We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weekend stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Royal Lancaster London
Ranked #234 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2014

recently stayed for two nights as we took in a show. was a little disappointed with the room size as it was a little on the small side....we took advantage of the weekend special rate and had a superior room which was vert definitely one of the smaller rooms i have stayed in on my frequent visits to london. having said that, this was more than made up by everything else! hotel was spotlessly clean, breakfast in island restaurant was excellent and the staff were absoluyely top drawer...nothing was too much trouble and they were ALL so friendly! without doubt this is one of the best run hotels in london and compares on that front with the higher graded establishments at thre and four times the cost. i would definitely have no hesitation in staying here again in the future although will next time book a slightly larger room.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AndrewMU4995AF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Royal Lancaster London, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear AndrewMU4995AF,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted that our team has exceeded your expectations and created memorable moments for you. I am sorry to hear that the room was a bit too small for you; I would recommend to book from the deluxe category upwards, I am confident these room types will meet your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Thoralf Kretzschmar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,497)
There are newer reviews for Royal Lancaster London
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,422 - 1,428 of 3,497 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

Stayed for one night and was reasonably priced for London.was a good location for the shops(about 5-10 mins walk to Oxford st) also had parking at £35 for 24 hours which was pretty good.Staff was very helpful and always happy to help,especially the guy on the door. Had the buffet breakfast which was £15 a head which was ok but a little pricey......

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Harris29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Royal Lancaster London, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Harris29,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.

It is a pleasure to read that our facilities have catered very well for your needs. We are also delighted that you found our team to be accommodating and helpful.

We hope you have reason to stay in London soon again and will be choosing the Lancaster London.

Kind regards
Thoralf Kretzschmar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed at the Lancaster London for five days week before last. With the metro right around the corner and bus stop next to the building, getting downtown was a breeze. In the evenings it was very pleasant to take a stroll through Hyde Park, the Italian gardens, and Kensington Gardens all of which are right next to the hotel. One can walk right through the park and tour Kensington Palace. Short walk to convenience shops and cafés at Paddington station. The staff was very friendly and the rooms were very nice, and air-conditioned. The breakfast buffet was a very nice touch. The hotel arranged for a cab to St. Pancras station for the euro star our last day, which was very nice since we were a party of five with luggage. Wi-Fi was theoretically limited to two hours per day per room. They should go to an open Wi-Fi policy for guests. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Request a room with the night time view of downtown London. The kids loved it.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Royal Lancaster London, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Brian R,

Thank you for your feedback on Tripadvisor

We are glad that we have met all your expectations and made your stay an excellent experience.

I am delighted to inform you that since the end of July our WIFI is now completely free for the entire stay. We are listing to the opinion of our guest and have therefore made this decision.

I hope this even one more reason to return back to the Lancaster London soon.

Kind regards
Thoralf Kretzschmar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Staff could not have been more helpful, room clean and good value, breakfast high quality and location ideal. High quality hotel but unpretentious. Quick response to room service calls. We will be going back and taking the children.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KayHencher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Royal Lancaster London, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear KayHencher,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.

It is great to hear that you had a wonderful stay and are already look forward to coming back with your children. We have some family friendly packages available on our website, I invite you to have a look at them.

We hope to see you soon.

Kind regards
Thoralf Kretzschmar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

It was really good. The service was excellent. I'll be back!
It was clean. Free WiFi and good food.
The location was great, you can walk almost everywhere.
I really liked the service. They we're so kind and good. They were smiling all the time!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Charlen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Royal Lancaster London, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Charlen S,

Thank you for your lovely review.

We are thrilled to know that you had a great stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Thoralf Kretzschmar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stayed for two nights in a room on the 8th floor with great views of London and Hyde Park. It was unusually hot in London in July so we were very pleased to be in a hotel with good air-condition! The room was spacious and airy as well as bright and fresh. The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom too was of a good size with a tub. I have stayed in many hotels and guest houses in London over the years (never any luxury hotels), but this ranks as one of the very best. The staff were very friendly and professional. Check-in as well as check-out was swift and we could store our suitcases in a locked room in the lobby after checking out. Breakfast in the elegant ground floor deli was excellent. No complaints whatsoever. Hope to be back!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Castor_Dioskouros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLondonHotel, Front Office Manager at Royal Lancaster London, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Castor_Dioskouros,

I am absolutely delighted to know you had a wonderful stay with us, and thank you so much for your very kind words. It is always our aim to exceed guest expectations, and I am thrilled you found our staff, bedroom and food to be amazing.

Your feedback was very important to us and I am glad to know that every touch point at the hotel was up to your satisfactory level.

As a team, we strive to exceed our guests expectations and a review such as yours is so rewarding when the teams efforts are noticed by our guests, I will personally pass your compliments to the entire team.

I hope to see you again very soon in London at our Lancaster London Hotel.

Kind Regards,
Saw H Than
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We have stayed here many times using City and Park view rooms, always a pleasant stay and would recommend the "Weekender" deal. Excellent location for visiting most attractions and The West End Shows, just a short walk across into Hyde Park or to the Lancaster Gate Tube. Excellent all round Hotel with very pleasant and helpful staff, quiet and clean air conditioned rooms with great views, excellent food choices and we look forward to our next stay..........

Room Tip: Choose a City or Park view room from the 8th to the 14th floor and you won`t be disappointed.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Stephen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLondonHotel, Front Office Manager at Royal Lancaster London, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Stephen T,

We are very glad to know that our valued guests have enjoyed staying with us for many times and it is very encouraging to know that our product and service are up to your expectation at all times.

We are also glad to know that you appreciated our weekender deal and it is always our hope that we do offer the best deal to our guests in every possible way.

Thank you very much for taking your time to write a review in regards to your recent stay with us. It is always great to hear that our guests enjoy their time spent at the hotel and can take advantage of our location.

Kind Regards,
Saw H Than
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
The Westbourne Hyde Park
#112 of 1,072 in London
384 reviews
Lancaster Gate Hotel
#449 of 1,072 in London
2,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paddington / Maida Vale
Park Grand Paddington Court
Park Grand Paddington Court
#221 of 1,072 in London
1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Lancaster London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Lancaster London

Address: Lancaster Terrace, London W2 2TY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#130 Family Hotel in London
#153 Romantic Hotel in London
#177 Luxury Hotel in London
#206 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: £180 - £516 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Lancaster London 5*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether looking down from one of the 416 well-appointed guest rooms and suites, or admiring the outlook from either award-winning restaurant, the 4-star deluxe Lancaster London hotel boasts some of the most panoramic views in the city, overlooking the lush green expanse of Hyde Park and many of the capital's famous landmarks. Walking-distance from Oxford Street, adjacent to Lancaster Gate Central Line tube station (providing a fast direct link to the CBD) and just a stone's throw from the Heathrow Express at Paddington, the hotel's location is perfect for all business and leisure visits to London. Renowned for its world-class function space, the Lancaster London's flexible meetings and events facilities can accommodate up to 3,000 guests. The vast Nine Kings and Westbourne Suites have their own dedicated entrances, sound-proofed dividing walls, state-of-the-art AV equipment and retractable Italian chandeliers. The Forest Suite is a collection of 13 contemporary spaces that can cater for smaller meetings and events of up to 200 delegates. Stylishly yet comfortably furnished using natural woods and fabrics, they are individually-designed to be inviting, calm and businesslike. Dining options at the hotel range from 24-hour room service, to traditional Afternoon Tea, to gourmet experiences in one of the highly-regarded restaurants. Inspired by the original Nipa Restaurant in The Landmark Bangkok Hotel, the 55-seat Nipa Thai Restaurant features a teak panelled interior and stunning traditional furnishings and ornaments, crafted in Thailand. Whether you judge it on its mouthwatering cuisine, subtle oriental décor or welcoming ambience, it is one of the most authentic Thai eating experiences in Europe. In contrast, Island Grill is a stylish modern venue featuring a delicious menu of wide-ranging European dishes alongside a varied selection of cocktails and wines to suit every taste and appetite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Lancaster London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancaster London Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing