We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Thistle Kensington Gardens
Ranked #289 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Tewkesbury, Glos
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, good location”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

My stay with a friend was back in Feb this year so sorry it's late! At the time the UK had awful storms and some of the trains were not running due to damage to the tracks. I phoned the hotel and advised that we may not be able to travel and if necessary could we change our booking. Unfortunately I left the house before getting the message from the hotel as we did manage to find a train that was running!
When we arrived at the hotel the receptionist was really welcoming. She advised she had left me a message and that in the circumstances we could have changed our booking. As we had managed to make it, we were upgraded to a deluxe room, overlooking Kensington Park.
This room was very nice, good size and very clean. The only downside was that you could hear the traffic which continued most of the night, but this is not the hotel's fault.
Breakfast was included in our room rate and it was very nice. Again, we were welcomed to the breakfast area. There was lots of choice from the buffet, freshly cooked and stocked up.
The hotel is in a good location - Queensway tube is about 5 mins walk away. Lots of restaurants nearby. Kensington Park is lovely, especially on a sunny Sunday morning.
I would stay at this hotel again if back in London.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemma06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,927 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    785
    823
    245
    51
    23
See reviews for
422
785
69
277
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (517)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I booked thru Orbitz when they were having a % off sale! Coming from the U.S. we got a
Decent rate for our dollars. We had an immediate confirmation and checked in without any
Problems. The Hotel was great. Very clean and extremely comfortable sleeping conditions.
We didn't have a view, but we had QUIET! The staff couldn't have been nicer, accommodating
Whenever we needed help or just a question. We arrived early in the morning and were immediately able to get into our room, have a nice cup of tea, and start our adventure!
We were about two blocks from the underground and numerous restaurants and shops just around the corner. Excellent location!

Room Tip: We had the standard double, was a little cramped for two but ok for the amount of time we spent in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Rooms very 1970's; need updating. Having said that very clean & staff very polite and professional. Room looked out at back of Hotel so we didn't have much of a view. Breakfast was well worth getting up for & made up for most of the disappointment. Only paid £121;which makes it reasonable value for money. Would not pay full asking price!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rob s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Thistle Kensington Gardens to celebrate my husbands birthday. We were able to check in early and greet with a free upgraded room over looking Hyde Park.I with early check in to our deluxe room overlooking Hyde park. We started our full day visiting the sights in London to return to our room early evening to be surprised with a personally hand written card and surprise birthday cake!! Unfortunately the air con did not work so we had to open the window the road out side was extremely busy so very noisy. The following morning we enjoyed breakfast in the Brasserie. We were promptly shown to a table and asked our tea/coffee requests before being shown to the breakfast buffet. Thanks to all the staff, we had a lovely over night stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichelleAJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

My husband and myself recently stayed at the Thistle Kensington Gardens to celebrate both our birthdays, my husbands being his 50th! As we had a fun packed 2 day schedule with an early start, an early check in and late check out were requested. It was with much professionalism that we were met at the hotel and immediately provided with early check in to our deluxe room overlooking Hyde park. Whilst the rooms are small (as they all appear to be in London) the cleanliness was impeccable. We started our full day visiting the sights in London to return to our room early evening to be surprised with a personally hand written message, along with the yummiest surprise birthday cake!! After enjoying a peaceful nights sleep, no noise despite being above a garage and next to a busy main road, we arose to a lovely hot shower and went to enjoy breakfast in the Brasserie. We were promptly shown to a table and asked our beverage requests before being shown to the breakfast buffet. There was more than you could imagine to wish for at breakfast and all the food was of the highest standard and piping hot. We were yet again surprised by glasses of champagne and strawberries. The special touches were really personal and made us both feel really special. Thanks to all the staff, we certainly had a lovely couple of days with you. Cannot praise you enough, only one slight complaint, rooms were a little too hot and air condition system wasn't the best. Apart from that 5 stars all the way.

Room Tip: High rooms shows the tops of trees, maybe request mid room floor to see through the trees to the par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Julie_B8965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

we had afternoon tea booked for us so we decided to book in overnight instead of rushing home after. the afternoon tea was fine, not loads of it but enough, our room was spotless and comfortable, the staff very helpful and polite and breakfast very good, would definitely stay again

Room Tip: we were on 5th floor and it was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KentOzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Thistle is my favourite place to stay, the staff are always so friendly and welcoming, they always recognise me and make my stay very comfortable. the rooms are always of a very high standard, they are stylish, modern and very clean! i normally get room service, the food is delicious and a great menu to choose from and they have Ben and jerry ice cream which is just amazing!!. also the little things that count such as plug sockets by the bed, large mugs for tea, a private car park, you get a crunchie on a friday... i live in hotels during the week so the thistle hotel is one of the best Hotels in the country

Room Tip: top floor...you get a good view of the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Saralovescake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Kensington and Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
#363 of 1,067 in London
884 reviews
Notting Hill
DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park
Notting Hill
Grand Royale London Hyde Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notting Hill
Hilton London Hyde Park
Hilton London Hyde Park
#374 of 1,067 in London
328 reviews
The Westbourne Hyde Park
#106 of 1,067 in London
314 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Park Grand Paddington Court
Park Grand Paddington Court
#197 of 1,067 in London
917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle Kensington Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Kensington Gardens

Property: Thistle Kensington Gardens
Address: 104 Bayswater Road | Hyde park, London W2 3HL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#172 Business Hotel in London
#189 Family Hotel in London
#210 Romantic Hotel in London
#212 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Kensington Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly refurbished modern hotel located on Bayswater Road with the tranquility of Hyde Park and Kensington Gardens opposite, and within walking distance to Paddington, Oxford Street, Kensington, Notting Hill and Edgware Road, the hotel is ideally placed for business or leisure. Good transport links ensure that the city and theatres are also within very easy reach. All Deluxe and Executive bedrooms are located at the front of the hotel and have amazing views over Kensington Gardens and are available at a supplement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotelopia, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Thistle Kensington Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Kensington Gardens London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing