We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recently refurbished, easy, clean and ticks the right boxes for me”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Thistle Kensington Gardens
Ranked #288 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
326 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
“Recently refurbished, easy, clean and ticks the right boxes for me”
Reviewed 29 October 2011

Stayed on a business trip, refurbished and from a hotel I used to avoid to one I would very happily return to.
Didn't use any facilities except the room, but that ticked all the boxes for a comfortable and easy stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arthurh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
186338Thistle, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review, 31 October 2011
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for this feedback, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

I hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Paul Knightley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,929 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    785
    825
    245
    51
    23
See reviews for
422
785
69
278
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (517)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

We were booked into this hotel on the 22nd October for two nights, on an exceptional deal with Tesco Clubcard. However, on arriving at the hotel in the evening of the 22nd we discovered that there had been an error in the booking and the hotel was now full! It seemed like we were not the only ones who had found this either as when we first arrived the person in front of us was also being relocated. I was tired after a very long day in the city but I could not fault the attentive nature of the staff. We had been booked in to a hotel across town in Embankment. Although I had looked forward to staying in the Kensington Gardens area this relocation proved to be a very good upgrade to a 5* hotel in a wonderful central location. The Thistle paid for a taxi for us (which, according to the meter would have been very pricey) and moreover paid for us to have drinks on the house while we waited. Despite the mix up I would have no qualms on rebooking this hotel as it seems a lovely hotel, with attentive staff and is well placed for exploring the Hyde Park, Kensington and Notting Hill area.

Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nik-n-Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

Myself and my boyfriend have just spent a lovely weekend in London and stayed at the Thistle Hotel Kensington Gardens and it was absoultly Beautiful!

It was a very quick and easy check in and you were greated with very helpfull staff from the minute you walked through the door. The room was lovely, very modern and looked as though it had newly been renovated along with the rest of the hotel. The room size was perfect for two people, we had a nice new flat screen TV on the wall with a variety of channels, the bathroom was also good with a massive shower which was nice!!

The breaskfast was lovely and served in the main bar area and again was very modern with beautiful decor and the food was freshly cooked and tasted gorgeous.

The hotel itself was in a really good location situated directly opposite Hyde Park and a 2 min walk to the tube station.

Overall we had an excellent stay and I would definatly recommend this hotel and I would stay here again!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank char216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
186338Thistle, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review, 31 October 2011
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for this feedback, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, especially the breakfast!

I hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Paul Knightley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
84 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2011

Cannot fault this hotel for its position and for its beautifully clean newly decorated rooms. If I had to point out any negatives about this hotel, I would say that the room we had was quite compact and if you were staying longer than a few days, you might struggle to find space for suitcases etc. Having said that, I am sure they do have larger rooms and if you are staying only for a few days, the compact rooms have everything you need, including an ironing board!
Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you have lots of luggage, ask for larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pewter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
186338Thistle, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review, 31 October 2011
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for this feedback, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. The Deluxe and Executive bedrooms at the hotel are larger than our standard bedrooms as well as having a Park view and these are available at a supplement.

Thank you again for your feedback and I hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Paul Knightley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2011

The occasion was very special so after a busy day it was so lovely to get to our hotel to freshen up for the evening ahead! The hotel is beautiful the minute you walk in! You are greeted by really friendly staff! The room was very spacious for the two of us, nicely laid out and the bathroom was lovely too! The room is well equipped of proper size hairdryer, iron and ironing board, you also get a dressing gown! So after a boozy night breakfast was greatly received! The menu choice is fabulous and the staff were all really helpful at a busy time and they were never short of smiles!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emma l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
186338Thistle, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review, 31 October 2011
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for this feedback, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, especially the breakfast!

I hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Paul Knightley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

I stayed at Thistle Kensington Gardens with some friends recently as we had a night out in London planned. I have nothing but good comments to say about the hotel. All the staff were very friendly and hospitable, from when we checked in, to breakfast and check out the following morning. The rooms were beautifully refurbed and the breakfast was fantastic, just what the doctor ordered after over indulging the night before. I would definately recommend Thistle Kensington Gardens and without doubt book there again on my next trip to London.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
186338Thistle, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review, 31 October 2011
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for this feedback, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, especially the breakfast!

I hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Paul Knightley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

The hotel is in a good central location. The rooms are small but ok. The night that we were there, there were some problems with the showers and there were complaints from other guests at checkout about the lack of water. For the price of the hotel this issue could probably have been dealt with better. The one issue that annoyed me was that we had some drinks and food (which was nice) in the hotel brasserie and a service charge was automatically added to all drinks and food. This service charge was listed as discretionary, but when we noticed it and asked for it to be removed there were some grumblings. I feel for the price of the room and the food adding this service charge just reduced my experience and impression of the hotel, and I don't think it was adequately displayed in the brasserie menu.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anlawlor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
186338Thistle, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review, 31 October 2011
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for this feedback, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. The Deluxe and Executive bedrooms at the hotel are larger than our standard bedrooms as well as having a Park view and these are available at a supplement. With regards to your feedback concerning a lack of hot water, unfortunately there was a problem with one of the boilers and as a result some areas of the hotel did not have hot water. As soon as we were made aware of the issue these rooms were taken off line and were not relet until the issue had been resolved.

Thank you again for your feedback and I hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Paul Knightley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Kensington and Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
#359 of 1,067 in London
885 reviews
Notting Hill
DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park
Notting Hill
Grand Royale London Hyde Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notting Hill
Hilton London Hyde Park
Hilton London Hyde Park
#377 of 1,067 in London
329 reviews
The Westbourne Hyde Park
#106 of 1,067 in London
314 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Park Grand Paddington Court
Park Grand Paddington Court
#198 of 1,067 in London
921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle Kensington Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Kensington Gardens

Property: Thistle Kensington Gardens
Address: 104 Bayswater Road | Hyde park, London W2 3HL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#172 Business Hotel in London
#189 Family Hotel in London
#210 Romantic Hotel in London
#211 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Kensington Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly refurbished modern hotel located on Bayswater Road with the tranquility of Hyde Park and Kensington Gardens opposite, and within walking distance to Paddington, Oxford Street, Kensington, Notting Hill and Edgware Road, the hotel is ideally placed for business or leisure. Good transport links ensure that the city and theatres are also within very easy reach. All Deluxe and Executive bedrooms are located at the front of the hotel and have amazing views over Kensington Gardens and are available at a supplement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotelopia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Thistle Kensington Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Kensington Gardens London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing