We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Thistle Kensington Gardens
Ranked #314 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 February 2014

I have stayed in this hotel a few times over the last couple of months and it has always been good.
The rooms are functional if not large, but well fitted out. Free wifi is OK, but not quite as good as the hotel claims it to be. Breakfast is a but hit and miss. Good on the continental side, not so good on the cooked breakfast front.

Only downsides I have found so far are : -

No baths in any of the rooms I have stayed in
A bit tight on space if you need to use the desk as I am doing now
PAT testing has expired on all elecrical items in all the rooms I have stayed in
No reading light by the bed
Poor selection of TV channels and no 'guide' on the TV

Good points are : -
Socket on both sides of the bed to charge phone
Large shower
Waitrose underneith
Staff are always very nice
Hotel & rooms have always been clean
Curtains that keep out the light

Room Tip: I have only stayed in rooms on the back of the hotel, and they have always been quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimonHollis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_KGN, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear pegmosaic,

Thank you for your in depth review of your stay at Thistle Kensington Gardens. I have shared your feedback with the team in order to review and improve where needed. We are required to have PAT testing completed annually, and I am currently reviewing all items to ensure they are all captured during this process. Thank you for your positive comments and hopefully we will get the chance to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards - Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,046)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,125 - 1,131 of 2,046 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2014

We stayed here for the Valentine's weekend. Our train came into Paddington station and it was a short 10-15 minute stroll to the hotel. The hotel is also located just two minutes from the nearest tube station.

The room was perfectly adequate. It had every thing we needed and was clean and well presented. Breakfast was included in our booking. I enjoyed it - simple and straightforward but all cooked well and decent quality fare. Set us up for the day.

All the staff were great and nothing is too much trouble for them.

We would definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dean_alice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_KGN, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear dean_alice,

Thank you for your 5 star review of Thistle Kensington Gardens. It is great to read such positive feedback and share with the team. Thanks again for your review. Kind regards - Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We have just got back from our 40th Anniversary weekend in London. I booked the Thistle Kensington gardens as I had stayed there on business before and its a good location. We were very well treated from arrival to departure, starting with complementary tea because our room was not available on arrival, this continued with complementary glasses of Preseco to celebrate our anniversary with our evening meal which was unexpected but very much appreciated. All the staff were friendly and helpful, in particular Oriana and Dalma who welcomed us and served us on both nights in the restaurant. The hotel has been refurbished but the only down side was that despite this the bedroom furniture was a little worn and although clean the carpet in our room was stained. The buffet breakfast was good,with plenty of choice and available until 11:00 on the Sunday which is unusual. Overall we were very satisfied with our stay and will book again next time we stay in London.

Room Tip: I know from past experience the standard doubles are small, so book a deluxe or executive room its w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ukc802875219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_KGN, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear ukc802875219,

Firstly, congratulations on your recent 40th Wedding Anniversary, I am delighted you chose to stay with us for this important occasion and equally delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for highlighting the service received by Dalma and Oriana, they are really pleased to be able to contribute to such a special occasion. Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel when you are next in London. Kind regards - Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

I had bought an Amazon Local voucher for a two course dinner. Sometimes big hotel chain restaurants lack the the atmosphere of independents. However on this occasion this was proved wrong. The food was good the wine good, and reasonably priced, but what really made the difference were the staff. Our waitress Oriana was brilliant, not just to us, but with all the diners. A lovely smile, attention to detail on service, a sense that she enjoyed her job and a feeling that she wanted people to enjoy their evening out - and thanks to her we did.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_KGN, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear David C,

Thank you for your review of your recent dining experience at Thistle Kensington Gardens. I am delighted you took the time to share this and for recognising Oriana for the outstanding service she delivered. I hope we can welcome you back soon. Kind regards - Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Me & my boyfriend stayed for one night over Valentines weekend, I had booked a standard double, however when we got to our room I found it to be very small and was a little claustrophobic. I called reception and asked for a room upgrade to an executive double. As it wasn't too expensive, we agreed and it was definately worth it. The executive was considerably bigger and with a huge bed, however the bed was made up of 2 twins which I found annoying and mentioned this to a member of staff who told me it would be made up into a double, which was just pushing the beds together & putting one big duvet on- I found this a little annoying but seeing as I hadnt booked that room originally I didnt mind too much. The heating in the room seemed to be broken as there were two freestanding heaters in the room which was another minor issue but I wasnt too fussed as we were only staying the one night. The bed was nice and comfy and the staff were really friendly and helpful, the windows were really good and we could not hear any noise from the road. One thing that I did find inconvienient was that there was no minibar and if you wanted anything to drink you had to order room service which you are charged £5 for everytime you order. I know there are usually charges in hotels but this seemed pretty expensive and unreasonable, therefore I decided to go without and not use room service at all. The buffet breakfast was really good, alot of choice and really friendly staff, I also liked that on weekends breakfast was available until 11. Our invoice was posted under our door in the morning and included a charge of £16 for parking despite us not even having a car so I was a bit annoyed with this, but reception corrected it straight away so again just a minor niggle. We also decided to extend our checkout by 3 hours and were given the first hour complimentary which was really nice. I did like the hotel but little problems have made me hesitant to book again, however really nice staff, breakfast and in a handy location.

Room Tip: park view rooms are the best :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emwilcox89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_KGN, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear emwilcox89,

Thank you for your very detailed review of Thistle Kensington Gardens. Your level of feedback is really important to me as it allows us as a team to really understand what is impacting our guests and make sure we take the necessary actions to correct this. Thank you for your positive comments of the team and your enjoyment of the Executive Room and breakfast. I do hope we get the chance to welcome you back in the future. Thanks again for your review. Kind regards - Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

First time at Thistle Kensington Gardens, but I be back. Thats for sure. Very good rooms, airconditions, nice bath and very friendly staff.
I had problems with aircondition in my room the first evening. Was fixed in less than 5 min.
Very good restaurant with friendly and nice staff. I would like to thank Oriana for a nice service. Feel very at home and its very calm and quiet here.
Absolut recomend it. I be back !

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jovik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_KGN, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear Jovik,

We really appreciate you taking the time to share your experiences of Thistle Kensington Gardens and for highlighting Oriana for the service she delivered to you during your stay. It is very pleasing to hear that we made you feel at home and that you will definitely return! Thanks for your review – and we hope to see you soon. Kind regards - Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Stayed here for a weekend theatre break. Nothing to much trouble for the attentive staff.Young Paul who was behind the bar on our late return typified the nothing is to much trouble for our guests attitude.Will definitely visit again

Room Tip: Top floor rooms have a superb view of the London skyline
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_KGN, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Dear Anthony T,

Your review was very pleasing to read, and thank you for especially highlighting Paul regarding the attentive service you received. Thanks for your review. Kind regards - Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Kensington and Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
#451 of 1,077 in London
919 reviews
Notting Hill
Grand Royale London Hyde Park
Blakemore Hyde Park
#313 of 1,077 in London
1,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notting Hill
DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park
Notting Hill
Hilton London Hyde Park
Hilton London Hyde Park
#378 of 1,077 in London
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle Kensington Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Kensington Gardens

Address: 104 Bayswater Road | Hyde park, London W2 3HL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#172 Business Hotel in London
#210 Romantic Hotel in London
#224 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £99 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Kensington Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly refurbished modern hotel located on Bayswater Road with the tranquility of Hyde Park and Kensington Gardens opposite, and within walking distance to Paddington, Oxford Street, Kensington, Notting Hill and Edgware Road, the hotel is ideally placed for business or leisure. Good transport links ensure that the city and theatres are also within very easy reach. All Deluxe and Executive bedrooms are located at the front of the hotel and have amazing views over Kensington Gardens and are available at a supplement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Lastminute, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Thistle Kensington Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Kensington Gardens London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing