We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon Tea Birthday Treat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Thistle Kensington Gardens
Ranked #304 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Travel Zoo voucher used for a Birthday treat for my elderly Mum. It had not been easy to book but we were welcomed with a smile on arrival and taken to a window table in the Brasserie. The "deal" included a glass of champagne so we had this first and on hearing me wish my Mother a Happy Birthday the waiter (Daryl) brought out the sandwich & cake selection but also brought out Mum's scone on a decorated plate with a candle! What a lovely thought, thank you. It is very modern surroundings compared to some places where I have had Afternoon Tea but it was all delicious. The sandwiches were lovely and fresh and all the cakes very tasty. The scones were large, full of sultanas & really tasty. Tea was great too as the selection was left with you and a pot of hot water meant you could have as many as you wanted without it getting "stewed". We had a lovely time and were really made very welcome. It was exceptionally good value as a deal & compared to many other places in London, especially when you consider how much our second glass of champagne cost!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Posh100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,999)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

935 - 941 of 1,999 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

Really great hotel fantastic friendly staff,very helpful,clean and comfortable,excellent breakfast with a superb variety of different options to choose,room very clean,bathroom spotless,cannot fault hotel or their service was excellent throughout the whole of our stay there will definately look to stay there again!

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank waynee89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights before a cruise. The hotel is clean and in an excellent location. But what makes it really special was the staff, Our travel agent booked us 2 double rooms but we wanted twin rooms. There was only 1 left but the front desk staff moved some things around and was able to accomodate us. Our room included breakfast but we were leaving at 5:30 am to catch the Eurostar for Brussels, Since we couldn't go to breakfast they packed us up a breakfast to go, We were very happy with the entire hotel. There is a service station down stairs whish is great to get cheap bottles of water and snacks!
I would highly recommend this hotel,

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Corky12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We stayed for 5 nights in a deluxe room on the 7th floor. The hotel is beautifully furnished and very clean. Our room was comfortable and having amazing views of Hyde park which is just opposite the hotel were we went for a stroll every morning after breakfast! Breakfast was great with a good hot and cold food selection, cereals fresh and dried fruit. The hotel is centrally located few minutes away from queensway tube and bus stops, which makes it's location a great one. The front office staff were attentive and efficient at all times. Some reviewed negatively that below the hotel there's a service station. However this was not an issue with us as we appreciated the small convenience store. Would recommend this hotel to friends and family.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with views of Hyde park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Falson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We had a fabulous 2 night stay. The staff were friendly & efficient - we really couldn't fault the service given. The only niggles were the intermittent wifi, a mattress that was not as comfy as home & no TV user guide to be found. These niggles were slight & did not detract from the enjoyment of our stay - breakfasts were excellent & so too was the service & value at the Brasserie during the day. We would recommend & would seek out Thistle group again

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank CarolynRE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

What a great find. A minute's walk from the Central Line. Clean, well run and exceptionally good value for such a well situated hotel. Great breakfast, everything you could possibly need in the room and caring staff. We were very pleasantly surprised, especially for the price.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Hannah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Very nice experience at Thistle Kensington Gardens. Excellent customer service from check in to check out. Comfortable, quiet and clean room with easy access. Lovely, well served dinner and tasty breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Joana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Kensington and Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
#415 of 1,076 in London
904 reviews
Notting Hill
Hilton London Hyde Park
Hilton London Hyde Park
#388 of 1,076 in London
414 reviews
Notting Hill
DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notting Hill
Grand Royale London Hyde Park
Blakemore Hyde Park
#312 of 1,076 in London
1,619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle Kensington Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Kensington Gardens

Address: 104 Bayswater Road | Hyde park, London W2 3HL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#172 Business Hotel in London
#189 Family Hotel in London
#210 Romantic Hotel in London
#218 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £110 - £217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Kensington Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly refurbished modern hotel located on Bayswater Road with the tranquility of Hyde Park and Kensington Gardens opposite, and within walking distance to Paddington, Oxford Street, Kensington, Notting Hill and Edgware Road, the hotel is ideally placed for business or leisure. Good transport links ensure that the city and theatres are also within very easy reach. All Deluxe and Executive bedrooms are located at the front of the hotel and have amazing views over Kensington Gardens and are available at a supplement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Lastminute, Hotelopia, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thistle Kensington Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Kensington Gardens London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing