We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Thistle Kensington Gardens
Ranked #295 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great stay”
Reviewed 14 December 2013

I stayed at the thistle for 1 night and was completely satisfied. The hotel is less than a 2 minute walk from the station so conveniently located. I was offered a complimentary room upgrade upon arrival and the staff were extremely attentive. I had a great stay and would definitely stay there again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhe4_36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_KGN, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear rhe4_36,
I was really pleased to read your review of the hotel and sincerely hope we get the chance to welcome you back in the future for another great stay! Kind regards - Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,905 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    778
    811
    244
    49
    23
See reviews for
417
774
67
274
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (515)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Stayed at the Thistle for 1 night on a business trip
Location is pretty good. Easy to get there by tube and 2 minutes walk. Don't get confused when you see the gas station. The hotel entrance is just around the corner.

Service at Check In and Check Out was very good. (Thanks Tina)

Rooms are average regarding size. Would be considered small in many places but hey, we are in London.

Interior average to good. Nothing to complain about but nothing to write home about either
Bathroom pretty nice. So total vote would be good - very good at a reasonable price when I stayed there.

As already mentinoned the location is really nice. Not noisy at all and still you have many restaurants and bars literally around the corner.

Would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernd R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_KGN, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear Bernd R,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Thistle Kensington Gardens and for sharing your experiences. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and would choose to return. I have also shared your feedback with Tina who is really pleased to get recognised in this way. I hope we see you again in the hotel very soon. Kind regards – Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 December 2013

I stayed at the thistle in kensington gardens recently as I was on a course in London. The hotel is located in a great area, not too far from the tube, so access to the rest of the city is easy. The staff at the hotel really made me feel welcome as I spent 7 nights at the hotel. Orianna Dias in particular personified excellent, friendly customer service. She was there almost every night and always greeted me with a smile and asked about my day as well as providing me with what I required to eat or drink. The food was good, a noce variety of different dishes in the evening and a fupl buffet to choose from for breakfast in the morning.
The rooms are a little small but that was ok as I was only really using the room to sleep in. The power shower was excellent and very refreshing.
I would recommend this hotel to stay at because of the service and the location.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aran2588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_KGN, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear aran2588,
Thank you for your positive comments and review of your experiences of Thistle Kensington Gardens. It was a pleasure to read your comments about the team and in particular Oriana, who was delighted to receive such praise. I hope you will get to experience the service and location of our hotel in the very near future. Kind regards - Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
311 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

First sight of the Thistle Kensington Gardens is awful, it sits above a shell garage on the Bayswater Road with the small entrance down a side road but the hotel turns out to be rather good. The rooms are very small but nicely furnished with very modern and stylish bathrooms. The location of the hotel is great with a bus stop very close and Queensway just on the doorstop. What makes the hotel above average is the staff, very friendly and efficient and I found the restaurant staff at breakfast partially so. Unlike some London hotels the price of a room won’t break the bank and from the ninth floor the view across Kensington Gardens is spectacular.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel have the views but the lower floors have some traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RFaserH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_KGN, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear RFaserH,

Thank you for your recent review and comments regarding the hotel and the team. I am pleased you enjoyed the service you received and the impressive views over Hyde Park and Kensington Gardens. So really, regardless of what the hotel looks like from the outside, once inside it’s a great place to relax and enjoy the wonderful views! Thanks again for your review. Kind regards - Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

I stay in Thistle Kensington Gardens whenever I am in London. The rooms are spacious considering central London standards. The location is excellent. Nothing like a walk in the Hyde Park in the morning. The staff is excellent and extremely caring and helpful. Great place to stay on Business as well as with family leisure. Breakfast is great too.

Room Tip: Choose Park facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ndcdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_KGN, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear ndcdad,

Thank you for being such a loyal guest and staying with us whenever you are in London. And thank you for sharing your experiences of Thistle Kensington Gardens. I sincerely hope to get the opportunity to meet you next time you stay, so please contact me directly at the hotel. Thanks again for your review. Kind regards - Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

I just got home today after spending a week at your hotel with my daughter. I would certainly choose your hotel again the next time I go to London. The staff was efficient, welcoming and friendly. I received excellent service the whole time in ever area of the hotel.

Our first night we ordered room service and the food was great and arrived quickly. We also went to the lobby bar one night and had breakfast one morning and in all cases the service was great.

The hotel location is a huge plus, located on a main street for taxi and bus service and very close to two tube stops. Even though the hotel is located on a busy street the rooms were quiet.

The rooms were very comfortable, great beds and pillows, wonderful shower, and the large window with unobstructed park views was the best part! Also, having free accessible strong wifi was a HUGE plus! The only drawback, as mentioned in other reviews, was having only one of 3 elevators in operation. We were on the 8th floor and just took the stairs, which was fine. Only arriving and departing with our suitcases was this more of a problem.

I really enjoyed my week at your hotel and look forward to going back again!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank SCuriel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_KGN, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear SCuriel,

Thank you for your great review of your experiences at Thistle Kensington Gardens and for highlighting our great location, wonderful views of Hyde Park and the fantastic service received from the team. Free WIFI is expected everywhere now, and we’re proud to offer it fast and free. I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back! Thanks again for your review. Kind regards – Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We had a very nice weekend at Thistle Hotel Kensington Gardens inn London. It was a very nice view over Hyde Park, making it a wonderful location, and at a very reasonable price traveling with the VING travelagency from Norway.
The breakfastbuffet was very good and full of hot and cold food. My grandchild at 14 years old, was so happy to get Glutenfritt bread for breakfast, because not every hotel have Glutenfritt bread for their gests. The staff was very friendly and especially Alamin and Rebeka. We would likw to stay there again some time.

Room Tip: we liked nr 417, but we did not see some of the other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Halldis2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_KGN, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear Halldis2013,

I was delighted to read your 5 star review of Thistle Kensington Gardens and in particular your special praise for the service delivered by Rebeka and Al-Amin. They are both really pleased to receive such positive feedback. Thanks for your review and for sharing your experiences, and hopefully we can welcome you back the next time you visit London. Kind regards - Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Kensington and Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
#364 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
Notting Hill
Grand Royale London Hyde Park
Notting Hill
DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notting Hill
Hilton London Hyde Park
Hilton London Hyde Park
#383 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Park Grand Paddington Court
Park Grand Paddington Court
#204 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle Kensington Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Kensington Gardens

Property: Thistle Kensington Gardens
Address: 104 Bayswater Road | Hyde park, London W2 3HL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#172 Business Hotel in London
#189 Family Hotel in London
#210 Romantic Hotel in London
#217 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Kensington Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly refurbished modern hotel located on Bayswater Road with the tranquility of Hyde Park and Kensington Gardens opposite, and within walking distance to Paddington, Oxford Street, Kensington, Notting Hill and Edgware Road, the hotel is ideally placed for business or leisure. Good transport links ensure that the city and theatres are also within very easy reach. All Deluxe and Executive bedrooms are located at the front of the hotel and have amazing views over Kensington Gardens and are available at a supplement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thistle Kensington Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Kensington Gardens London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing