletries, good hospitality tray, a beautiful view of London and Hyde Park. And very quiet.
When we returned after dinner we went for a drink in their bar. Lovely cocktails served by efficient and friendly bar staff. And their prices are very reasonable indeed.
At breakfast we were seated by the window that overlooks the Italian Gardens. Great breakfast eaten whilst looking out at a million dollar view. Again, warm and friendly staff who couldn't do enough for us.
Now that we have found this hotel I'm afraid I won't be any longer staying in my usual London hotel.
This hotel is fantastic value for money and trumps the other hotel expecially for its friendly staff.
Thank you all. It was a special weekend for myself and my partner and you made it perfect.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Lancaster London, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear NoholhoRa,

We are over the moon to read your review. Thank you very much for all your kind words about our team members in the hotel, in all areas. We truly strive to give all our guests our “We always Care” service promise, it is fantastic to know you experienced just that.

We are delighted that the Lancaster London is now the Hotel of your choice and very much look forward to welcoming you back many times in the coming years.

Kind regards
Thoralf Kretzschmar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
The Westbourne Hyde Park
#111 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Lancaster Gate Hotel
#440 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paddington / Maida Vale
Park Grand Paddington Court
Park Grand Paddington Court
#194 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
Arbor Hyde Park Hotel
#184 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancaster London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster London

Property: Lancaster London
Address: Lancaster Terrace, London W2 2TY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#130 Family Hotel in London
#153 Romantic Hotel in London
#178 Luxury Hotel in London
#206 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lancaster London 4*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether looking down from one of the 416 well-appointed guest rooms and suites, or admiring the outlook from either award-winning restaurant, the 4-star deluxe Lancaster London hotel boasts some of the most panoramic views in the city, overlooking the lush green expanse of Hyde Park and many of the capital's famous landmarks. Walking-distance from Oxford Street, adjacent to Lancaster Gate Central Line tube station (providing a fast direct link to the CBD) and just a stone's throw from the Heathrow Express at Paddington, the hotel's location is perfect for all business and leisure visits to London. Renowned for its world-class function space, the Lancaster London's flexible meetings and events facilities can accommodate up to 3,000 guests. The vast Nine Kings and Westbourne Suites have their own dedicated entrances, sound-proofed dividing walls, state-of-the-art AV equipment and retractable Italian chandeliers. The Forest Suite is a collection of 13 contemporary spaces that can cater for smaller meetings and events of up to 200 delegates. Stylishly yet comfortably furnished using natural woods and fabrics, they are individually-designed to be inviting, calm and businesslike. Dining options at the hotel range from 24-hour room service, to traditional Afternoon Tea, to gourmet experiences in one of the highly-regarded restaurants. Inspired by the original Nipa Restaurant in The Landmark Bangkok Hotel, the 55-seat Nipa Thai Restaurant features a teak panelled interior and stunning traditional furnishings and ornaments, crafted in Thailand. Whether you judge it on its mouthwatering cuisine, subtle oriental décor or welcoming ambience, it is one of the most authentic Thai eating experiences in Europe. In contrast, Island Grill is a stylish modern venue featuring a delicious menu of wide-ranging European dishes alongside a varied selection of cocktails and wines to suit every taste and appetite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Lancaster London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancaster London Hotel London
Royal Lancaster London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing