We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phillip warren ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Lancaster London
Ranked #186 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

Good hotel clean quite and in a good location only a short work the oxford street and about five min from paddington station
good wifi and Kazi in the bar and front counter staff know there jobs AC works and pluming and bath room are all in good conditions over all it up to world standard not the best hotel but by UK standard it good.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Phillip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Royal Lancaster London, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Phillip W,

Thank you for your feedback.

We are delighted that you overall had a very pleasant stay at the Lancaster London. I will ensure the praise for Kazi and Front Desk team will be shared amongst them and to get recognised for the good service.

We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Kind regards
Thoralf Kretzschmar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,607)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,508 - 1,514 of 3,607 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2014

I use this hotel a lot for business trips. It's in a great location sitting right at the Lancaster Gate tube station and across the road from Hyde Park in a nice part of town. It is a hotel on a large scale so not the most charming for a vacation weekend. The rooms are small but clean although it could do with an update. The breakfast is very good with a range of fresh choices. Staff are always very helpful and friendly. There are some decent deals occasionally. Tends to be a large conference venue.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Royal Lancaster London, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Peter C,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.

We are pleased to know that you are regularly staying at the Lancaster London on business.

I am pleased to read that you constantly receive excellent level of service from our teams. I am sorry however that the rooms is always to your full satisfaction, may I ask you to get in touch with our guest relations team during your next stay to discuss your room preference in order to ensure very positive experience in all aspect going forwards.

We hope to see you soon.

Kind regards
Thoralf Kretzschmar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Location: very well located facing Hyde Park and in Central London

Staff: very nice and welcoming

Rooms: a bit old, with old curtains and carpet. Bathroom quite old as well but clean

Ask for a room with a view on the park!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Boulgom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Royal Lancaster London, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Boulgom1,

Thank you for your review.

We are pleased that you found our staff to be very nice and welcoming. Please accept my apologies that bedroom you occupied did not quite match you expectations.

We have started our refurbishment program of “Creating the future with the treasures of our past”, which includes a full refurbishment of the entire hotel.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards
Thoralf Kretzschmar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I'll start by saying the personnel at the hotel are top notch. Very helpful and gracious. Great location convinient to Paddington Sation, Hyde Park.
The hotel itself is in immediate need of a remodel. The carpet in the room was dirty, the walls showed the wear and tear of age. Light switched show dirt that has accumulate thru the years, let alone bath robes which no longer are white but off white due to age. Bathroom mirror is scuffed, paint is peelong in doors.
Wifi keeps dropping in room.
Its really a shame!

Room Tip: Room had City View
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank soccergirl_58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Royal Lancaster London, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear sovvergilr_58,

Thank you for your honest review.

I am very sorry to hear that the bedroom and WIFI were below you expectations, please accept my apologies, however delighted to hear that the service you have received was top notch.

I am please dot inform you that a full refurbishment program has started in July 2014 and over the coming years the entire hotel will be refurbished to an excellent standard, this also includes significant investment into our WIFI system in 2015.

We hope you will give the Lancaster London another try in the future.

Kind regards
Thoralf Kretzschmar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The reason i stay at the Lancaster hotel is the friendliness of the staff and the warm welcome i receive from the moment i arrive, nothing is a problem. The hotel boasts 2 quality restaurants, the Island Grill with views over Hyde Park and the Nippa Thai where quality food is served, the breakfast is a feast to behold and sets you up for the day ahead. Where possible request a room on a high floor with spectacular views over the park and the city beyond it is a must see after dark. The hotel sits in a great location overlooking Hyde Park at Lancaster Gate tube station on the central line from where you can journey to the Westfield shopping malls at White City or Stratford or you can stop off at Oxford Circus, and head towards Oxford St, Bond St or Regents Street where you can " shop til you drop "
I would recommend the Lancaster hotel as a great place to stay when in London.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Denis H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Royal Lancaster London, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Denis H H,

Thank you so much for your amazing review.

We are delighted to know that you have had a fantastic experience at the Lancaster London.

Our Food and Beverage Manager will also be delighted to hear your praise for the Island Grill, Nipa Thai and our breakfast buffet offering, I will make sure to share your feedback.

We hope you next stay is not too far way and remain with best wishes.

Kind regards
Thoralf Kretzschmar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed here in early August this year for the first time and we both were absolutely delighted with every aspect of the Hotel and staff. We flew into London Heathrow and caught the train straight to Paddington. The Hotel is just a 5 minute walk away.
We were lucky enough to have a room on the 18th floor and the views across London were spectacular!
The room was very opulent and comfortable and the staff where more than helpful. We were surprised each evening when the bed was turned down and little sweet gifts were left. The breakfast was delicious and excellent for a day exploring London. The location was perfect and the staff helpful with suggestions. The Hotel even keeps it's own bees and although we didn't sample it, they serve their own honey at breakfast. Can't say I would want to stay anywhere else!

Room Tip: Choice of two restaurants in this Hotel both excellent and reasonably priced. High rooms for great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jotravelnut21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Royal Lancaster London, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Jotravelnut21,

Thank you for your wonderful review.

We are thrilled to know that your experience fantastic, from the room being more that you expected and service form our teams being excellent. I am also glad that our knowledgeable staff was able to give you great advice.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon, make sure you try our very own honey.

Kind regards
Thoralf Kretzschmar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Well appointed rooms, comfortable beds and close proximity to Oxford Street and Hyde Park as well as moments from Paddington Station - very convenient. Excellent food in the Thai Restaurant as well! Great value for a Central London location in a four star property! One note though - if you really are offended by smoking, ask for a floor with zero smoking rooms on, as this is an older property and the smell is quite strong. Excellent views from the high floors.

Room Tip: High floors have spectacular views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank slythergriffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Royal Lancaster London, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear slythergriffin,

Thank you for your feedback.

We are delighted you feel the Lancaster London is excellent value. It is also great to know that you have tried our Nipa Thai restaurant and really enjoyed the dining experience.

We only have one smoking floor left out of 16 floors and we always ask our guests about their preference on our website, but also when checking into the hotel, I sincerely hope you were not inconvenienced by being allocated a smoking room.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards
Thoralf Kretzschmar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Roseate House London
#67 of 1,077 in London
1,456 reviews
Lancaster Gate Hotel
#448 of 1,077 in London
2,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Westbourne Hyde Park
#91 of 1,077 in London
488 reviews
London Elizabeth Hotel
#746 of 1,077 in London
1,563 reviews
South Kensington
The Kensington
The Kensington
#30 of 1,077 in London
3,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Lancaster London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Lancaster London

Address: Lancaster Terrace, London W2 2TY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#89 Family Hotel in London
#146 Luxury Hotel in London
#153 Romantic Hotel in London
#206 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: £174 - £359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Lancaster London 5*
Number of rooms: 411
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located across from Hyde Park, 15 minutes from the financial district and a quick taxi ride to popular sight-seeing locations such as Buckingham Palace. Royal Lancaster London hotel is uniquely positioned to serve the needs of any distinguished guest. Business travelers are invited to take advantage of the hotel’s impressive meeting spaces while enjoying the accessibility of our state-of-the-art on-site gym, hot breakfast and hotel bar. Don’t miss out on their award-winning restaurants, Nipa Thai – offering authentic and delicious Thai dishes, and Island Grill – known for its fresh and sustainable cuisine. The hotel has just inaugurated a collection of brand new rooms and suites, showcasing an effortless blend of mid-century design and contemporary luxury. Curated down to the smallest detail, all rooms feature Smart TVs, heated bathroom floors, quality linen, USB charging port and much more. Choose one of the suites to discover the meaning of “a view with a room”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Lancaster London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancaster London Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing