We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Thistle Kensington Gardens
Ranked #302 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 December 2012

I stayed at the Thistle Kensington Gardens with my partner and we were upgraded to an Executive Double room, with an amazing view over Kensington Gardens and the London Skyline. Quite fabulous!

The room itself as a good size and had the most enormous bed I have ever seen! The bathroom was compact, in comparision but well equipped and functional. We did have some problems with the sink and the reception staff were grateful for us informing them, which we did on check out (not serious enough for us to complain at the time). The decor was simple and well thought out and I have to say that I had a great night's sleep.

The corridor was quite noisy in the morning and lots of the doors seemed to be banging very loudly. The lifts are also quite small so if you have lots of luggage then they could be quite awkward.

Location wise this hotel is very easy to get to and there are a lot of places to eat/drink close by, so very convenient.

Room Tip: Ask about rooms overlooking the Park - well worth it if you can get one.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizM99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMthistle, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review Thistle Kensington Gardens and for your room tip. I am delighted you and your partner enjoyed your stay with us, and I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best Regards. Billy & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,976)
There are newer reviews for Thistle Kensington Gardens
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,337 - 1,343 of 1,976 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2012

We were given an upgrade (which seems to be common place?) but we had a fabulous view over Kensington Gardens and could even pick out Westminster, Canary Wharf, Albert Hall,London Eye and much more.
The room was very nice indeed. Bathroom small but all you need. The wash basin had a problem draining away but we reported it at Reception in the morning and they thanked us, saying they would deal with it now they knew.
The only complaint we had was the noise of doors banging in the morning. It was as if all the closing mechanisms had broken and they all slammed instead of closing gently.
Oh and housekeeping banging on the door at 8.30am on Saturday morning! This may have been our fault for not putting a 'Do Not Disturb' sign outside ... giving them the benefit of the doubt.
So, a very comfortable, HUGE, bed and a lovely room in a great location.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMthistle, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review Thistle Kensington Gardens and for your positive comments. We are looking at a new closing mechanism for our doors and will hopefully have the small number of rooms that have this issue resolved very soon. I look forward to welcoming you back. Best Regards. Billy & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012

We had a one night stop here and found the location great, the rooms comfortable, room service excellent, and the reception staff very helpful. The rooms have all you need - I think they upgraded us to a room overlooking the park, so we had robes etc. A business type hotel with all you would expect.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KazIOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMthistle, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review Thistle Kensington Gardens and for your succinct feedback. Greatly appreciated. look forward to welcoming you back. Best Regards. Billy & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2012

Top class hotel, beautiful bar and reception, executive double over looking hydepark and kensington gardens was a superb choice with the views across Lodon to the Thames, westminister and the london eye!

Staff were faultless in their efficiency and manners while proving very friendly also.

Location is perfect being a walk away or a small taxi fare from paddington/Soho/leciester square/picaddily, tube station located next door, while at the same time having the cou tryside effect right across the road at kensington gardens which is what proves for me to be the absolutely prime location to stay in London,

I have stayed here before and always return when I come to London.

Room Tip: executive double on the top floor with the view across the parks - these rooms are the prime locatio...
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maccallumiain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMthistle, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review Thistle Kensington Gardens and for your top tip. All of our Executive King rooms and Junior Suites face onto Hyde park and Kensington Gardens. I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit. Best Regards. Billy & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2012

Fantastic hotel in a great location. looks really plush would advise if looking to impress. Staff were also great and very knowledgeable in advising on some un tourist areas to explore. Rooms very smart and comfy with modern decor. Concierge super fast and so helpful. Also has a cracking bar for some relaxing entertainment.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vanspun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMthistle, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review Thistle Kensington Gardens and for your fantastic feedback. I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best Regards. Billy & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2012 via mobile

After being informed that an executive room upgrade awaited with house keeping adding the rollaway bed it was surprising to get to the room and find 5 paint cans, roller brush, paint tray and filler kit...I wondered if this was to offset the upgrade.

The good news is that mistakes happen, so 1 phone call and a 2 minute wait we were quickly moved to an adjacent room.

Decor is modern and room size adequate (slightly tight with rollaway) however felt that it needed a real good vacuum and deep clean in bathroom...however stayed in a lot worse.

Staff at front desk, bar and restaurant were fantastic, offering my daughter a mince pie and Santa hat.

So if housekeeping can catch up with rest of team the hotel would have got a strong 4 rating, but sticking to a week 4 given a competitive price for central London.

Meal in restaurant nicely presented, well cooked and willing to make a menu adjustment again at a reasonable price.

Recommend a stay but bring slippers so you don't have to walk on the bedroom carpet.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TexasMcK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMthistle, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review Thistle Kensington Gardens. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and the team at the hotel looked after you and your daughter. Thanks also for your understanding on the room, the maintenance team unfortunately hadn't updated the room status whilst they were completing some minor repairs. I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best Regards. Billy & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2012

Have reviewed previously and nothing much changed!
Slow check in but thoughtful in that there was a function in the hotel, so I was given a room on an upper floor so that I wasn't disturbed.
Pillows were horrendous, very personal but stopped me getting good nights sleep
Car Park very useful.
This hotel offers great value.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arthurh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMthistle, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review Thistle Kensington Gardens and for your positive comments about the hotel providing great value. We have various pillow options on request at reception should you require this on a future visit. I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best Regards. Billy & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Kensington and Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
#409 of 1,072 in London
899 reviews
Notting Hill
Hilton London Hyde Park
Hilton London Hyde Park
#378 of 1,072 in London
392 reviews
Notting Hill
DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notting Hill
Grand Royale London Hyde Park
The Westbourne Hyde Park
#112 of 1,072 in London
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle Kensington Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Kensington Gardens

Address: 104 Bayswater Road | Hyde park, London W2 3HL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#172 Business Hotel in London
#189 Family Hotel in London
#210 Romantic Hotel in London
#220 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £108 - £244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Kensington Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly refurbished modern hotel located on Bayswater Road with the tranquility of Hyde Park and Kensington Gardens opposite, and within walking distance to Paddington, Oxford Street, Kensington, Notting Hill and Edgware Road, the hotel is ideally placed for business or leisure. Good transport links ensure that the city and theatres are also within very easy reach. All Deluxe and Executive bedrooms are located at the front of the hotel and have amazing views over Kensington Gardens and are available at a supplement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Thistle Kensington Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Kensington Gardens London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing