We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location great but needs facelift.”
Review of Umi London

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Umi London
Ranked #816 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This hotel was really handy for all that I needed to do last weekend but, aside from the main reception, the hotel is looking seriously dated.
Our room was clean (ish - we found a pair of socks under the curtain) but the shower's grouting was ugly and the sink was out in the main bedroom which means you can't wash your hands immediately.
Also, the room was BOILING - we had the window open the whole time but we could not get it any cooler. We mentioned this on the way out to reception and I think it's an issue they are aware of.
I would stay again for convenience but certainly not for a luxury break.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (573)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 573 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

this hotel was in a great location bayswater in london central a couple of blocks to the tube station. our room was tiny. It is in an old building uneven floors, old carpets. The lifts were small and slow. The shower room was a decent size with a good shower. There was a restaurant in the hotel the breakfasts were good the service depended which staff member you got. We had dinner in the hotel one night it was not very good.

Room Tip: our room faced north away from the park view and away from the sun which was good stopped our room o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nzkiwiwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

If you looking for a comfortable bed to sleep on, this is NOT the hotel to choose. Nothing but thin fabric between you and bear springs. Most uncomfortable night, until I slept on reception lounge. Staff ignored my request to swap mattress. Be warned, check out the bed first before you confirm your booking. This hotel is also not maintained, carpet is very old and lifting, paint peeling on outside. PS I am not the complaining type - this warning is warranted.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Not the most luxurious hotel in London but not the most expensive either! Hotel is generally tired but acceptable, a fair price for a hotel in London. We had a superior room (406) which was a good size but unfortunately there is a ventilation duct outside the window which was noisy all night, went off at about 7am finally - also very creaky floorboards above. No air conditioning so rooms very warm and window only opens 6". Shower was past it's 'sell by' date and could do with some updating. Bed was comfortable, which is a big plus. Staff very friendly and helpful. You can get a good cup of coffee (actually tastes like coffee) which can't be said of many places. All in all reasonable value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

It was in a great locations and totally served it's purpose. We were there with 34 kids for a School vacation trip. The staff was awesome. took care of us any time we needed it. the rating is for the hotel itself. I've never stayed in any other London hotels as this was out first time but the rooms were tiny. everything was tiny. Other than that it was perfect for our stay as we didn't really spend much time in the room.

Room Tip: It's not really a place to hang out in so if you only need a place to lay your head this isa per...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

great location. Easy access to two tube stations. Quiet area only minutes from shops, restaurants etc. area very nice, lovely old houses.
Got a reasonable rate for two night stay, given location. Hotel itself not a 3 star in my opinion, very basic. Shower small, no bath, wash hand basin in bedroom, holes in grouting, carpet frayed, blinds torn, old building so creaky floors and easy to hear every footstep above you. Shabby and could do with some updating. Seems to be popular with backpackers / students. However if you only need a clean bed to put your head on it is in such a good location you could forgive the rest, providing the price is right. Just don't expect any luxuries.
I found it adequate for a short stay meeting up with family and revisiting sights . OK if you're on a budget.
Staff friendly and helpful. I didn't have the breakfast as there was a great cafe only 2 minutes away which did a wonderful full English breakfast cheaper.
If I wanted a cheaper hotel to visit London I would consider staying again, primarily for the area and location.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IrelandCleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

6-7 minutes walkable distance to the nearest tube station. Very helpful staffs. I expected my room for 2 to be pretty small but no, i was wrong. Fairly clean and well taken care of. Quiet remote area. Food is everywhere, particularly Halal cuisines if you are looking for some from Malaysian to American.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zalsapehuh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Venture Hostels
#712 of 1,081 in London
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Umi London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Umi London

Address: 16 Leinster Square, Notting Hill - Bayswater, London W2 4PR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #816 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Price Range: £85 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Umi London 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel with modern amenities overlooks a pretty garden square; near Kensington Palace, Portobello Road Market & Queensway Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Umi London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Umi London Hotel London
Umi Hotel London
London Umi Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing