We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wasn't expecting a hostel-type place” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Umi London

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Umi London
Ranked #801 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Waltham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wasn't expecting a hostel-type place”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

I was extremely disappointed in this hotel, given the price. The website made it out to be a lovely spot. Later we stayed at another place, one notch up in price, that was much, much better. The hallway on our floor at Umi had a mogul, like on a ski slope! The first thing we saw on entering our room was a massive stain on the carpet. Our teens' room's shower had zero pressure, so they had to come and use ours. Umi nickels and dimes you for things like wifi or a safe. The nice garden across the way is inaccessible (typical for London), but they make it sound as if it is an amenity. Noooooooo!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    190
    195
    76
    66
See reviews for
78
161
98
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Willemstad, Curacao
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

We stayed here for 1 night after spending some time with friends. It is situated in a peaceful street. Our room had a view at one of the famous Notting Hill private gardens. The rooms are good for a few nights. It needs some maintenance but for the price I payed it was a very good deal.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margriet1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Stayed in this Hotel for 1 night. Hotel is well organised and clean. I paid an excellent rate via Booking.com and honestly expected a lot less for the money paid. Yes the Hotel is showing signs of age but the location is so good that it really does not matter. Bars and restaurants really close by and tube stations to get you to central London in 5 mins makes for a relly good experiance

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niborscout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

When we first arrived the flowers were blooming in the baskets a lovely victorian scene very enchanting. The reception man was extremely helpful let us check in three hours early for free. The welcome was great and the hotel was spotless.
We were given a superior room which was more than spacious with lots of storage and extremely quite, as I am a light sleeper.
The furniture was modern and the view was overlooking the residential streets behind in a leafy bayswater.
The bathroom was spotless and we had a bath and a shower as well as plenty of room to move about.
We lost our card for the room and this was no problem to be replaced, we also had a breaksfat and were allowed to pay on check out.
We booked our room through lastminute who were terrible and charged us more than a direct rate. My advice would be book direct and last minute as the rates go down not through a booking agent like last-minute who are useless I had to fight with them to get the difference back.
I just want to add that the customer service at this hotel has been the best I have ever received and I have had stayed all over the world. The hotel is cheap for London and all those people who made remarks about decoration it is only cosmetic and extremely minor. For the level of service I was recieved I would highly recommend you stay here if at bayswater.
I think the staff were really polite well spoken and bent over backwards to please you. I felt reassured there was night staff and I would Definitly stay here again by far the nicest people I have come accross.

Room Tip: Book late to save money and go direct!!! Also the special touches in the superior room are lovely g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nic1102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

Stayed here 3 nights. Nice room on 1st floor in UMI. Rooms were clean, a little dusty (more because rooms are older). Breakfast ok, English breakfast can be replaced by other types. Good hosts. Neighbourhood is great and quiet. Option for luggage to store.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marlies H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramsbottom, Lancs,
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

This worked out to be a great place for the 3 of us to stay for our short break in London on a budget. The hotel is well located in a smart area
within easy walking distance of Kensington Gardens, Portobello Road and several tube stations There are a lot of good restaurants and trendy shops just round the corner on Westbourne Grove.
The hotel was good value for London, situated in a quiet square. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and we were able to leave our bags in a storeroom as we arrived early in the morning. Breakfast was served in the modern dining area and the morning papers were available. Our ground floor room was clean and plenty big enough for us, with a good sized bath.
I can't really think of much in the way of criticism, considering what we paid.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AliandMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

Umi hotel is located in a convenient location, close to transport and shops. Hyde park is within easy walking distance.
The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. They were very knowledgable about tourist destinations and directions in London, able to give you tips and suggestions rather than only pointing out the general direction or answering your question as quickly as possible.
The rooms however, were small and tired. The reception area was clean and quite modern. The shower worked fine, and there was plenty of hot water, but the toilets were difficult to flush. We were in a corner room where the bathroom consisted of only a shower and a toilet, with the sink outside the bathroom, next to the bed. Quite odd indeed. The lights in the room was also quite dim and the carpet really needs replacing.
Personally I think this hotel is overpriced and only stayed here for one night because the tour I was joining started here at 6am. It was just convenient to stay at the same hotel the tour started at in the early hours of the day. I would not stay here again as I believe I would get better value out of a travelodge or similar in London for a much lower price.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank itsagneshere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Notting Hill
The Laslett
The Laslett
#365 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Notting Hill
Space Apart Hotel
Space Apart Hotel
#301 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Notting Hill
Vancouver Studios
Vancouver Studios
#275 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notting Hill
The Royale Chulan Hyde Park Hotel London
Notting Hill
Reem Hotel
Reem Hotel
#567 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Notting Hill
London House Hotel
London House Hotel
#296 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Umi London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Umi London

Property: Umi London
Address: 16 Leinster Square, Notting Hill - Bayswater, London W2 4PR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #801 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Umi London 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel with modern amenities overlooks a pretty garden square; near Kensington Palace, Portobello Road Market & Queensway Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Lastminute and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Umi London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Umi London Hotel London
Umi Hotel London
London Umi Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing