We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thistle Kensington Gardens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Thistle Kensington Gardens
Ranked #301 of 1,087 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights for a romantic retreat, and I could not fault it! Every member of staff we met were so friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The room was beautiful with a fantastic shower! The location is also excellent, Oxford street just a 15 minute walk, and Knightsbridge just across Kensington Gardens. Cannot recommend this hotel enough. Excellent!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMthistle, Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review, 4 March 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Thistle Kensington Garden. I am pleased that you found the hotel location so convenient and that the team delivered their typical friendly and efficient service to help you enjoy your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future. Kind regards Marianne & the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,839 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    744
    782
    242
    48
    23
See reviews for
400
753
66
265
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (499)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2013

We stayed at hotel for 4 nights and enjoyed the courteous service, fine restaurant, and the relaxing location across from Hyde Park. It was a real delight to unwind from a busy day with a peaceful walk in the quiet lush park. Room was large for two and staff was always willing and available for any need. Hotel is well situated to the metro and bus lines. We took taxis to save time.

Room Tip: Upper rooms facing Hyde Park are nice but you'll get some street noises with the windows open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMthistle, Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review, 4 March 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Thistle Kensington Garden. I am pleased that you found the hotel location so convenient and that the team delivered their typical friendly and efficient service to help you enjoy your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future. Kind regards Marianne & the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2013

This hotel is very handy for west end shopping, theatre's etc. it very good hotel at reasonable price. my self and friend stayed in twin room for one night as we were flying from Heathrow the next day. we regulary visit London for pleasure trips and stayed in many hotels and found this to be one of the best.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GLW19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMthistle, Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review, 4 March 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Thistle Kensington Garden. I am pleased that you found the hotel location so convenient and enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future. Kind regards Marianne & the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights on our way back to Australia and loved it. On checking in we were offered (for a small increase in the room rate) a junior suite instead of the family room that we had originally booked as we had a large amount of luggage. The room was fantastic with views over Hyde Park from one side and the London skyline towards the London Eye from the other window.
The room was really modern, very clean and comfortable. The hotel itself is ideally placed for public transport and the double decker bus tours stop right outside.
All the staff were very friendly and helpful, especially reception and concierge.
We will definitely stay here again when we re-visit London.

Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank cliveyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMthistle, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review, 21 February 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review Thistle Kensington Gardens, and for your positive comments about your experience of your two nights with us. I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best Regards. Billy & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

This hotel is not much to look at from outside but is an amazing place to stay in London. Great location, rooms of a very high standard and great staff. We had a deluxe suite and had the most amazing 8th floor view of London. Also had a surprise complimentary birthday cake to welcome me in our room when checking in. There is also a 24 hour waitrose beneath the hotel which is handy. The only let down we're the very very plump pillows which I was unable to sleep on- but that is just nit-picking.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KrishShatel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMthistle, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review, 19 February 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review Thistle Kensington Gardens. Nit- picking is ok! We have a selection of pillows should you wish to change next time you stay. I look forward to welcoming you back. Best Regards. Billy & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

Chose this hotel for its location as part of a rail/hotel package short break. From the time we arrived, nothing seemed too much trouble for the staff who were, without exception, friendly, professional and attentive. We had a free upgrade of room overlooking Kensington Gardens. It was pleasant and spotlessly clean. The hotel's decor was bright, fresh and calm. Although Bayswater Rd is busy we hardly heard the traffic. The location is good, close to Central Line Tube and convenience shops.
The breakfast was excellent and there were plenty of staff on duty. All in all it was one of the nicest hotels I've stayed in, including much more expensive ones. I'd certainly stay again and recommend it highly.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 16marigold116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMthistle, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review, 19 February 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review Thistle Kensington Gardens, and for your recommendation. I look forward to welcoming you back. Best Regards. Billy & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

I stayed her with my family for 4 nights in July 2012, and we picked the hotel because of location, and price. We were not dissapointed, the hotel was clean, and the rooms nicely decorated and functioned well in every ways.
One day we went to eat breakfast at the hotel we discovered that breakfast was included!! I don't know why we were not informed about it, but glad we discoverde it for the two last mornings because it was a nice breakfast.
The last day we ordered a meal from the bar menu, as we waited to leave for our flight home, and that food was lovely as well.
I think this hotel was a perfect hotel for a familiy-group going for most activity away from the hotel day time, knowing you had a nice place to return in the nights. I would not have stayed there for a romantic getaway for instance!
But as I started, nice and clean :-)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMthistle, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review, 19 February 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review Thistle Kensington Gardens. I am delighted you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to welcoming you back. Best Regards. Billy & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Kensington and Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
#347 of 1,087 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
Notting Hill
Grand Royale London Hyde Park
Notting Hill
DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paddington / Maida Vale
Park Grand Paddington Court
Park Grand Paddington Court
#199 of 1,087 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
Notting Hill
Hilton London Hyde Park
Hilton London Hyde Park
#418 of 1,087 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle Kensington Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Kensington Gardens

Property: Thistle Kensington Gardens
Address: 104 Bayswater Road, London W2 3HL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#172 Business Hotel in London
#189 Family Hotel in London
#210 Romantic Hotel in London
#220 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Kensington Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly refurbished modern hotel located on Bayswater Road with the tranquility of Hyde Park and Kensington Gardens opposite, and within walking distance to Paddington, Oxford Street, Kensington, Notting Hill and Edgware Road, the hotel is ideally placed for business or leisure. Good transport links ensure that the city and theatres are also within very easy reach. All Deluxe and Executive bedrooms are located at the front of the hotel and have amazing views over Kensington Gardens and are available at a supplement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotelopia and Odigeo so you can book your Thistle Kensington Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Kensington Gardens London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing