We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great option for a single night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kensington Gardens Hotel
Ranked #428 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great option for a single night”
Reviewed 10 June 2013

I booked this hotel since it was close to Paddington Station. I had a night in London before a flight from Heathrow. My room was clean, the bed was comfortable and the shower was hot and a decent pressure. Yes, it is a small room but (a) it's London, what do you expect and (b) it's a huge advantage that they offer single rooms (not many places in London do, I've found), so you don't pay for a double room if you don't need it. Yes, you do have to share a toilet but since my room was advertised as 'shared facilities' I would rather share a toilet than a shower. And there were a lot of stairs so this would be something to bear in mind if you have mobility problems or a lot of luggage.

As mentioned in previous reviews, reception is only open between 8am and 6pm but this is no problem as you just go to the Best Western Phoenix Hotel a couple of doors down. Didn't have the breakfast so I can't comment. Great area with Bayswater (Circle line) and Queensway (Central line) tube a short distance and Paddington station a little further (though you can just get the Circle line from Bayswater). Walking distance to Kensington Gardens.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank mothjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    140
    46
    12
    6
See reviews for
43
91
71
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

This is a no frills hotel which is in a great location just a stone's throw from Bayswater Tube Stattion and close to Paddington Station. I only needed a place to put my head down for an overnight in London and had an excelletn night's sleep. It's in a relatively quiet spot but convenient for many of the London sights and the West End. Good value and excellent service..

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarlCaerdydd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

This was a nice little no frills hotel in a brilliant location close to Kensington Gardens and several methods of accessable public transport.

The small issues I had with this hotel was the fact that there was no lift, the bathroom was very dated and the bed was not very comfortable. But for the price I paid those are trivial complaints.

I'd probably stay elsewhere on my return visit, but this hotel served me just fine.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnoamh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Stayed in this hotel for a few days on my first visit to London. I didn't come to the city to see a hotel and spend time in the room so I wasn't expecting or wanting to spend for a 5 star experience. The tube stop wasn't a terribly far walk and getting there was pretty easy from the airport even with a rolling suitcase.
The actual room itself was a one bed and was pretty small. Was on the 4th floor and no elevator so that sucked lugging a suitcase up and down. Room had a shower and sink in it but no bathroom - it was down the hall. There was a TV that got a few channels. Room overlooked the street.
In terms of cleanliness it was average. Peeling paint and dirty carpet / linens. Never felt too gross, just wasn't "spot-less"
Owner of the hotel was friendly and helped me with a map to plan out best ways to get to the tourist sites and what not.
I did not eat at the hotel so can't comment on that. Again for the price and location this is a good hotel to base out of.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013

We stayed for 3 days in August and had a great experience it was friendly staff helpful, great room. It added to the overall experience of our visit to London. We walked to NottingHill and caught the tube into the city. Shopped ,took a bus tour and visited some landmark places. It was always a good feeling to return to the hotel. The only hassle was no free Wifi .I had to go down to a cafe or pub to use it free. It would be helpful to travellers to have it more available if only in the foyer of the Hotel. Many hotels through Europe had free wifi but not Hilton Hotels.

Room Tip: Ask for a King room more comfort and better standard. On the 3rd floor toward the back & side of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
35 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

This is an older hotel with narrow stairs and small rooms, but the location is wonderful, my single room with bath was clean (if a little overheated...I had to open the window all night) and the staff were tremendously helpful! I think that considering the price it is a great place to stay as long as you realize that if you want more luxuries you need to be prepared to pay more for them.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgeanna2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bude, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2012

stayed here before and although not fantastic always find this place clean comfortable and friendly,the best rooms are at the back of hotel with nice views over gardens i we cant afford anywhere better i.e the savoy willl stay again

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harold190804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Notting Hill
Phoenix Hotel
Phoenix Hotel
#281 of 1,067 in London
1,599 reviews
Notting Hill
London House Hotel
London House Hotel
#309 of 1,067 in London
2,242 reviews
Notting Hill
Garden Court Hotel
Garden Court Hotel
#612 of 1,067 in London
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notting Hill
Vancouver Studios
Vancouver Studios
#352 of 1,067 in London
408 reviews
Notting Hill
The Premier Notting Hill
The Premier Notting Hill
#346 of 1,067 in London
1,452 reviews
Caring Hotel
#501 of 1,067 in London
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kensington Gardens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kensington Gardens Hotel

Property: Kensington Gardens Hotel
Address: 9 Kensington Gardens Square, London W2 4BH, England (Formerly TOP Hotel Kensington Gardens)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#380 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kensington Gardens Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kensington Gardens Hotel is a 17 bedroom 2 star central London hotel, located 5 minutes walk from Hyde Park. Bayswater and Queensway underground stations are both within a few minutes walking distance. The hotel is centrally situated for both the business executive and the holiday-maker, with the West End and its shops and theatres within easy reach. Free Wi-Fi is always included when making a reservation with Kensington Gardens Hotel. Check-in time is from 1 pm onward. There is a complimentary luggage storage facility at the hotel. Reception is manned from 8 am to 5 pm. The reception at Phoenix hotel, next door at 1-8 Kensington Gardens Square, will assist during other hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Fastbooking, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kensington Gardens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Gardens Top Hotel
Top Hotel London
London Top Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing