We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Thistle Kensington Gardens
Ranked #289 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly staff, great location”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Super friendly staff at every encounter. Despite a small glitch in my reservation, it was quickly resolved and they upgraded my room "for my trouble." Loved the hotel's location: Literally across the street from Hyde Park, a great respite from the busy streets; near pubs and shopping. Above a Waitrose- a 7/11-ish type store with healthy snacks. Comfy and cozy hotel bar open late after the pubs close. The B&B package includes daily breakfast, which was delish. Rooms are on the small side but are very nice and include 2 robes and a safe in the closet. There's a Thistle Hyde Park less than 2 blocks away. For the price, I'd stay here any day.

TIP: Easy way to get from Heathrow to the hotel: Take the Heathrow Express train to Paddington Station, then walk or cab it to the hotel- depending on the weather and how much luggage you have! Purchase your train ticket via the Heathrow Express app; just show your screen on board when they ask to see your ticket. I think you can do the same from Gatwick.

TIP: If you're there on a Saturday, you MUST check out the Portobello Road market. Walk west from the hotel to the Notting Hill tube station, and turn right. Go past the retail shops and around the curved street, continue straight for one block, and you'll see it straight ahead. I stumbled across it when I went out for a walk, and before I knew it, four hours had gone by and I was only about 2/3 of the way through. Such fun finds- antiques, souvenirs, books, food, and on and on!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor facing Hyde Park. High floor = less traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CindyinCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,927 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    785
    823
    245
    51
    23
See reviews for
422
785
69
277
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (517)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Stayed for two nights for my husbands birthday. The staff were very nice and they gave us a complementary room upgrade and there was a beautiful chocolate cake waiting for us. The room was very clean. Breakfast was really good and we used room service which was reasonably priced and was very nice. If you're staying and it's nice weather i recommend having the picnic and taking it to Hyde Park, it's worth the money.
I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone and will be staying again the next time i'm on London

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niktomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
316 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

As part of a tour group we stayed here. Nice location. Nice room. Small but efficient. Breakfast not as good as some other stays but you won't go hungry. Across from Kensington Park. Didn't spend much time there but no complaints. Free wifi much appreciated

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank barbdpayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We recently spent two nights at the Thistle Kensington Gardens, organised as a theatre break with rail travel from Derby by Omega Holidays. We were allocated as requested a quiet double room situated on the 5th floor of the hotel, although the room was small it was very clean with a great bathroom and soft towels. The room had everything we could have wished for including tea/coffee making facilities, hair dryer and even an iron and ironing board, The buffet breakfast was also very good. All the staff were very helpful and efficient in the performance of their duties. We would have no hesitation at staying there again and booking with Omega Holidays. Well done Thistle Kensington Gardens and Omega Holidays.

Room Tip: Hotel is an ideal location for Kensington High Street you can walk through the park) and Oxford Stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
165 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We ate at the hotel,s restaurant on a Saturday evening using an Amazon voucher for a x 2 course steak meal and a glass of champagne each.
Staff were friendly but unfortunately the restaurant was quite full with a loud tour party. The starters ( soup and pate) were well presented and tasty. The steak meal ,however, was not very good. The sirloin was tough and not at all tasty, the few bots of lettuce were not well presented but the saving grace were the chunky chips which were lovely. We decided to skip the dessert course .
Not terrible but at best an average meal out

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murray, Kentucky
Level Contributor
180 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Our room was upgraded to a king, overlooking Hyde Park and Kensington Gardens. The staff was helpful and welcoming. There was one laptop available in the lobby for guest use, but free WiFi in the rooms. The location, near Queensway in Bayswater, was perfect and put so many restaurants and attractions within reasonable walking distance. The included breakfast buffet was sumptuous, to say the least.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank songbirdtova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
117 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Had a nice lunch on Saturday with the family with very friendly and helpful staff. Agnija, Anna, Orianna and the Spanish guy were great. Food quality was good and the park view from the Restaurant is very nice! Thanks to all of them!!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Daniel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Kensington and Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
#365 of 1,067 in London
884 reviews
Notting Hill
DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park
Notting Hill
Grand Royale London Hyde Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notting Hill
Hilton London Hyde Park
Hilton London Hyde Park
#377 of 1,067 in London
328 reviews
The Westbourne Hyde Park
#105 of 1,067 in London
314 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Park Grand Paddington Court
Park Grand Paddington Court
#197 of 1,067 in London
917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle Kensington Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Kensington Gardens

Property: Thistle Kensington Gardens
Address: 104 Bayswater Road | Hyde park, London W2 3HL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#172 Business Hotel in London
#189 Family Hotel in London
#210 Romantic Hotel in London
#212 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Kensington Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly refurbished modern hotel located on Bayswater Road with the tranquility of Hyde Park and Kensington Gardens opposite, and within walking distance to Paddington, Oxford Street, Kensington, Notting Hill and Edgware Road, the hotel is ideally placed for business or leisure. Good transport links ensure that the city and theatres are also within very easy reach. All Deluxe and Executive bedrooms are located at the front of the hotel and have amazing views over Kensington Gardens and are available at a supplement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Thistle Kensington Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Kensington Gardens London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing