We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Hotel has an identity crisis”
Review of Umi London

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Umi London
Ranked #799 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Reviewed 2 February 2014

And I am not referring to the fact it's also known as the Westminster Hotel on some old signs.

From the outside it looks like a grand hotel with that distinctive white London building look. Similarly, the bottom floor is well lain out, however by the time you reach Floor 5 (where we were) you are met with - Damp Patch, Cracked sink, tiny and smelly bathroom and for some reason a lipstick stain on the wall? Who's been making out with a toilet wall?

Good enough sleep, but Free Wifi is now a given human right so £7 a day is a rip-off and breakfast was good - although you need to pay if you want it hot.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GammaMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (573)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 573 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2014

Stayed here before my topdeck european tour. Hotel is a bit old and worn out but overall a v.good location. Room was decent and had all the basics, only negative was the screecy floorboards whenever i stepped on certain areas in the corridors. Great reception staff - was checked in by Jason who was v.friendly and once he realized I was a newbie in London he gave me all the vital information I needed in regards to transport and local attractions and made sure me and my girlfriend were happy with our stay. Good takeaway breakfast for the tour during check out and overall everything was organized between the hotel and topdeck in regards of meeting time and tour departure times. Would recommend for a short stay because of location - about 20 minutes bus to oxford street and the tube stations are a short walk from the hotel too.

Room Tip: Wi - Fi not free but there is a Starbucks literally behind the hotel that provides free wi fi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Auckland_Ry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

A big plus to the hotel is the price and the location, close to the Underground Bayswater.
Staff was friendly and helped out with the questions we had.
As for the rooms: not very big, but there was enough space, bathroom is tiny, but you have all you need. The carpets are a bit old though, and old carpets tend to smell a little, but then again, you only stay there to sleep.
Breakfast was a bit of a let down, when we asked for fresh fruit, we did not expect to get canned fruit.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Inge_Steffen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Not as nice as we would have thought. Very hot rooms, very little space. Charged like wounded bulls for wifi. Toilets took some effort to flush. Beds saggy and wrecked my back! The carpets were worn, the floors creaked and the smell of cleaning fluid abounded. A very tired, cheap-feeling place. Avoid if you enjoy decent accomodation.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cathryn80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

All you ask for in a budget hotel, clean beds and a helpful staff:)
Two girlfriends and I stayed for 5 nights in October 2013, and we were pretty happy with the hotel. A big bonus wasthe very friendly staff! It's a typical tight London hotel, but that's hard to avoid if you want a cheap hotel. You could tell the house was old, the elevators were tiny and the rugs looked a bit tired. The furniture in our room (the cheapest kind with three beds) seemed old as well, but nothing too bad. Another bonus was 5 mirrors in one room (very handy for three teenage girls). Unfortunately we discovered the toilet did not flush. We seeked assistanse from the lobby, and a nice lady came up to look at it. She showed us a "technique" and said the janitor would take a look the next morning. The toilet situation was the only downside to this hotel, because no one fixed the toilet. It only worked properly with the special "technique".

The most important part of a budget hotel: The beds were very comfortable and clean. I don't mind tired furniture on a budget big city trip, but the beds HAVE to be clean. A downside for night time, was that you could hear floors squeeking above and around, and the rooms were generally loud... Thumbs up for new sheets and towels every day! Also, there was lots of hot water in the shower:)

All in all, very pleased with this hotel for such a good price!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anja R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

First booked the hotel as a reserved booking to pay at check in but they took out the payment without warning from my bank account - after I contacted them after lots of phone calls to bank - booking company - it was an error with the hotel they refunded me the full amount then discounted room rate by 25.00. On the day my first room was on the 5th floor - lift to 4th floor then a flight of stairs - hard going with suitcase and if you have mobility issues - disappointed with front room - scaffolding outside - unable to open front window - room roasting no air con - bathroom window frame - natural air com- frame slipped - gaping 1 inch hole . More scary - smoke alarm in ceiling still had cover on so wouldn't work. Came back down to reception and asked to be moved. Next room ok - lower ground at back of hotel - near to fire exits - room basic - tea coffee - working TV - window opened - but view of a wall . Cleaned bedding and towels every day. Plus side the staff - I think they are quite use to people complaining so they are very helpfull in that way - but they really need to get it right the first time. As my stay was for sightseeing and was only in room over 3 days while sleeping it didn't spoil my stay. A good thing I would say about the hotel is its location - close to places to eat - Greek rest does breakfast - near to tube - bus routes for central London, walking distance to Notting Hill ,Portabella RRoad and Hampton Court . Palace. Sum up review - hotel basic but clean good staff good location , good price . Would I stay again - not sure - hotel needs to get things right the first time - not after a complaint -

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smileyjanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

The location of this hotel is very good, close to Notting Hill, Paddington Station and Kensington Gardens. The staff were very friendly and overall the hotel was clean. It would be a stretch to find more positives! The hallways were smelling horribly of damp, the carpets really ragged, old and the whole hotel; rooms and hallways were all in desperate need of refurbishment. The room was tiny and the bed very uncomfortable with a cheap flimsy mattress. There were facilities to make a cup of tea which was a nice touch. At £68 for a Saturday night stay in London, I suppose you get what you pay for!! A factor worth noting: I booked this hotel through booking.com and then tried to cancel my reservation about a week before but the hotel refused, so I ended up staying. While the fine print was in the hotel's favour, I still found this unreasonable.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shawn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Notting Hill
Phoenix Hotel
Phoenix Hotel
#287 of 1,076 in London
1,688 reviews
Notting Hill
Vancouver Studios
Vancouver Studios
#391 of 1,076 in London
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notting Hill
Space Apart Hotel
Space Apart Hotel
#432 of 1,076 in London
449 reviews
Notting Hill
London House Hotel
London House Hotel
#314 of 1,076 in London
2,325 reviews
Notting Hill
Reem Hotel
Reem Hotel
#607 of 1,076 in London
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Umi London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Umi London

Address: 16 Leinster Square, Notting Hill - Bayswater, London W2 4PR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #799 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Price Range: £85 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Umi London 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel with modern amenities overlooks a pretty garden square; near Kensington Palace, Portobello Road Market & Queensway Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Lastminute, HostelWorld, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Umi London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Umi London Hotel London
Umi Hotel London
London Umi Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing