We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DIY???”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Thistle Kensington Gardens
Ranked #298 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“DIY???”
Reviewed 20 December 2012 via mobile

After being informed that an executive room upgrade awaited with house keeping adding the rollaway bed it was surprising to get to the room and find 5 paint cans, roller brush, paint tray and filler kit...I wondered if this was to offset the upgrade.

The good news is that mistakes happen, so 1 phone call and a 2 minute wait we were quickly moved to an adjacent room.

Decor is modern and room size adequate (slightly tight with rollaway) however felt that it needed a real good vacuum and deep clean in bathroom...however stayed in a lot worse.

Staff at front desk, bar and restaurant were fantastic, offering my daughter a mince pie and Santa hat.

So if housekeeping can catch up with rest of team the hotel would have got a strong 4 rating, but sticking to a week 4 given a competitive price for central London.

Meal in restaurant nicely presented, well cooked and willing to make a menu adjustment again at a reasonable price.

Recommend a stay but bring slippers so you don't have to walk on the bedroom carpet.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasMcK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMthistle, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review, 31 December 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review Thistle Kensington Gardens. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and the team at the hotel looked after you and your daughter. Thanks also for your understanding on the room, the maintenance team unfortunately hadn't updated the room status whilst they were completing some minor repairs. I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best Regards. Billy & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,961 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    793
    840
    252
    53
    23
See reviews for
430
797
71
283
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (524)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
328 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2012

Have reviewed previously and nothing much changed!
Slow check in but thoughtful in that there was a function in the hotel, so I was given a room on an upper floor so that I wasn't disturbed.
Pillows were horrendous, very personal but stopped me getting good nights sleep
Car Park very useful.
This hotel offers great value.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arthurh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMthistle, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review, 31 December 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review Thistle Kensington Gardens and for your positive comments about the hotel providing great value. We have various pillow options on request at reception should you require this on a future visit. I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best Regards. Billy & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 December 2012

Just returned from a weekend at this hotel for my husbands surprise 40th celebrations. From start to finish the staff went out of their way to make our stay extra special. It was so refreshing to have such friendly hotel staff who genuinely care and who went more than an extra mile for us! In addition to this the hotel is lovely, tastefully furnished and spotlessly clean with spacious rooms and great views. Great location for exploring London, seeing a show etc.
Highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K1rby5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMthistle, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review, 18 December 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and for your high recommendation. Happy 40th birthday wishes to your husband from the team at Thistle Kensington, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best Regards. Billy & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsingborg, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2012

Very nice hotel with excellent rooms and very good breakfast. Well located close to the tube's station which makes it easy to get to London city. Also, right next to Hyde park so we could start one of the days with a nice walk over to Royal Albert hall.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mathias A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMthistle, Guest Relations Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review, 18 December 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review Thistle Kensington Gardens. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and your breakfast with us and I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best Regards. Billy & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2012

This is my second 10 day stay at this hotel this year - and as usual the room was well appointed and spotlessly clean. The staff make this hotel - they are friendly, patient and helpful all the time.
The location is perfect too - facing the park and a few minutes from the tube station, handy for Oxford Street shopping as well. I will always use this hotel for future visits to London, good value for money.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ETJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMthistle, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review, 18 December 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review Thistle Kensington Gardens and for choosing us again for your long stay. I look forward to welcoming you back soon for your next visit. Best Regards. Billy & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 December 2012 via mobile

The hotel is located very centrally, very close to all attractions and tube stations. Rooms are nice probably newly renovated, but very small. If you will not spend long hours at the hotel it will be no problem. Staff was helpful, always smiling.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ozankynk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMthistle, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review, 18 December 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review Thistle Kensington Gardens and I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. All of our park facing rooms are larger and can be booked in advance of your next visit. Thanks again for taking the time to post a review and I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best Regards. Billy & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2012

I arranged my rooms a month in advanced (paid at time of booking) and put 2 specific requests. 1 - for 2 rooms close to each other so my sister could eat room service in my parents room whilst her baby slept and 2 - for a cot.

I rang on the day to confirm that 2 rooms were next to each other and my sister's room would have a cot in.

We arrived to be checked in to rooms miles apart from each other, and one room had clearly been smoked in. House keeping told my mother that they had advised reception not to use that room. To top it off my sister's room didn't have a cot in it.

We went to reception and it took them AN HOUR to find us other rooms - with a 9 month old baby screaming because she was hungry and needed her dinner. No one helped us to move our bags to our new room & the lifts are ridiculously small so we ended up using the stairs.

The room my partner and I were in was freezing cold because the window wouldn't shut & we had a lovely wake up call at 5am by waitrose delivering below that went on for over an hour.

Whilst all the room faff was going on another guest told me that his room had been cancelled even though he hadn't cancelled it and had called that day to confirm. Always confirm your room with this hotel!

I have given the manager more than enough chances before reviewing this hotel. She informed me that our error occured because of another guest not advising them that he wanted to stay another night. So they put someone with no reservation ahead of someone who had already paid for their room!

We had book executive rooms and you couldn't swing a cat in them so who knows how tiny the standard rooms are!

Awful service, rude staff, no real apology, no upgrade or any money off offered after waiting around for an hour just an awfully made cocktail!

Will never be staying at a Thistle again, which is a shame as the one on Oxford Street is lovely!

Room Tip: Standard rooms will be tiny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ellalou88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMthistle, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review, 18 December 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. I am genuinely sorry to hear about the issues you encountered during your stay with us. I am fully aware of the concerns you have raised and the teams response to your complaint, and I am sorry you did not feel that this matter was concluded. The team respond to all guests requests, both ahead of check in and when in house, and it is very rare if these request are not followed through. I am sorry for any inconvenience caused. Best Regards. Billy & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Kensington and Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
#398 of 1,069 in London
896 reviews
Notting Hill
DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park
Notting Hill
Hilton London Hyde Park
Hilton London Hyde Park
#367 of 1,069 in London
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notting Hill
Grand Royale London Hyde Park
The Westbourne Hyde Park
#116 of 1,069 in London
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle Kensington Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Kensington Gardens

Property: Thistle Kensington Gardens
Address: 104 Bayswater Road | Hyde park, London W2 3HL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#172 Business Hotel in London
#189 Family Hotel in London
#210 Romantic Hotel in London
#218 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Kensington Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly refurbished modern hotel located on Bayswater Road with the tranquility of Hyde Park and Kensington Gardens opposite, and within walking distance to Paddington, Oxford Street, Kensington, Notting Hill and Edgware Road, the hotel is ideally placed for business or leisure. Good transport links ensure that the city and theatres are also within very easy reach. All Deluxe and Executive bedrooms are located at the front of the hotel and have amazing views over Kensington Gardens and are available at a supplement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Thistle Kensington Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Kensington Gardens London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing