We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant london hotel”
Review of Lancaster London

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Lancaster London
Ranked #238 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
scotland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Brilliant london hotel”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed here at the Lancaster London for 3 nights on the Weekender package. From the minute we arrived we were treated like old friends.
The staff are very welcoming and nothing is too much trouble. We stayed on the 13th floor and had wonderful views over London. Fireworks over at Wembley were sensational on the
Saturday night. Lovely room, spacious with good bedding and great firm bed. Good to have
mini fridge, used for soft drinks and a bottle of wine.
Cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. The short walk from Paddington and Heathrow
Express (5 mins) is good.
Will stay again on our next trip.

Room Tip: Try for a room above 10th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank shopaholicScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,450 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,542
    1,302
    426
    120
    60
See reviews for
567
1,349
170
735
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (791)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed for 5 nights on our Honeymoon. Great Hotel with attention to details. We were fortunate enough to receive a congratulations on our welcome, upgrade and champagne and chocolate strawberries to our room. We were given access to a room early in the morning after arriving on an international flight. Staff were helpful, honest and friendly. The room had a great view over Hyde Park and was clean and spacious.
Central location being only a short walk from Paddington and easy to walk down to Oxford St (for shopping), Soho, Green Park etc. On the central underline stop which is great.
Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Request a high floor with a view if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LAH87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ledbury
Level Contributor
126 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

From the moment we walked through the doors into reception, we liked this hotel. We chose the hotel as we were at Lords watching the Sri Lankan test match, only a ten minute taxi ride from The Lancaster, a couple of minutes from the top end of Hyde Park and the beautiful Italian Gardens. Room with a fabulous view, huge, comfortable bed, nothing is too much trouble for the staff who are extremely polite and helpful. We dined at the Thai restaurant in the hotel, fabulous meal, late evening walk in the park ended a wonderful day. Excellent breakfast before we left - congratulations to this well managed hotel, a thoroughly enjoyable stay - thank you.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Diana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Lancaster London, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Diana H,

Thank you for your amazing review.

We are thrilled to read your stay was very comfortable and accompanied by excellent service from our team and the culinary delights of our Nipa Thai.

We hope you have reason to stay in London soon again, maybe for another test match.

Kind regards
Thoralf Kretzschmar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We stayed at the Lancaster for one week. It was our first trip abroad and I cannot say enough good things about the staff and the service that we received. From exchanging larger bank notes (20 pound denomination) for smaller ones (one pound coins) in order to allow us to make exact fare for our assorted cab fares, to recommending different attractions (special thank you to Sebastian the doorman - an absolute wealth of information, tips and suggestions) our every request was met with a smile, and a genuine desire to help. Gilding the lily were comfortable beds, excellent soundproofing guaranteeing a good night's sleep (a must when you have a full day of sight seeing ahead of you !) and a fantastic central location. The prices were very reasonable, and I would recommend this establishment highly - you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Laura Jill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Lancaster London, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear Laura Jill G,

Thank you for your amazing review.

Wow, we are so glad to have been able to make you feel at home during your one week stay.
Thank you for praising our Sebastian, he is indeed a true ambassador of the Lancaster London, some even all him a living Time out Magazine.

We hope your next trip to London is not too long away.

Kind Regards
Thoralf Kretzschmar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I had the possibility to stay over for two nights in relation to my participation in a conference in London. The hotel is placed centrally about 5-10 minutes walk from Paddington station, which makes it extremely easy to reach from e.g. Heathrow. The reception was extremely helpful and kind and there was only a small doubt as to whether there was a free WiFi connection when staying as part of the conference package. They however quickly found out that was the case and there was no problem with that. I was missing a bar in my room, but there was a water boiler and all the stuff needed for coffee or tee. There were also some complimentary cookies to go with the coffee. It was quite hot on the 4th floor and it was unfortunately not possible for me to open a window. A colleague of mine on the sixth floor could open her window, so it might have been a local issue. Otherwise the room was well equipped with two hair driers, an iron and a safe. Lots of TV channels were available on the rather small TV set. The breakfast restaurants were nice with a very good view to Hyde Park and a full assortment of asian, continental and English breakfast plus the option to order special servings. A special serving had somehow ended up on my bill by mistake, but when I mentioned that I had ordered nor received special servings, they erased it without further adue. I misplaced my access cards tot he room when I should check out, but that was no issue. In everything I experienced, the service was excellent and all staff was smiling and helpful. They also returned to me after my stay with appologies that I had experienced a window that did not open, since I filled that in as a comment in the feedback sheet. They care about you as a customer! Personally I thought the price was on the high side though, especially as this was part of a conference package. 224 £ pr. night including VAT and breakfast was my price.

Room Tip: If you are going to stay in the room, select a room with a view towards Hyde park. I had a view to a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fnielsen61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Lancaster London, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear Fnielsen61,

Thank you for your comprehensive review, very detailed with lovely tips for the community.

We are delighted that you overall had a fantastic stay at the Lancaster London and that you found our Service Standards to be very good.

I am sorry that you have encountered the issue with the window and the incorrect rooms charge, this should not happen and the relevant departmental managers have been informed.

We hope you will be attending another conference at the Lancaster London soon.

Kind Regards
Thoralf Kretzschmar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We hadn't made a booking for afternoon tea but it was no trouble for them to fit us in, crisp white table cloth, china cups, cakes and tiny tasty sanwiches served by the most polite and friendly waiter a lovely start to our weekend break. The room had promised a park view and what a view it was, not only the park but also a fantasic view of the city sky line especially at night. Breakfast was great, an evening meal in the Island Bar was again lovely, no booking but found a table by a lovely waiter (Francesco), soft jazz music, great veggie food, hotel has their own hives and make their own honey. A supper in the Nippa Thai resteraunt was pricey but staff were really friendly and food very tasty, finished off with jasmine tea. Such a pleasant stay, staff and other vistors all so friendly and polite would deffinately return next time we visit London.

Room Tip: High is good, fantastic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Lancaster London, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear Simon N,

Thank you for your wonderful review.

We thrilled to know that you really enjoyed the culinary delights in Nipa, Island, The Park Breakfast and the afternoon Tea together with fantastic service throughout. The views from our rooms are indeed spectacular, we glad you enjoyed the.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Thoralf Kretzschmar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

For us, this is how hotels should be run. The staff were all friendly and efficient and nothing was too much trouble for them. The rooms were clean and spacious, the dining rooms comfortable and food very good. The location is just perfect for us, a direct line from Liverpool street to Lancaster Gate and very easy access to the west end. With Kensington Gardens and Hyde park just across the road we were able to enjoy some lovely walks.This is now top of our list of London hotels and we will definitely stay here next time we visit London.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank genie2118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Lancaster London, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear genie2118,

Thank you for your lovely review.

We are very pleased to read hat you had an excellent stay and felt well taken care of by our courteous staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind Regards
Thoralf Kretzschmar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
The Westbourne Hyde Park
#114 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Lancaster Gate Hotel
#440 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paddington / Maida Vale
Park Grand Paddington Court
Park Grand Paddington Court
#202 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
Arbor Hyde Park Hotel
#184 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancaster London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster London

Property: Lancaster London
Address: Lancaster Terrace, London W2 2TY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#130 Family Hotel in London
#153 Romantic Hotel in London
#179 Luxury Hotel in London
#206 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lancaster London 4*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether looking down from one of the 416 well-appointed guest rooms and suites, or admiring the outlook from either award-winning restaurant, the 4-star deluxe Lancaster London hotel boasts some of the most panoramic views in the city, overlooking the lush green expanse of Hyde Park and many of the capital's famous landmarks. Walking-distance from Oxford Street, adjacent to Lancaster Gate Central Line tube station (providing a fast direct link to the CBD) and just a stone's throw from the Heathrow Express at Paddington, the hotel's location is perfect for all business and leisure visits to London. Renowned for its world-class function space, the Lancaster London's flexible meetings and events facilities can accommodate up to 3,000 guests. The vast Nine Kings and Westbourne Suites have their own dedicated entrances, sound-proofed dividing walls, state-of-the-art AV equipment and retractable Italian chandeliers. The Forest Suite is a collection of 13 contemporary spaces that can cater for smaller meetings and events of up to 200 delegates. Stylishly yet comfortably furnished using natural woods and fabrics, they are individually-designed to be inviting, calm and businesslike. Dining options at the hotel range from 24-hour room service, to traditional Afternoon Tea, to gourmet experiences in one of the highly-regarded restaurants. Inspired by the original Nipa Restaurant in The Landmark Bangkok Hotel, the 55-seat Nipa Thai Restaurant features a teak panelled interior and stunning traditional furnishings and ornaments, crafted in Thailand. Whether you judge it on its mouthwatering cuisine, subtle oriental décor or welcoming ambience, it is one of the most authentic Thai eating experiences in Europe. In contrast, Island Grill is a stylish modern venue featuring a delicious menu of wide-ranging European dishes alongside a varied selection of cocktails and wines to suit every taste and appetite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Preferred Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Lancaster London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancaster London Hotel London
Royal Lancaster London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing