We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Thistle Kensington Gardens
Ranked #298 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Wirral, Merseyside
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good Hotel”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed here over the weekend, a party of 5 in 3 rooms. We had 2 twins, both were a great size and overlooked Kensington gardens, minimal traffic noise and great views. We also had a double which was smaller than the twins but fine. Unless you are a large sized couple you won't have a problem here!

The bathrooms were large, clean and we all loved the showers. Staff were efficient, the breakfast was full of fresh food, lots of choice. You would have to be pretty fussy to have a problem with it.

It's near Queenway tube and Bayswater tube too. Lots of places to eat, yes they are touristy or ethnic. If you want more upmarket you would have to travel up West, but if you want a handy meal after a full day in London, it is fine. Also Tesco express, Sainsburys local on Queensway for water, snacks etc.

Yes, there is a petrol station underneath. So what? This in no way impacts on or effects your stay here!

The only complaint is that the wi fi wasn't working properly, which if you were travelling for business might be a problem. Otherwise this is a great hotel to stay if are sightseeing etc.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank AnnieL64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,962 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    794
    840
    252
    53
    23
See reviews for
431
797
71
283
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (525)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Catskill, New York
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We booked this hotel on short notice because the London trip came up suddenly, and the rates were good for London on short notice. Another consideration was that the tour bus would pick us up at the hotel. We wanted to visit Stonehenge and Bath. Although the exterior is not at all impressive, the interior was very nicely decorated. The rooms, though small, were attractive, comfortable and clean. The hotel is located across the street from the park and there are lots of places to eat nearby, though the hotel restaurant was good. The staff was very friendly and helpful, particularly the concierge. Overall, it was a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cita D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evansville, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
257 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

The hotel did not meet my expectations. We were promised an upgrade but then the room had problems and they moved us to a room that did not have the same amenities or beds. They had problems finding our reservation. When we changed rooms, the second room also had problems and we had to call them to fix the plumbing. One morning the maid came early and I had my pajamas on and I told her we were not ready for housekeeping...but she just stood there and asked if we needed anything. So this was going to be our only chance and getting any new towels..etc. So in she comes while we were in our pajamas. Not sure she really understood English that well. Most of the staff was not British. The location was okay....but only souvenir shops and ethnic food near the hotel. Was just disappointed in this hotel. And yes....it is right over a gas station.

Room Tip: Executive rooms cost more but do have a view of Kensington Gardens...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IndianaKris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgewood, NJ
Level 6 Contributor
609 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed 5 nights in the Thistle and were each time glad to leave. We were taking a tour and decided to go 2 days early. We booked two additional nights at $300 each. The rooms were standard rooms which means it is exceedingly small. It was only possible to have one suitcase open and the other needed to be stowed in the cabinet. The fit was so tight we needed to squeeze the suitcase together so as to fit it between the bed and the desk. We had to juggle things around to have a place to brew a cup of coffee or tea.

The elevators are enough for 4 persons and match the size of the rooms.

The hall ways have low ceilings and the carpets were dark and drab.

The bed itself was acceptably comfortable and it was a clean room. The bathroom was as well clean and highy efficient. The bathtub/shower was a high step from the ground with nothing to grab onto to assist getting in or out.

The room came with breakfast which was a positive point of the experience. They had fresh sourdough bread, brioche loaf, scrambled or fried eggs, rasher, sausage, potatoes, tomato and beans.

In addition, there was sliced cold ham, salami, cheese and fish. The cereal preparations as well were fine and the fruit was fresh and ripe.

We ate dinner there one night also and it was served buffet style but it was a creditable job.

The last night we asked for a wakeup call since there is no clock in the room. Unfortunately, no call came but we were up anyway and no harm done.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NJTravellingfool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1,922 reviews
220 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 568 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

At times you can find a hidden gem where you don't expect it. I just booked this hotel because it looked like a good value hotel and while the entrance is deceiving, service, rooms location and views are excellent and worth the money. A good choice in a central location

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ricardo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olney, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I stayed in this hotel recently, based on a recommendation from a colleague, who travels further and often stays there. After dragging my suitcase from Baker Street thinking "it can't be far now", we made it there and I have to say I was a little concerned with the view from outside. Not to worry, once inside the building, it's a perfectly nice hotel, with neat and tidy rooms (if a little small - this is a Thistle - and in London!).

My colleagues and I ate in the restaurant, which was nothing special - but equally there was nothing wrong with it - and had a perfectly pleasant stay.

And that's my point: it was "nice", and "perfectly pleasant"; hence my "average" review. There's nothing that really stands out about this hotel - good or bad.

In all, I'd have to say that it's fine for business travel but I'd probably be looking for something a little better for the money if I was staying in London with my wife...

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkAWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Stayed in this hotel over the weekend of 13th-15th June 2014 on a theatre break. Hotel is well situated and allowed easy access to the centre of London. Staff were at all times helpful and we enjoyed excellent breakfasts both mornings; a full range of options offers something for every taste. Our room wasn't the most spacious but was well-equipped, spotlessly clean and equipped with tea and coffee making facilities. Initially disappointed with a rear facing room but had no concerns when we discovered how quiet it was overnight. Probably the best shower we have had in any hotel! We would certainly return on a future visit to London.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbi i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Kensington and Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
#406 of 1,069 in London
896 reviews
Notting Hill
DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park
Notting Hill
Hilton London Hyde Park
Hilton London Hyde Park
#369 of 1,069 in London
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notting Hill
Grand Royale London Hyde Park
The Westbourne Hyde Park
#114 of 1,069 in London
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle Kensington Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Kensington Gardens

Property: Thistle Kensington Gardens
Address: 104 Bayswater Road | Hyde park, London W2 3HL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#172 Business Hotel in London
#189 Family Hotel in London
#210 Romantic Hotel in London
#220 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Kensington Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly refurbished modern hotel located on Bayswater Road with the tranquility of Hyde Park and Kensington Gardens opposite, and within walking distance to Paddington, Oxford Street, Kensington, Notting Hill and Edgware Road, the hotel is ideally placed for business or leisure. Good transport links ensure that the city and theatres are also within very easy reach. All Deluxe and Executive bedrooms are located at the front of the hotel and have amazing views over Kensington Gardens and are available at a supplement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Thistle Kensington Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Kensington Gardens London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing