We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice hotel”
Review of Umi London

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Umi London
Ranked #802 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“very nice hotel”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

we stayed there in June and we enjoyed our stay there. The rooms are spacious, the design is awesome and service was quick and great. The location is a bit far to walk (about 10 minutes) to next metro or bus stops. The location, otherwise, is very nice example of the city-planning. Quite a place to stay :)

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 911pradeepk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    190
    195
    76
    66
See reviews for
78
161
98
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ballymena
Level Contributor
62 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

This hotel was quite lively, on the Saturday night I stayed they had a nightclub. The hotel is quite big from the small look inside. (Quite like a TARDIS), the hotel was quite busy the weekend I stayed. I suppose it was coming up to Christmas.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luv2travel495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

I stayed at the Umi for 4 nights in September 2013. I did a Topdeck tour which departed from the hotel hence the decision to stay there. Big mistake.

The hotel is old and run down. We were all taken aback by the lack of air conditioning in the rooms. It's understandable for London, during the cooler periods, but when the heatwave strikes, you're practically roasting in the rooms. I would say that looking down the corridor at the rows of rooms on either side, is almost akin to the hotel in The Shining.

In 4 nights we had to change rooms twice. Once due to a shower head that had no pressure at all and we couldn't take a shower. The second time was when the light bulb blew in the bathroom in the 2nd room and when we called someone to come fix it, they broke the whole thing and we couldn't use the bathroom at all. Not impressed.

While many other hotels offer free WiFi/LAN, you had to pay for internet use at the Umi. Clearly it's not as progressive as the other hotels.

Basically, there isn't much good things to be said for this hotel. There are plenty of other hotels littered about the same location so it's not slim pickings. Pick another hotel, just not the Umi and you'll be guaranteed to have a slightly better time in London.

Room Tip: None of the rooms are good. Pick another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl_SG2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Ossett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

I only stayed in this hotel one night, but i was kind of glad to get out. The hotel was far too warm. The room itself needed one huge update, my shower was tapped together, the shower head was clogged with lime-scale and you either got a boiling hot setting or cold. AWFUL!

The beds were not really all that comfy.The carpet really needed a good clean, and i was in a room next to these two doors which literally remind me of restaurant doors. They were awful! I was woken up at 2, 4 and 5am by drunk people coming in banging along through the doors! Not pleasant, my advice if you are put in this room and are sensitive to noise, ask to be relocated!


The location was a walk out from any tube stations or bus stops and if you don't know the area, you will get lost..

Not good value for money! £70 for one room for one night. BAD! I expected way more.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emoloz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Level Contributor
89 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night while attending a concert near by. Seen the reviews here and for the price it is one of the cheapest in London so wasn't expecting much. But have to say I was surprised room was clean and big enough staff on the desk friendly and was in a nice neighbourhood.

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Timeless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west mids
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel 15 minute walk from Hyde park. Coffee facility in room. The carpet was thread bear and mirror stained , shame, really let the hotel down. Needs updating, but apart from that everything was ok.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank smithyWestMids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Would be fine to stay there anytime outside of summer but pretty much July, August, September I would not advise it. The staff were helpful and the location is very good but it is difficult to appreciate any of that when you can't sleep.

We stayed here as our Top Deck tour left from there the following morning, would be ok for one night but no more than that.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanielP1811027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Notting Hill
Reem Hotel
Reem Hotel
#573 of 1,067 in London
690 reviews
Notting Hill
Vancouver Studios
Vancouver Studios
#366 of 1,067 in London
409 reviews
Notting Hill
Princes Square Hotel
Princes Square Hotel
#757 of 1,067 in London
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notting Hill
Kensington Gardens Hotel
Kensington Gardens Hotel
#413 of 1,067 in London
290 reviews
Notting Hill
New Linden Hotel
New Linden Hotel
#598 of 1,067 in London
727 reviews
Notting Hill
Garden Court Hotel
Garden Court Hotel
#611 of 1,067 in London
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Umi London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Umi London

Property: Umi London
Address: 16 Leinster Square, Notting Hill - Bayswater, London W2 4PR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #802 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Umi London 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel with modern amenities overlooks a pretty garden square; near Kensington Palace, Portobello Road Market & Queensway Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Umi London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Umi London Hotel London
Umi Hotel London
London Umi Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing