We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bang for your buck”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Thistle Kensington Gardens
Ranked #302 of 1,073 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Location of the hotel was great as it was close to plenty of restaurants and the London Underground (this made it very convenient to get around London with no hassle). It is across the street from Kensington Garden which also leads to Kensington Palace (home of Prince William & Kate). Check in was a little weird. You entered on the 1st floor and concierge & check in was on the 2nd floor which was a little awkward especially when lugging a bunch of bags. The room was small, clean and had a modern feel to it. There was a standard breakfast served each morning which was ok-I did wish for a little more variety after the 2nd day of eating the same thing. Overall it was still a nice experience in a nice location, given the price it was well worth the money.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank JWord13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_KGN, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear JWord13,

Thank you for your review, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us recently. London offers some unique buildings, and with our check in and reception located on the first floor, we like the fact that we're slightly different. But when inside, the modern style of the recent refurbishment, along with fantastic views into Hyde Park and Kensington Gardens, makes our hotel a great choice to stay and enjoy London. Thanks again for your review. Kind regards - Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,975)
There are newer reviews for Thistle Kensington Gardens
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

987 - 993 of 1,976 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

On arriving at the hotel and seeing it from the outside we thought it looked a bit dodgy but upon entering the lobby and going into the shiny glamorous lift we changed our minds. The reception area is welcoming with lovely marble décor and chandeliers with very pleasant reception staff. Our room was on the small side with a view over the back of buildings but was to be expected in central London. The room had all the amenities to be expected adequate bathroom with TV etc. We ate our evening meal in the hotel which was priced as you would expect not particularly good value but we had a voucher from the company that we had come to London to visit. I had the Singapore noodles which was the cheaper option but my husband had the steak with onion rings which was lovely so we shared our meals. I had the chocolate sundae for desert which was lovely. Breakfast the next morning was also really nice. The hotel is handy for the Queensway tube station and is also right opposite Kensington Gardens. On the whole a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dayz_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_KGN, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Dayz_11,

Thank you for your review of Thistle Kensington Gardens. Whilst we may not occupy one of London's most elegant of buildings, I'm sure you'll agree that the modern feel of the decor is certainly a positive attribute of the hotel. Situated across from Hyde Park and Kensington Gardens, we certainly are well placed to explore all that this great city has to offer, being just a short walk from Queensway and Bayswater tube stations. I hope we get to welcome you back soon. Thanks again for your review. Kind regards - Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We were not disappointed with this hotel: the rooms are well-appointed and nicely decorated, the upper-floor rooms have a great view over Hyde Park and London and are not too noisy thanks to the triple glazing. It's also well located within walking distance of Paddington Station (about 15 mins walk) and on bus and tube lines.
Some people might be put off when they see that there is a petrol station at the front of the hotel, but you don't notice it from the inside.
The only negative points were the bathroom being very small (but that's common for London) and on the second morning of our stay we had to wait ten minutes before being seated for breakfast in the hotel lounge - either they were short-staffed or not well enough organised to clear vacant tables to make way for people ariving.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room with a view over Hyde Park
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kiwiparis_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_KGN, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear kiwiparis_1,

Thank you for sharing your recent experiences of Thistle Kensington Gardens. I was pleased to read your feedback and the balanced view you presented. I hope you managed to take advantage of the 24hr convenience store located under the hotel, it's great if you have forgotten anything for your trip. And thank you for your feedback around breakfast - whilst this is never usually an issue for us, it certainly allows us to refocus our efforts on delivering fantastic customer service, all of the time. Thanks again. Kind regards - Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

The hotel is in the Hyde Park area, and it was my first time staying there since I avoid staying out of the core center of London and the compromise is usually the size of the room and the price. The Thistle Kensington Gardens was very comfortable and set in a beautiful surrounding just across from the park. The hotel itself is very clean and calm and the room comfortable and very convenient and clean. I would even quality it for excellent for the price I obtained. I should mention that the service was friendly (big plus for London).
The two points that may have not been great:
1/ breakfast was basic but there are fresh fruits
2/ this may be linked to my personal choice, but while the walk to the tube is a comfortable 10 minutes, it was pouring rain during my visit and this made it a little hectic.
Other than that, I would come again.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the park area are nice
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flying M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_KGN, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Flying M,

I am delighted that you rated the hotel 5/5 following your recent stay at Thistle Kensington Gardens - thank you for taking the time to leave this feedback. Whilst we are away from the main hustle and bustle, we're only two tube stops to Marble Arch, so wonderfully located. I am only sorry we couldn't provide the weather for your trip to London, maybe next time...! Thank you again for your review. Kind regards - Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Used this hotel as a place to rest after an awards dinner. The hotel at first seems to be in a obscure location, but the inside is very well presented. The staff were very on the ball. The room was clean and modern and the shower was brilliant. Breakfast was good, a few items which were cold from the hot section, but overall would recommend and stay at this hotel again.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank TansXXII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_KGN, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear TansXXII,

Thanks for your review following your recent short stay with us. Your comments regarding the team will certainly be shared, thank you. Thanks again for your review. Kind regards - Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Wow! The customer service you receive in this hotel is fantastic ! I had to contact the management prior to my visit due to a family illness and the manager (soni) couldn't have been more helpful-thank you ! Stayed this week just brilliant!! Clean rooms, modern, bright and fresh. I have to eat gluten free and the chef ordered in bread for me to eat at breakfast. The staff just can't do enough for you

Stayed: May 2014
Thank Nottsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_KGN, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Nottsfan,

It was fantastic to read your review of Thistle Kensington Gardens and to share this with the team, thank you. Soni, in particular, is delighted to have been able to enhance your stay. I sincerely hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future. Kind regards - Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night only, with a 7 month old. Easy and quick check in. Room was very spacious, we had 3 adults and a travel cot provided in the room. Plenty of room. For every one. Each time I come to London I will be staying here

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank Juicekaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_KGN, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear juicekaur,

Thank you for your 5 star review and for making Thistle Kensington Gardens your hotel of choice when staying in London. We can't wait to welcome you back to the hotel. Kind regards - Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Kensington and Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
#410 of 1,073 in London
899 reviews
Notting Hill
Hilton London Hyde Park
Hilton London Hyde Park
#380 of 1,073 in London
393 reviews
Notting Hill
DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notting Hill
Grand Royale London Hyde Park
The Westbourne Hyde Park
#113 of 1,073 in London
387 reviews
Blakemore Hyde Park
#311 of 1,073 in London
1,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle Kensington Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Kensington Gardens

Address: 104 Bayswater Road | Hyde park, London W2 3HL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#172 Business Hotel in London
#189 Family Hotel in London
#210 Romantic Hotel in London
#219 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £108 - £245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Kensington Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly refurbished modern hotel located on Bayswater Road with the tranquility of Hyde Park and Kensington Gardens opposite, and within walking distance to Paddington, Oxford Street, Kensington, Notting Hill and Edgware Road, the hotel is ideally placed for business or leisure. Good transport links ensure that the city and theatres are also within very easy reach. All Deluxe and Executive bedrooms are located at the front of the hotel and have amazing views over Kensington Gardens and are available at a supplement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Thistle Kensington Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Kensington Gardens London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing