We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Thistle Kensington Gardens
Ranked #309 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Modern well staffed and beautifully clean . Buffet style breakfast was tasty and plentiful ,even the kitchen staff were friendly and helpful . The hotel is well placed to reach all of the London attractions. The open top tour buses currently stop right out side . A truly magical visit .

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_KGN, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Mark W,

Your 5/5 review was a welcome read, thank you for sharing. I am delighted we helped to make your London visit 'magical' and hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back. Thanks again for your review. Kind regards - Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,063)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,078 - 1,084 of 2,063 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2014

We were telephoned before our visit to ask if there was anything they could do for us and we were given a room on the 9th floor with a great view of the London Skyline. The staff were very friendly and willing to help.

Room Tip: Higher rooms and rooms to the front have a view of Kensington Gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meascott27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_KGN, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear meascott27,

Thank you for your recent 5/5 review of Thistle Kensington Gardens. I am pleased our call in advance of your arrival was welcomed and that you were able to enjoy the fantastic views of London from your room. Thanks again. Kind regards - Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Stayed here for 6 nights and I couldn't have picked a better hotel to stay at, tube is about 5 minutes from the hotel, there's a bunch of good restaurants, pharmacies, and supermarkets about 5 minutes as well, not to mention all the important tourist places are about 10 minutes, or not far at all, the tour bus stops outside the hotel which is a great option to go sightseeing London, the regular bus also stops in front of the hotel, and runs 24hrs. Hotel staff was so helpful in recommending, looking up information, and reserving things, the Room itself was clean, quiet and good size (keeping in mind it's London), left my iPad charging and other valuable stuff laying around the room while going out sightseeing, room would get cleaned and never had anything go missing (the room also had a safe), in overall if you're looking for an Excellent hotel in London with excellent location, excellent Staff, not to mention good food from the restaurant, with a reasonable price, this is the one, HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!

Room Tip: I stayed at the Family Room and slept 3 adults very comfortably.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ricardo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_KGN, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Ricardo D,

Thank you so much for your 5/5 review of your recent stay at Thistle Kensington Gardens and for your recommendation of the hotel after such a long stay with us. I have shared your comments with the team - they are delighted to recieve recognition for the service they delivered during your stay. Please come back and visit soon. Kind regards - Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

As part of a tour my husband and I stayed here for two nights at the beginning of our tour and then again for the last night of the tour. The hotel is in a great location, overlooking Kensington Gardens and on our first two nights we had a room that had a lovely view of the park- not so lucky when we returned for that last night of the tour, but the room was fine. Walking distance to Kensington Palace and Royal Albert Hall. Queensway tube station a short walk away, bus stop about a block away. Room was very clean, beds very comfortable. Tip for those of you (like us) who are first timers in England- you have to put your room key in a slot by the door to get the electricity to go on! Buffet breakfast was good, nothing exciting but was fine to start the day. If you want good strong coffee, however, you'll need to get it elsewhere. London has a proliferation of Starbucks but I really liked the coffee (and food) at a chain called "Pret-A-Manger". This hotel is a fine place to stay for a visit to the fantastic city of London. P.S. If you use a washcloth when you shower bring your own! Apparently they're not a popular thing in England.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank minpin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Super friendly staff at every encounter. Despite a small glitch in my reservation, it was quickly resolved and they upgraded my room "for my trouble." Loved the hotel's location: Literally across the street from Hyde Park, a great respite from the busy streets; near pubs and shopping. Above a Waitrose- a 7/11-ish type store with healthy snacks. Comfy and cozy hotel bar open late after the pubs close. The B&B package includes daily breakfast, which was delish. Rooms are on the small side but are very nice and include 2 robes and a safe in the closet. There's a Thistle Hyde Park less than 2 blocks away. For the price, I'd stay here any day.

TIP: Easy way to get from Heathrow to the hotel: Take the Heathrow Express train to Paddington Station, then walk or cab it to the hotel- depending on the weather and how much luggage you have! Purchase your train ticket via the Heathrow Express app; just show your screen on board when they ask to see your ticket. I think you can do the same from Gatwick.

TIP: If you're there on a Saturday, you MUST check out the Portobello Road market. Walk west from the hotel to the Notting Hill tube station, and turn right. Go past the retail shops and around the curved street, continue straight for one block, and you'll see it straight ahead. I stumbled across it when I went out for a walk, and before I knew it, four hours had gone by and I was only about 2/3 of the way through. Such fun finds- antiques, souvenirs, books, food, and on and on!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor facing Hyde Park. High floor = less traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CindyinCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Stayed for two nights for my husbands birthday. The staff were very nice and they gave us a complementary room upgrade and there was a beautiful chocolate cake waiting for us. The room was very clean. Breakfast was really good and we used room service which was reasonably priced and was very nice. If you're staying and it's nice weather i recommend having the picnic and taking it to Hyde Park, it's worth the money.
I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone and will be staying again the next time i'm on London

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niktomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

As part of a tour group we stayed here. Nice location. Nice room. Small but efficient. Breakfast not as good as some other stays but you won't go hungry. Across from Kensington Park. Didn't spend much time there but no complaints. Free wifi much appreciated

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank barbdpayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Kensington and Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
#464 of 1,077 in London
930 reviews
Notting Hill
Grand Royale London Hyde Park
Notting Hill
DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Blakemore Hyde Park
#323 of 1,077 in London
1,675 reviews
Notting Hill
Hilton London Hyde Park
Hilton London Hyde Park
#376 of 1,077 in London
474 reviews
Lancaster Gate Hotel
#437 of 1,077 in London
2,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle Kensington Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Kensington Gardens

Address: 104 Bayswater Road | Hyde park, London W2 3HL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#171 Business Hotel in London
#209 Romantic Hotel in London
#221 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £86 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Kensington Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly refurbished modern hotel located on Bayswater Road with the tranquility of Hyde Park and Kensington Gardens opposite, and within walking distance to Paddington, Oxford Street, Kensington, Notting Hill and Edgware Road, the hotel is ideally placed for business or leisure. Good transport links ensure that the city and theatres are also within very easy reach. All Deluxe and Executive bedrooms are located at the front of the hotel and have amazing views over Kensington Gardens and are available at a supplement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Thistle Kensington Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Kensington Gardens London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing