We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top-Notch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sloane Square Hotel
Ranked #196 of 1,090 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Top-Notch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

The room I had stayed with my family was very comfortable and clean. The staff were very helpful with all the requests and had full of suggestions about enjoying London. The hotel has very friendly and warm atmosphere to it. Would definitely stay there again and recommend to all my friends and family who wants to be looked after whilst being away from home.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrsB996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher P, Hotel Manager at Sloane Square Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
We appreciate your feedback and look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,086 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    563
    357
    98
    49
    19
See reviews for
168
371
121
247
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

The room I had stayed with my family was very comfortable and clean. The staff were incredibly helpful with all the request and had full of suggestions about enjoying London. The hotel atmosphere is very friendly and warm. Would definitely stay there again and recommend to all my friends and family who wants to be looked after whilst being away from home.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Gigi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher P, Hotel Manager at Sloane Square Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you for your review. Great to read that you enjoyed your stay and found or staff helpful. Hopefully we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed 2 nights at the Sloane Square Hotel last month (July 2014). We were graciously upgraded to a Club Room, which provided additional perks such as bathrobes, slippers and complementary soft drinks in the room mini bar. The room was super spacious and quiet (room did not face Sloane Square). One tip - as of summer 2014 one can book online and pay in advance for additional savings. Love the location as it is right in the heart of Chelsea with close proximity of neighborhood restaurants, shops and transportation to all the major sights. Just a gem and will continue to stay at this hotel!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Avid-Traveler-Fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher P, Hotel Manager at Sloane Square Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
We love to see that our guests continue to choose Sloane Square Hotel for their trips to London. We really enjoyed reading your wonderful review. Hopefully we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed here for a couple of days to take in one of the Proms Concerts at the Royal Albert Hall and a night at the theatre.

Access couldn't be better - Sloane Square Station (Tube) is on the District and Circle lines and the regular buses from around the corner take you just about anywhere.

It is clear that a lot of time and effort has been put into making this a top-quality Hotel, even if the apparent lay-out (no restaurant.bar at the Hotel itself, but access to the next-door Cote Restaurant via a private door directly from Reception pretty much provides both of those).

The rooms themselves are accessed by meandering passageways - probably as a result of optimising room sizes while respecting the design of this old building.

We had a room at the back of the Hotel which was extremely well laid out, very modern and thoughtfully designed, with various elements which should be copied elsewhere (velcro to adhere curtains to the walls so that light coming into the room is minimised at night, two baskets mounted onto the bathroom wall for toiletries thus avoiding the perennial fight for space, and magnets in the shower curtain to prevent the curtain wrapping itself around you once the shower is on - obviously only works for enamel bath-tubs!).

Two improvements that might be considered though are some arrangement to cut out light penetrating from the bottom of doors and, unfortunately, we were in a room next to the service lift (presumably for delivery of meals to rooms), so on the first morning we were woken at an early hour by the door next to our room continually banging (supposed to be a locked fire door according to the label) - maybe suggest some form of insulation on the door frame to reduce the noise level?.

The only other element to spoil our visit was the unbelievable racket on both nights from our neighbour in the next room shouting at a friend in his room and the corridor until about 12:30, then again on his return from wherever he had been at 4:30 that morning - obviously there was nothing that could be done, but this and the banging service door meant that we could not award a top score of 5.

Of specific merit were the attitude of the Trainee (American?) woman on Reception and the high level of service of the bearded waiter in the Cote Restaurant who served us at breakfast - N.B.: The selection of meats and cheeses on the Continental Breakfast Buffet (it is possible to have either this or any kind of cooked breakfast included for free as part of the cost of the Room) looks minimal, but when the food is of such a high quality, it is worth it.

So, all in all, highly recommended, but next time we visit we will definitely ask to be kept away from ALL lifts.

Room Tip: There are a number of bars/clubs/restaurants very close to the Hotel, so choose a room either on a h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KentCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher P, Hotel Manager at Sloane Square Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Great to read you enjoyed your stay and our wonderful location. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review and for the valuable feedback - we are always looking for ways to improve. Thank you for your recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
115 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

We had a very pleasant stay here. Traveling with our three children aged 12, 10 & 10 so we booked one club family room and a club twin. The rooms were spacious, clean and decorated nicely - seems they had been updated recently. Each room had a lovely window seat, armchair, and desk with chair - so plenty of space. Nespresso machine was a huge plus as was the complimentary water and soft drinks. Beds were very comfortable. My only complaints: 1) the shower in the club twin room was ridiculous as it is situated under a slanted roof - cannot figure how a grown man would manage and 2) the common areas are a bit shabby - really hope they replace the carpeting in the halls before we return!

All of that said I must emphasize how incredible the location is - no more than a 15 minute walk to most anywhere you want to be: Westminster, Hyde Park, Kings Road, etc. . . The tube is right on the square as are three good restaurants. The energy around the square was exciting! Really, you cannot go wrong with this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fmrtaitai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher P, Hotel Manager at Sloane Square Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
We are so pleased to read that you and your family had an enjoyable stay. The is so much to see and do around the Sloane Square area and it sounds like you made full use of all that’s on offer! We appreciate your feedback - we are always looking at ways to improve our guest experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Booked last minute and used other TripAdvisor reviews as my guide.
Great hotel in very many ways. Ideally located on the square and 2minutes from the tube.
The location speaks for itself in respect to local facilities.
The public areas very welcoming and a little quirky, so no bland typical chain-hotel.
Staff smiling, welcoming and helpful both at check-in and check-out.
Room whilst typically small'ish for the price in London (£117/night for me), was very clean and had great facilities and air-conditioning. Even had a nice view of the back/side of church.
Actually wish I had got to hotel earlier to take advantage of the bar/food. Next time !

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher P, Hotel Manager at Sloane Square Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Good to read that you were able to take advantage of one of our great offers. Glad you enjoyed the hotel location and appreciated our decor. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed here as a treat for my birthday recently. It was a fantastic hotel in a great location and the staff were fantastic. My girlfriend booked it for us, and when we got to thr front desk they found out that this stay was for my birthday and they changed our room to have a better view. They also sent up a bottle of champagne with a birthday card. It was a wonderful gesture which helped to make my birthday weekend truly great. I'd like to thank Lubo Seidl the Assistant Front Office Manager who made this great gestures and gave us a wonderful start to our weekend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher P, Hotel Manager at Sloane Square Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your lovely feedback. We have shared it with Lubo and the rest of our team and it made their day! Hopefully we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Chelsea
11 Cadogan Gardens
11 Cadogan Gardens
#101 of 1,090 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
Chelsea
Draycott Hotel
Draycott Hotel
#23 of 1,090 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
Belgravia
The Hari
The Hari
#13 of 1,090 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
Eccleston Square Hotel
Eccleston Square Hotel
#159 of 1,090 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Pimlico
The Windermere Hotel
The Windermere Hotel
#102 of 1,090 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Knightsbridge
The Beaufort Hotel
The Beaufort Hotel
#210 of 1,090 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sloane Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sloane Square Hotel

Property: Sloane Square Hotel
Address: 7-12 Sloane Square, London SW1W 8EG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Belgravia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#149 Luxury Hotel in London
#157 Business Hotel in London
#199 Family Hotel in London
#234 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sloane Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sloane Square was designed in 1771 and named after Sir Hans Sloane (1660 – 1753). The property has been a 4 star hotel since 1900. Chelsea has always been at the heart of fashionable London and became world famous during the 1960s as the centre of swinging London. In fact the Beatles frequently stayed in the hotel which was then called The Royal Court. In 2005/6 the hotel was completely renovated and reopened as Sloane Square Hotel. We are very proud to be an independent, privately owned hotel which reflects the individual character of the property and personal guest service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sloane Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sloane Square
Sloane Square London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing