We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks are deceiving!”
Review of Lancaster London

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Lancaster London
Ranked #236 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Corpus Christi, TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Looks are deceiving!”
Reviewed 7 August 2007

Looks are deceiving when seeing photos on the internet. I thought we would have a great view overlooking Hyde Park. Instead it was of a parking lot down below and a building across from the hotel. Not the view I expected. My sister had told them it would be for 3 people but were given 1 queen size bed. Room was extremely small for the price. Motel 6 would have been better. I don't see how this hotel can be a 4 to 5 Star Hotel, maybe for the UK but not in the U.S. I was not satisfied and neither was my mom.
The noise from the air condition kept us awake most of the night. It sounded like someone was pounding on the pipes. Then the tub clogged up while taking a shower and the toilet or something in the toilet kept making a noise as well.
However, the location was great because we were close to a lot of things. We took the tube and got around that way and also rode the Double Decker bus.
I do have to say that people in England are not friendly and that upset me.


Diana from Corpus Christi, TX

  • Liked — The area it was located.
  • Disliked — The room was very small and no view and the unfriendly front staff.
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank missdem1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,461 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,549
    1,305
    426
    121
    60
See reviews for
570
1,351
170
741
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (794)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset, UK
Level Contributor
218 reviews
190 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 353 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2007

Booking at the last minute in London is always an expensive business - at least weekdays - but found the Royal Lancaster on Expedia at a good rate.

The rooms are fine, if slightly showing their age, and there are great views from the top floors. I ate once in the Island Restaurant which was excellent and not too expensive and I had breakfast once, which was very good and cost £16. I agree with the person who said that the hotel lacks a bar. The Island bar makes you feel you are sitting in the restaurant and the lounge is very stuffy and formal. The staff were all friendly and helpful.

Location is good, as it is beside Lancaster Gate tube station and Kensington Gardens, over the road, is charming and a great place for an evening stroll. Will definitely use the Royal Lancaster again.

  • Liked — Good location.
  • Disliked — No bar.
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Spineynorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2007

We were to stay at this hotel only 1 night (Saturday) and in the end we wish that we had. The first night went really well, the room was clean, fully functioning and quiet. On this experience, we decided to extend our stay when our next accommodation fell through; this is where it all went wrong.

Booking through HotelsClick.com, the hotel never received the booking all day Sunday, my wife turned up after a day of sightseeing and as the hotel did not have any reference to the booking, she was unable to check in. No looking into the problem here. Luckily I had ready access to the internet and was able to forward through the booking confirmation to the hotel and follow it through with a phone call, where I was assured that it would all be taken care of, an hour later my wife was able to check in to the hotel.

The shower in this particular room did not work properly, you were unable to adjust the heat of the water and as a result you ended up with a scalding experience. Just to ensure it was as unpleasant as possible, the drain also did not function properly and you were left standing in 2” or 5cm of scalding water. This ended up being the least of our concerns.

As tourists, we saw the sights during the day and wanted a quiet room of a night; unfortunately the building site outside the window did not allow this. Like other posts, we were awoken at 07:20 by the construction team. Complaining to the Duty Manager, he assured me that other people had also complained and that it would not happen again, unsure I requested a room change and it was denied. The same thing happened each morning.

I will never stay in this dated, over priced, building site again.

  • Liked — Location to the underground
  • Disliked — Construction site
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SNicholson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WeekendStay, Hotel Manager at Lancaster London, responded to this review, 30 July 2007
The Royal Lancaster Hotel is currently improving its appearance. During this period, we will be replacing all our windows for new, which will not only improve the look of the hotel both inside and out, but they will be more energy efficient, bringing us in line with our environmental policy.

At present we have a small amount of scaffolding covering the lower North end of the Hotel which has been erected for Health and Safety reasons. We are on average doing only four rooms a day in order to minimise disruption to our guests.

We apologise for any inconvenience caused to our guests during this period, and have agreed with our construction team to start at a more appropriate time. We feel that this work is necessary in order to maintain and enhance our standards of quality.

Andrew Batchelor
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville Centre, New York
Level Contributor
154 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2007

We booked two rooms six weeks in advance. We told them we would be arriving late. When we checked-in they gave us two rooms on the same floor. We went to sleep at 2 AM and were awakened at 7AM by construction. One of the rooms was in the middle of a renovation zone.

Also watch out for price quotes. Cost rises steeply after first night and they nickle and dime you on use of internet and breakfast.

On the plus side is the location overlooking the park and food service at the bar until quite late at night.

  • Liked — People
  • Disliked — Noise
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Nocke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2007

This hotel is modern, clean with very friendly and efficient staff. The location is as easy to get to as any you'll find in central London... it's literally a 5 minute walk from Paddington Station and with Lancaster Gate tube stop just below it on the Central Line getting around is a cinch. If you're room is on a high floor on the south side you'll have magnificent views of Hyde Park... and you'll never wait too long for one of the 4 elevators which are super fast. The only down side is the fact that there's no proper bar in the place and not much around the hotel. If you're looking for a late drink the best they can offer is a "lounge" with a few couches and an infrequent and expensive drinks service... you certainly won't get anything approaching a pint of traditional English bitter here. Breakfast if not included is also pricey at £16.50 for the continental but that's expected in a hotel like this. Overall I'd thoroughly recommend it.

  • Liked — Location, location, location
  • Disliked — No bar
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Dub111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2007

the purpose for our stay was a concert in Hyde Park. I did my research and read reviews and it really paid off this time. Location was perfect,You literally come out of the Lancaster Gate tube Station and there is the hotel. We strolled over to the concert and then back again, we had noticed an Indian restaurant oppossit the hotel and had a late meal which was great and very handy!!
The hotel decor is very grand and very clean. we were happy with our standard room, it was bigger than most london hotel standard rooms,and was on the 12th floor, we looked out onto some of the park and the london skyline.
we had no problems with any of the staff, check in/ checkout.
Thanks to reading someones review i knew there was the swan inn very nearby, they have a great bar menu and good atmospheric london pub.
Drinks in the bar at hotel were a little pricey-£14 for 2 single baileys!!! would def use this hotel again for the price we paid which was £90.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank KentJojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2007

Friendly hotel and comfortable rooms with a reasonable view of the park. Breakfast directly overlooking the park was the highlight though.

  • Stayed May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
The Westbourne Hyde Park
#105 of 1,067 in London
314 reviews
Lancaster Gate Hotel
#442 of 1,067 in London
2,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paddington / Maida Vale
Park Grand Paddington Court
Park Grand Paddington Court
#197 of 1,067 in London
917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancaster London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster London

Property: Lancaster London
Address: Lancaster Terrace, London W2 2TY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#130 Family Hotel in London
#153 Romantic Hotel in London
#177 Luxury Hotel in London
#206 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lancaster London 4*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether looking down from one of the 416 well-appointed guest rooms and suites, or admiring the outlook from either award-winning restaurant, the 4-star deluxe Lancaster London hotel boasts some of the most panoramic views in the city, overlooking the lush green expanse of Hyde Park and many of the capital's famous landmarks. Walking-distance from Oxford Street, adjacent to Lancaster Gate Central Line tube station (providing a fast direct link to the CBD) and just a stone's throw from the Heathrow Express at Paddington, the hotel's location is perfect for all business and leisure visits to London. Renowned for its world-class function space, the Lancaster London's flexible meetings and events facilities can accommodate up to 3,000 guests. The vast Nine Kings and Westbourne Suites have their own dedicated entrances, sound-proofed dividing walls, state-of-the-art AV equipment and retractable Italian chandeliers. The Forest Suite is a collection of 13 contemporary spaces that can cater for smaller meetings and events of up to 200 delegates. Stylishly yet comfortably furnished using natural woods and fabrics, they are individually-designed to be inviting, calm and businesslike. Dining options at the hotel range from 24-hour room service, to traditional Afternoon Tea, to gourmet experiences in one of the highly-regarded restaurants. Inspired by the original Nipa Restaurant in The Landmark Bangkok Hotel, the 55-seat Nipa Thai Restaurant features a teak panelled interior and stunning traditional furnishings and ornaments, crafted in Thailand. Whether you judge it on its mouthwatering cuisine, subtle oriental décor or welcoming ambience, it is one of the most authentic Thai eating experiences in Europe. In contrast, Island Grill is a stylish modern venue featuring a delicious menu of wide-ranging European dishes alongside a varied selection of cocktails and wines to suit every taste and appetite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Lancaster London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancaster London Hotel London
Royal Lancaster London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing