We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and amazing hotel restaurant”
Review of Lancaster London

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Lancaster London
Ranked #238 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great location and amazing hotel restaurant”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

I spent a week in London on a professional course. the course itself was in neighborhood called Hayes which requires a twenty minutes train ride from central London. Since It was a whole week I wanted to stay in the city itself and not in a not-very-good neighborhood such as Hayes.

I chose that hotel because of its central location, the fact that it is located on Hyde-Park and since it is a 5 minutes walk from Paddington station. The hotel room was nice and comfortable and quiet. the staff was friendly and helpful.

I must point out the Thai restaurant in the hotel called "NIPA THAI". It was one of the best restaurants I have ever had the pleasure of visiting. The food was beyond what I could have wished for. I am quite the foodie and just love Thai food, having great memories from the meals I had in a long vacation in Thailand a couple of years ago. The food in NIPA was actually even better than the food in Thailand itself. The service in the restaurant was also very kind and this is one of the few times ever that I have asked for the dishes to be extra spicy and actually got it spicy enough which is not obvious since most places think that a white guy like me can't handle what they consider as spicy/hot :)

Room Tip: Don't miss the restaurant in the hotel "NIPA THAI"
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shachar_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Lancaster London, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Shachar_B,

Thank you for your wonderful review.

We are very pleased you had a great stay, particular that the Nipa Thai restaurant has left such a lasting memory for you. We are this month refurbishing our Nipa Thai restaurant which will further enhance the experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards
Thoralf Kretzschmar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,450 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,542
    1,302
    426
    120
    60
See reviews for
567
1,349
170
735
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (791)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We love the location of this hotel -- right off Hyde Park with the Lancaster Gate tube station just around the corner. We found the hotel to be clean and very comfortable as well as fairly priced. The staff were so accommodating to all of our needs. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Our Superior Room with twin beds was comfortable though not large. A room on a higher floor that fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandyH75075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Lancaster London, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear SandyH75075,

Thank you for your amazing review.

We are delighted that our staff has provided you with excellent service and catered for all your needs.

We hope you will be choosing the Lancaster London again during your next trip to London.

Kind regards
Thoralf Kretzschmar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Excellent customer service from all departments. Very friendly staff who are prepared to go the extra mile to ensure that you have a relaxing stay. The rooms are a good size and the view excellent. Parking can be difficult if you can't get a space in the hotel car park. The Guest Relations Manager, Doreen Soltan, is excellent and her attention to detail is second to none.

Room Tip: A room facing Hyde Park and Westminster has the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank HRHPOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Lancaster London, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear HRHPOW,

Thank you for your lovely comments and the praise of our Guest relations Manager Doreen.

It is great to read the Lancaster London has met all your requirements and expectations.

We hope to have you as our guest soon again.

Kind regards
Thoralf Kretzschmar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2014

An ideal location almost near to most of London's attractions, near the Lancaster Gate underground station, very friendly and helpfull staff, clean rooms, excellent housekeeping service. I highly recommend the hotel for all my friends going to London and it would be my choice for my next visit.

Room Tip: A room with a nice view of the Hyde park
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gimmy46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Lancaster London, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear gimmy46,

Thank you for your great review.

We are very pleased that you really enjoyed your stay at the Lancaster London and that you will be recommending us to your friends.

We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Kind regards
Thoralf Kretzschmar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alsager, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

recently stayed for two nights as we took in a show. was a little disappointed with the room size as it was a little on the small side....we took advantage of the weekend special rate and had a superior room which was vert definitely one of the smaller rooms i have stayed in on my frequent visits to london. having said that, this was more than made up by everything else! hotel was spotlessly clean, breakfast in island restaurant was excellent and the staff were absoluyely top drawer...nothing was too much trouble and they were ALL so friendly! without doubt this is one of the best run hotels in london and compares on that front with the higher graded establishments at thre and four times the cost. i would definitely have no hesitation in staying here again in the future although will next time book a slightly larger room.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AndrewMU4995AF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Lancaster London, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear AndrewMU4995AF,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted that our team has exceeded your expectations and created memorable moments for you. I am sorry to hear that the room was a bit too small for you; I would recommend to book from the deluxe category upwards, I am confident these room types will meet your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Thoralf Kretzschmar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Stayed for one night and was reasonably priced for London.was a good location for the shops(about 5-10 mins walk to Oxford st) also had parking at £35 for 24 hours which was pretty good.Staff was very helpful and always happy to help,especially the guy on the door. Had the buffet breakfast which was £15 a head which was ok but a little pricey......

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harris29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Lancaster London, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Harris29,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.

It is a pleasure to read that our facilities have catered very well for your needs. We are also delighted that you found our team to be accommodating and helpful.

We hope you have reason to stay in London soon again and will be choosing the Lancaster London.

Kind regards
Thoralf Kretzschmar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed at the Lancaster London for five days week before last. With the metro right around the corner and bus stop next to the building, getting downtown was a breeze. In the evenings it was very pleasant to take a stroll through Hyde Park, the Italian gardens, and Kensington Gardens all of which are right next to the hotel. One can walk right through the park and tour Kensington Palace. Short walk to convenience shops and cafés at Paddington station. The staff was very friendly and the rooms were very nice, and air-conditioned. The breakfast buffet was a very nice touch. The hotel arranged for a cab to St. Pancras station for the euro star our last day, which was very nice since we were a party of five with luggage. Wi-Fi was theoretically limited to two hours per day per room. They should go to an open Wi-Fi policy for guests. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Request a room with the night time view of downtown London. The kids loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Lancaster London, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Brian R,

Thank you for your feedback on Tripadvisor

We are glad that we have met all your expectations and made your stay an excellent experience.

I am delighted to inform you that since the end of July our WIFI is now completely free for the entire stay. We are listing to the opinion of our guest and have therefore made this decision.

I hope this even one more reason to return back to the Lancaster London soon.

Kind regards
Thoralf Kretzschmar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
The Westbourne Hyde Park
#114 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Lancaster Gate Hotel
#440 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paddington / Maida Vale
Park Grand Paddington Court
Park Grand Paddington Court
#202 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
Arbor Hyde Park Hotel
#184 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancaster London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster London

Property: Lancaster London
Address: Lancaster Terrace, London W2 2TY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#130 Family Hotel in London
#153 Romantic Hotel in London
#179 Luxury Hotel in London
#206 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lancaster London 4*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether looking down from one of the 416 well-appointed guest rooms and suites, or admiring the outlook from either award-winning restaurant, the 4-star deluxe Lancaster London hotel boasts some of the most panoramic views in the city, overlooking the lush green expanse of Hyde Park and many of the capital's famous landmarks. Walking-distance from Oxford Street, adjacent to Lancaster Gate Central Line tube station (providing a fast direct link to the CBD) and just a stone's throw from the Heathrow Express at Paddington, the hotel's location is perfect for all business and leisure visits to London. Renowned for its world-class function space, the Lancaster London's flexible meetings and events facilities can accommodate up to 3,000 guests. The vast Nine Kings and Westbourne Suites have their own dedicated entrances, sound-proofed dividing walls, state-of-the-art AV equipment and retractable Italian chandeliers. The Forest Suite is a collection of 13 contemporary spaces that can cater for smaller meetings and events of up to 200 delegates. Stylishly yet comfortably furnished using natural woods and fabrics, they are individually-designed to be inviting, calm and businesslike. Dining options at the hotel range from 24-hour room service, to traditional Afternoon Tea, to gourmet experiences in one of the highly-regarded restaurants. Inspired by the original Nipa Restaurant in The Landmark Bangkok Hotel, the 55-seat Nipa Thai Restaurant features a teak panelled interior and stunning traditional furnishings and ornaments, crafted in Thailand. Whether you judge it on its mouthwatering cuisine, subtle oriental décor or welcoming ambience, it is one of the most authentic Thai eating experiences in Europe. In contrast, Island Grill is a stylish modern venue featuring a delicious menu of wide-ranging European dishes alongside a varied selection of cocktails and wines to suit every taste and appetite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Preferred Hotels, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Lancaster London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancaster London Hotel London
Royal Lancaster London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing