We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect London Location -Exactly what we wanted”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Citadines Barbican London
Ranked #433 of 1,067 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“perfect London Location -Exactly what we wanted”
Reviewed 6 August 2013

My friends and i booked two rooms at this hotel to go the athletics. The location is a dream - literally 100 yds from the Tube and close to all the main tourist spots. with a cbank and a Tesco almost next door. Plus we were pleased to find a very good and not too expensive italian restaurant just down the road Rooms were self catering apartments and at first i was looking for the bedroom ! because we had a murphy bed which is a pull down double. It worked in this space and was surprisingly comfortable.
This is a minimalist hotel in that everything was there if you need it but the staff were whelpful when required (they leant us umbrellas unfortunately!) - We were able to leave our luggage in a locked room which is a real bonus as you dont want to carry it around when you check out if you come by train (which i recommend) or pay to leave it at the station

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ANNECURTIN, Manager at Citadines Barbican London, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Thank you for choosing Citadines Barbican as your accommodation during your holiday in London. It is always encouraging for us to learn that our valuable residents are satisfied with our service. We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    287
    121
    37
    31
See reviews for
103
203
54
195
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
187 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

I have stayed in London on many occasions and as a general comment, the prices are astronomical and the rooms tiny. Not so The Citadines London Barbican. It is definitely larger than the Citadines in Paris where I stayed some years ago (definitely recommend that one).

Location:
At first I was a little apprehensive at staying in the Barbican area as I am not familiar with it. But the Citadines is close to the Barbican Underground. There are frequent buses to Oxford CIrcus and other areas.
In these day and age of Smartphones I used Google Maps to find out where I wanted to go and then selected the means of transport. it gave me the bus routes and bus numbers, or the underground stations, plus if I chose to walk, the walking route, all with the estimated time!
Tesco (supermarket) was just a stone's throw away, very convenient to stock up on supplies or TV Meals to heat up in the microwave.

The Room
Granted we had the premier room as I did not want to bother with pulling the sofa bed down every day. The room size was pretty spacious. We had a double bed, a writing desk that doubled as an eating area. A kitchenette with a microwave oven, cook top, fridge and dishwasher. We could fit our suitcase and 2 golf bags in the room ans still have plenty of walking space!
The bathroom was small but adequate.
There was a room safe and TV.
Ironing board and iron. Hairdryer.
There was no Air conditioning. The room can be quite noisy from the traffic below if you left the windows open. You live with it for the price you pay, approx 170 GBP per night inclusive of VAT.

Amenities:
Free WiFi throughout the common areas and bedroom.
Laundry in the basement.
Storage - as we had a late flight, we were able to store our bags until late.

Breakfast
We had free breakfast included in our package. This was essentially, juice, coffee/tea/chocolate, fruit, eggs, meat, cereals, etc .All very basic and help yourself. We found it adequate.

The Staff
All the staff were very pleasant and helpful. Whilst this was not the Ritz Carlton, they made us feel welcome.

There are other Citadines Apartments in London, but obviously because of its location, the rooms are cheaper here. I found the room comfortable and will certainly consider staying here again. I personally prefer the Bayswater area because of the restaurants, but for the price, Barbican will do me.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikelima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ANNECURTIN, Manager at Citadines Barbican London, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Many thanks to taking the time to write this review.
We are happy to have met your expectations and endeavour to continually delight our residents whenever they stay with us.
Thank you for your valued patronage. We look forward to welcoming you again at Citadines Barbican
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Picked this apart-hotel as needed to attend the barbican centre. Ideal location for this. Few minutes from underground. Room was good, yes it is small with the bed out but had a good equipped kitchen with hob, microwave and dishwasher, great for longer stays. Small grocery store in walking distance so handy. I would not say the rooms were dated as commented on previously, found the room to be clean and tidy. Wifi worked well whilst we were there. Breakfast could be bought for £12pp but we catered ourselves for breakfast. Overall no problems and an enjoyable stay

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank pinkyjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ANNECURTIN, Manager at Citadines Barbican London, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to leave your comments on TripAdvisor!
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at Citadines Barbican.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon to London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

I was a bit worried Bout booking this hotel, but I have been pleasantly surprised. I had a fold down sofa room and it was fine. Yes it was cramped with the bed down, but we put it back up in the morning. It was clean, had everything we needed and I would stay here again. It's not 5 star luxury, but it's fine for what it is.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaska L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ANNECURTIN, Manager at Citadines Barbican London, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review and for choosing Citadines Barbican. We appreciate your review and the compliments about our service and facilities. We hope to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

For the price I can't grumble, cheap and cheerful for London.

The staff were all very friendly, check in went smoothly and parked too which is underground via a car lift.

The kitchen is tiny but hey your not gonna be cooking a 3 course meal, has exactly what you need.

Bed was very comfy, it was the pull down one forgot what you call them .....lol. Would suggest that you make your bed before you go out as its tricky after a few....lol

Most importantly it was CLEAN!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ANNECURTIN, Manager at Citadines Barbican London, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Thank you for choosing Citadines Barbican as your accommodation during your holiday in London. It is always encouraging for us to learn that our valuable residents are satisfied with our service. Please be assured that we are always seeking to satisfy the expectations of our guests. For this reason, Citadines Barbican will be undergoing a renovation program at the end of next year.
We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

I stayed in what was described as a twin room, with a price tag of £165 for the night I was at least expecting a decent bed to sleep on. Unfortunately this was not the case, a sofa with a put up bed does not constitute a twin room. Hot, cramped and noisy, if you are looking for a hotel find somewhere else to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ANNECURTIN, Manager at Citadines Barbican London, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Thank you for your feedback.
We read with much concern about the unpleasant experience you encountered during your previous stay with us.
We are sorry that you didn't accept our offer to change for a bigger room with a proper bed and an extra bed, and that we couldn't make your stay more comfortable.
Once again please accept our sincere aplologies.We hope to be able to welcome you again and have another opportunity to serve your better.
Please feel free to contact us directly for your future bookings, we will be more than happy to assist you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
83 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

There are positives and negatives to this property, it was honestly difficult to arrive at an 'overall' rating. In the end, I decided on 'very good' given its location, free wifi, and in-suite refrigerators, which can be difficult to find at this price in London.

Positives:
- Convenient location, just 1.5 blocks from Barbican station which is serviced by three different underground lines (circle, city/hammersmith, and metropolitan)
- Clean
- Complimentary Wifi which actually works
- Shakespeare pub across the street has good and reasonably priced food
- Mattress (albeit sofabed) is surprisingly firm and comfortable
- Nice to have the refrigerator and small grocery store just 1 block away
- Reasonable price relative to other hotels
- Hotel staff is friendly and addressed all of our questions/concerns during the stay

Negatives:
- Most rooms only have a sofa bed option, which is somewhat of an inconvenience
- Rooms are small, which really should not be a surprise since it is London
- There is no housecleaning unless you are staying for 1 week plus. This was actually shocking to me, and I wish they mentioned it at check in. I honestly don't care about the linens and daily cleaning, but it is nice to have fresh towels on the 3rd day!

Also, one tip - make sure you know whether you paid for the breakfast at check-in. They originally told us that we did not have it, but after checking original documents, realized that we did (an employer paid for rooms).

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JSBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ANNECURTIN, Manager at Citadines Barbican London, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Thank you for your compliments about our serviced residence during your recent stay. We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed our facilities and service.
As we are a serviced residence, our manpower strength does differ from a hotel. This arrangement allows us to provide our residents a product with flexible services. Nevertheless we can provide free extra towels, amenities or others when requested.
We hope you will stay again with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
London City Suites By Montcalm
Clerkenwell
Malmaison London
Malmaison London
#263 of 1,067 in London
1,446 reviews
Holborn
Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
#312 of 1,067 in London
544 reviews
South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
#161 of 1,067 in London
761 reviews
Thistle City Barbican
#607 of 1,067 in London
2,973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines Barbican London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines Barbican London

Property: Citadines Barbican London
Address: 7-21 Goswell Road, London EC1M 7AH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Clerkenwell
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Green Hotel in London
#279 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Citadines Barbican London 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartment hotel with modern accommodations; multilingual staff; situated in the Financial District. Now offering complimentary WiFi throughout the building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Citadines Barbican London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines London Barbican Hotel London
Citadines Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing