We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend Hotel & Theatre Break in London” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thistle Kensington Gardens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Thistle Kensington Gardens
Ranked #301 of 1,087 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Derby
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Weekend Hotel & Theatre Break in London”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

We usually book a break through a company such as Omega Holidays but couldn't find a suitable package this time. Booked the theatre and hotel separately and actually saved a little money. This is the 3rd time we have stayed at this hotel and we really like it. It is very comfortable, it is well located on Bayswater Road and the staff are excellent- very courteous, obliging and efficient. We walked from the hotel all along Oxford Street and through to Covent Garden on day 2. We caught the Tube into Covent Garden the previous day- some might not know that , if you take your car into London and park at the right place (Chinatown car park is particularly convenient) and you are going to the theatre, presenting your ticket at the theatre will get you 50% off car parking charges. We went to see The Bodyguard- I'm not a huge Whitney Houston fan but really enjoyed this- Beverley Knight is in it at the moment and this role is right up her street. The audience loved it- standing ovation everywhere

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DenisBDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_KGN, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear DenisBDerby,

We really appreciate your loyalty in choosing us for a third visit and for you taking the time to review your stay. Some great tips about our location and things to do when you’re in town – very much appreciated! I hope we can welcome you back for a fourth time! Kind regards - Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,839 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    744
    782
    242
    48
    23
See reviews for
400
753
66
265
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (499)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottery St. Mary, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

Perfectly pleasant hotel, staff friendly, one gentleman at reception in particular very conversational and helpful. Breakfast better than average. Room smaller than expected but not so small to be an issue. Free wifi is a welcome improvement to these hotel offerings

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_KGN, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Mark B,

Thanks for your review of Thistle Kensington Gardens, I am glad we met your expectations and hope we can continue to do so. Fast free wifi is as important as a good nights sleep – and we supply both! Kind regards - Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

This is our 2nd visit to this hotel and both times we have been highly satisfied. Ideal location,efficient friendly staff,clean modern rooms and an excellent breakfast - why look for anywhere else?This hotel is certainly a gem.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Evenhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_KGN, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Evenhome,

Thanks for your review – It’s great to hear that we tick all of your boxes and that we are exactly what you are looking for in a hotel. I appreciate you sharing your experiences; I hope we see you again soon for visit number 3. Kind regards - Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

After having my stay previously paid for I looked forward to the weekend away. However the following morning I had the whole amount for the stay deducted from my bank account, after being told different stories as to why and when my money was going to be returned to me I am still sat waiting for the funds. Now a week after my stay. I was offered no funds to get me through the weekend after my budget had been wrongly taken. Overall ruined my stay. Standard rooms were small.

Room Tip: Standards are small, deluxe was better in size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swaffham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

The staff were absolutely superb from reception, to bar staff to restaurant staff. I have to give special mention to Oriana, Kasia and Dalma in the restaurant where we had evening meal on our last night. There was a slight problem because the food was a bit slow in coming. This is normally no problem for us but we had an evening show and the dessert took 25 minutes to arrive. It was delicious however (banana fritter) and the staff dealt with the delay perfectly. The meal was excellent, as was breakfast each day. However, I must give an extra special mention to Villo in the bar/restaurant. My wife and I arrived Friday afternoon on a celebration weekend for my 65th birthday. My daughter had arrived as a surprise and Villo played her part in the surprise and throughout our stay was a delightful hostess. Her genuine interest in making our visit special was a delight. I should say that I am not easy to please but this visit was perfectly provided by the Thistle Hotel. On our last night there was a problem with the window seal in our room which was breached by the exceptional weather. Even this did not spoil our visit as the reception staff insisted on moving us to a nearby superior room without fuss or inconvenience. The rooms are modern, clean and comfortable. This hotel will certainly be towards the top of our list when we visit London again.

Room Tip: The standard rooms are just about big enough, certainly for a couple of nights. They have good facil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 871Martin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_KGN, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear 871Martin,

Thank you for your review of Thistle Kensington Gardens and in particular for highlighting the service received from the team in the restaurant. On many occasions it really is the people that make the difference to the experience, and I am delighted you have taken the time to recognise this in Kasia, Oriana, Villo and Dalma. They are all equally pleased that they could have such an impact on your stay with us. Please contact me directly when you are next looking to stay in London – it would be a pleasure to welcome you back. Kind regards - Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

Stayed over night this week for a reunion. The room was very clean and comfortable with all the things you'd expect. Breakfast was as good as you'll get. More to choose from than is "good for you" the location across from the park added to the visit. Like to mention Anna at the reception who was friendly and helpful making it a "go back too destination"

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dai H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_KGN, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Dear Dai H,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on the hotel and for highlighting, in particular, the service you received from Anna – I know she is delighted to have been recognised in this way. I am pleased you enjoyed our new breakfast, it is indeed very tempting to not just have the healthy options! A run around Hyde Park, directly opposite, can always offset that! I hope you do get the chance to come back to us, thanks again for your review. Kind regards - Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

Stayed at Thistle Kensington Gardens for 2 weeks over Christmas. Very comfortable room, modern and clean with a nice park view. The staff were very friendly, attentive and welcoming, particularly in the Brasserie. Kevin, Daryl and Oriana provided excellent service and made me feel at home. Had a fantastic Christmas lunch and the breakfast was great. Reception staff and the concierge, Eric, were also very helpful during my stay. A great hotel and ideally located. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_KGN, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Dear Lorraine B,

I was delighted to read your 5 star review of Thistle Kensington Gardens having stayed with us during your recent Christmas break. The team are thrilled to receive such feedback and pleased that they helped to enhance this occasion for you. I hope we get to welcome you back to the hotel when you are next in London. Thanks again for your review. Kind regards - Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Kensington and Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
#347 of 1,087 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
Notting Hill
Grand Royale London Hyde Park
Notting Hill
DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paddington / Maida Vale
Park Grand Paddington Court
Park Grand Paddington Court
#199 of 1,087 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
Notting Hill
Hilton London Hyde Park
Hilton London Hyde Park
#418 of 1,087 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle Kensington Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Kensington Gardens

Property: Thistle Kensington Gardens
Address: 104 Bayswater Road, London W2 3HL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#172 Business Hotel in London
#189 Family Hotel in London
#210 Romantic Hotel in London
#220 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Kensington Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly refurbished modern hotel located on Bayswater Road with the tranquility of Hyde Park and Kensington Gardens opposite, and within walking distance to Paddington, Oxford Street, Kensington, Notting Hill and Edgware Road, the hotel is ideally placed for business or leisure. Good transport links ensure that the city and theatres are also within very easy reach. All Deluxe and Executive bedrooms are located at the front of the hotel and have amazing views over Kensington Gardens and are available at a supplement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Hotelopia so you can book your Thistle Kensington Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Kensington Gardens London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing