We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location and cosy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Thistle Kensington Gardens
Ranked #302 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Location was perfect as it was a short walk (5-10 minutes) to Queensway and Bayswater tube, as well as eateries. It is true that the hotel is right next to a petrol station, but we didn't face any fume issues. Waitrose (convenient store) is attached to the petrol station, so it is quite handy if you want to get some snacks and water. We had a room overseeing the Hype Park, an added bonus for us. Comfortable bed, clean room but the corridor carpet did have a lingering cigarette smell though we were at the non-smoking floor. Breakfast was just ok - decent, nothing to shout about.

Room Tip: Queensway tube station does not have lift, so it may be something you want to consider if you have b...
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fay0108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_KGN, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Dear fay0108,

Thank you for your review. We are quite conveniently located next to a 24 Waitrose which is great if you need any last minute amenities or snacks – any time of the day! The entire hotel is non-smoking, so I will definitely look into your comments reference the cigarette smell. Thanks again for your review of Thistle Kensington Gardens. Kind regards - Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,976)
There are newer reviews for Thistle Kensington Gardens
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,156 - 1,162 of 1,976 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2013 via mobile

This was the first time I stayed in a hotel overseas alone and was feeling nervous but once I arrived I was instantly impressed with the location and comfort of the room. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and I felt safe the entire time which was important for me. Close to a few tube stops and right across the road from Hyde park. Will definitely stay here again on my next visit!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marissa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_KGN, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Dear Marissa G,

Thanks for your review of Thistle Kensington Gardens, I am pleased to know you found the hotel perfect for your needs. Our location is great – close to everything you need – and I’m delighted the staff helped you feel relaxed during your stay. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit. Kind regards - Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Short walking distance to Queensway & Bayswater Tube station. Small rooms (by US standards). Modern, relatively clean (check the mattress pad though), attentive housekeeping, though smelled a linger of cigarette smoke in the hallway. Food options are ok, could be better. Great view overlooking Hyde Park.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank forlornflo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_KGN, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Dear forlornflo,

Thank you for your review of Thistle Kensington Gardens. I hope we can welcome you back soon. Kind regards - Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We booked this hotel room for our family of 4 almost a year in advance and got the "end of the summer" rate that was offered even though we were booking it for the following summer, so we got an excellent rate. The room was much bigger than we expected and was the perfect place to adjust to jetlag after our flight. Beds were comfortable. Views were fantastic over the park and to the city! The room was very clean. Good Wifi service. Nice that there were 2 TVs - one for us and another in the children's room. The Waitrose downstairs was helpful - we were able to pick up fresh fruit, juice, and breakfast items to have with our tea in the morning, and sandwiches when we needed them. The location was very good. Kensington Garden across the street has the lovely Diana Memorial playground and we walked to Notting Hill and several restaurants in the neighborhood. The Hop On/Off busses stopped right outside (there are 2 bus companies to choose from) and brought us back at the end of the day. We would absolutely stay there again. The staff was friendly and let us into our room early. Room was fresh & clean and very spacious. It made for a wonderful stay in London.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank easthamptontraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_KGN, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Dear easthamptontraveler,

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Thistle Kensington Gardens – thank you for leaving such a detailed review regarding your room, our great location and the service you received from the team. It’s pleasing to read that you would absolutely stay here again – we would absolutely look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards - Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Stayed here in December 2012. Being such a busy month in London it has perfectly reasonable prices.

The rooms were brand new, had everything you needed, although small. But so is any hotel room in the world. Very clean.

Didn't book on BB basis and always ate outside, so can't comment on food. Just 100m way from a tube station and has a 24/7 supermarket at the gas station at the basement. Strongly recommend it.

Room Tip: Choose a front room or get the parking lot as a view if you get a room at the back.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Arkanoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_KGN, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Dear Arkanoid,

Thanks for your kind review of Thistle Kensington Gardens. I am glad you found everything you needed during your visit to London and the hotel was perfect for your needs. I hope we can welcome you back soon. Kind regards - Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a couple of nights.

Room and general hotel was recently refurbished to a high standard (just finishing off the lifts). Room was clean and comfortable. Not massive but big enough. Very good shower (you will hum the tune to "the good the bad and the ugly" when you exit the bathroom! ) Nicely air conditioned with a flat screen TV. Our room, 418 overlooked the rear of the hotel which was the car park below and the back of the houses and gardens nearby.

We didn't eat during the evening but the breakfast was of a very high standard.

There is a Waitrose convenience store underneath as part of the petrol station. Several of the "hop on hop off" bus tours stop outside, ours "the big bus company" did.

Queensway is the nearest tube. Come out of the station, turn right towards the park, turn left and 100 yards to hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank proffitt76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_KGN, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Dear proffitt76,

Thank you for your review of Thistle Kensington Gardens. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards - Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We booked with Omega Travel for a weekend theatre break.The hotel was perfectly situated for shopping in Oxford Street, the theatre and Buckingham Palace. We received a pleasant welcome from the start by the concierge and the receptionist, our room was available. The room was small but adequate for a weekend break, if we had taken more luggage it would have been difficult,.The safe was not working but a maintenance man soon solved the problem, The concierge was very helpful telling us which number buses we needed to take to reach our destinations. The breakfast was excellent., such shame we had to rush through! .We would certainly recommend this hotel and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SMRHBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_KGN, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013

Dear SMRHBoston,

Thank you for your review of Thistle Kensington Gardens. I was really pleased to read your review and that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. I hope we can welcome you back in the future. Kind regards - Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Kensington and Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
#409 of 1,072 in London
899 reviews
Notting Hill
Hilton London Hyde Park
Hilton London Hyde Park
#378 of 1,072 in London
392 reviews
Notting Hill
DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notting Hill
Grand Royale London Hyde Park
The Westbourne Hyde Park
#112 of 1,072 in London
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle Kensington Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Kensington Gardens

Address: 104 Bayswater Road | Hyde park, London W2 3HL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#172 Business Hotel in London
#189 Family Hotel in London
#210 Romantic Hotel in London
#220 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £108 - £244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Kensington Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly refurbished modern hotel located on Bayswater Road with the tranquility of Hyde Park and Kensington Gardens opposite, and within walking distance to Paddington, Oxford Street, Kensington, Notting Hill and Edgware Road, the hotel is ideally placed for business or leisure. Good transport links ensure that the city and theatres are also within very easy reach. All Deluxe and Executive bedrooms are located at the front of the hotel and have amazing views over Kensington Gardens and are available at a supplement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Lastminute, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Thistle Kensington Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Kensington Gardens London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing