We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mistakes and room below what you'd expect.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lancaster London

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lancaster London
Ranked #233 of 1,087 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Mistakes and room below what you'd expect.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We upgraded to an executive suite on arrival as we are both smokers and there wasn't any other smoking rooms available. We expected a much better room considering it was an executive room but we were disappointed as it was only on a par with some normal rooms at other hotels.
We ordered room service breakfast as we had an early morning start and both our orders were completely wrong with missing and additional items we hadn't ordered.
Our bill was wrong too over billing us for the mini bar.
The hotel is clean and most of the staff friendly. View from the 18th floor rooms amazing. Price way too high for the quality of rooms and food. We won't be back.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmandaPandamonium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Lancaster London, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear AmandaPandamonium,

Thank you for your feedback and Tripadvisor.

First and foremost, please accept my apologies for incorrect breakfast delivery and incorrect mini bar billing, this is indeed very disappointing and will be looked into by our Food and Beverage Manager.

Generally our Executive rooms receive a lot of praise, I am sorry that it did not meet your expectations.

That said, I am glad you found our staff to be very accommodating and friendly, and that you still could enjoy the views from your room.

We sincerely hope you will reconsider and choose the Lancaster London in the future.
Kind regards
Thoralf Kretzschmar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,419 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,523
    1,294
    423
    120
    59
See reviews for
556
1,339
170
729
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (785)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

I was on a quick business trip, first time staying here. Great location. All staff from ALL departments were incredibly pleasant, professional and above all helpful. They should be complimented on this! The hotel itself was spotless and the views are great, I stayed on the side of the even room numbers, I think the views from the odd room numbers is much better! Taxis always available, tube station under the hotel was very convenient. Hyde park right in front of the hotel, ideal for a nice walk.

Room Tip: Odd numbers for a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ljh777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Lancaster London, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear ljh777,

Thank you for your great review.

We are pleased to know you had a very comfortable stay and our staff have provided you with exceptional hospitality throughout your stay.

We look forward welcoming you back in the very near future.

Kind regards
Thoralf Kretzschmar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Stayed here three nights in early June, 2014. We got a weekender package at $139 a night including breakfast. What a deal! Wonderful staff at the front desk, so nice and very helpful with our questions. The room was lovely, large (for London), well appointed, quiet and very comfortable. We thoroughly enjoyed out time at Lancaster London and will stay there again when we travel back to London.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LonghornCruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Lancaster London, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear LonghornCruiser,

Thank you for your stunning review.

We are really pleased you have found all our staff to be super friendly and caring. The weekender package is indeed very popular and very good value for money – and only available on our website.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Thoralf Kretzschmar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Very professionel/friendly staff, but too expensive even on a business stayover.
Forget about Wifi access, 15 euro per day for non working wifi at rooms, lobby etc.

Can't recommend anything at this hotel, except from location.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ahave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Lancaster London, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear ahave,

I am very sorry to hear that your stay was not to your full satisfaction due to the standard of your room and the wifi issues you have encountered.

We are continuing to install further boosters to ensure even more stable network then know.
You will also be pleased to know that we now offer free Wifi for all bookings made on our website

Once again, I am very sorry about the aspects which affected your stay negatively; despite which we hope you will give the Lancaster London an opportunity to redeem itself.

Kind regards
Thoralf Kretzschmar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

We came her for a long weekend after we got married in February. Perfect hotel, perfect location and perfect room.

We arrived early on the saturday, but our room was still ready. Had been upgraded to a fantastic corner suite (was the whole one side of the building) With excellent views our Hyde Park and the city.

As we unpacked, someone rang the door bell. It was housekeeping with chocolate covered strawberries, even lactose free for my wife, and a bottle of bubbly.

We relaxed for a few hours, then went out in London.

They came and prepared our room every night and made it a truly special weekend.

Thank you to everyone

Room Tip: Ask for hyde park view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank viking76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Lancaster London, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear viking76,

We are pleased to have been able to make your stay in London just the little bit more special. We believe that little touches can make a huge difference.

We hope this was only your first stay and there are many more to come.

Kind regards
Thoralf Kretzschmar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

I was at the Lancaster London on a work trip.

The only main issues i had was that the bathroom had a thumping noise everytime i was in it, but when i closed the door i couldn't hear it, so didn't really bother me too much, the shower was powerful but leaked from the head of the shower, the beds are comfortable, however 2 single beds joint together which was a little uncomfortable when in the middle.

The staff where very friendly and made up for the above which why i didn't really complain.

Overall a good stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ravihira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Lancaster London, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Ravihira,

Thank you for your review.

Please accept my apologies for the maintenance issues in your bathroom; however I am pleased to know that our staff made more than up for it.

The majority of our rooms can be a twin or king , however we also have full size double mattresses, please let us know the next time and we will try to allocate you one of these rooms.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind Regards
Thoralf Kretzschmar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

The Lancaster is ideally located opposite The Italian Gardens in Hyde Park. The staff and the hotel itself were fantastic. I was travelling with my young daughter and felt very safe and well looked after! Home from home!Ticked every box! Would highly recommend! Very affordable! We will be back!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Starstyle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Lancaster London, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Starstyle1,

Thank you for your great review.

We ticked all the boxes - we are pleased to hear that, and we are more so delighted that you consider us your home from home in London.

Thank you for recommending us, we hope you will be back soon.

Kind regards
Thoralf Kretzschmar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Lancaster Gate Hotel
#433 of 1,087 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paddington / Maida Vale
Park Grand Paddington Court
Park Grand Paddington Court
#199 of 1,087 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
Arbor Hyde Park Hotel
#171 of 1,087 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
The Darlington Hyde Park
#191 of 1,087 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancaster London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster London

Property: Lancaster London
Address: Lancaster Terrace, London W2 2TY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#130 Family Hotel in London
#153 Romantic Hotel in London
#175 Luxury Hotel in London
#206 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lancaster London 4*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether looking down from one of the 416 well-appointed guest rooms and suites, or admiring the outlook from either award-winning restaurant, the 4-star deluxe Lancaster London hotel boasts some of the most panoramic views in the city, overlooking the lush green expanse of Hyde Park and many of the capital's famous landmarks. Walking-distance from Oxford Street, adjacent to Lancaster Gate Central Line tube station (providing a fast direct link to the CBD) and just a stone's throw from the Heathrow Express at Paddington, the hotel's location is perfect for all business and leisure visits to London. Renowned for its world-class function space, the Lancaster London's flexible meetings and events facilities can accommodate up to 3,000 guests. The vast Nine Kings and Westbourne Suites have their own dedicated entrances, sound-proofed dividing walls, state-of-the-art AV equipment and retractable Italian chandeliers. The Forest Suite is a collection of 13 contemporary spaces that can cater for smaller meetings and events of up to 200 delegates. Stylishly yet comfortably furnished using natural woods and fabrics, they are individually-designed to be inviting, calm and businesslike. Dining options at the hotel range from 24-hour room service, to traditional Afternoon Tea, to gourmet experiences in one of the highly-regarded restaurants. Inspired by the original Nipa Restaurant in The Landmark Bangkok Hotel, the 55-seat Nipa Thai Restaurant features a teak panelled interior and stunning traditional furnishings and ornaments, crafted in Thailand. Whether you judge it on its mouthwatering cuisine, subtle oriental décor or welcoming ambience, it is one of the most authentic Thai eating experiences in Europe. In contrast, Island Grill is a stylish modern venue featuring a delicious menu of wide-ranging European dishes alongside a varied selection of cocktails and wines to suit every taste and appetite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Lancaster London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancaster London Hotel London
Royal Lancaster London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing