We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Citadines Barbican London
Ranked #442 of 1,089 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersBronze level
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Convenient”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

We have stayed here twice this year and both times we have found it comfortable, close to the underground and supermarkets and some smaller resturants. It is an apart -hotel so is self catering if this is your choice, with a fridge, dishwasher, stovetop and convection microwave. Within walking distance to some wonderful attractions. I would recommend this for couples even a family.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are quieter. During the day there is some noise if the window is open...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne C, Manager at Citadines Barbican London, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for you review. I was happy to read that you found your apartment comfortable. We are indeed situated near to some exciting places of interest including St Pauls Cathedral and The Tower of London.

We do hope that we will get the chance in the not too distant future to welcome you back to Citadines Barbican.

Kind regards,

Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    282
    120
    36
    31
See reviews for
99
196
54
189
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed in Citadines barbican for 1 week due to proximity to a school. The hotel is walking distance to Barbican tube station, Tesco express and a nice Italian restaurant (corner of a room).

We took the 1 bedroom apartment, with kitchen and living room. Good amenities in the place. However the hair dryer stop working after being used for a couple of minutes but the staff managed to get a replacement.

Helpful?
Thank Kelc32
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Anne C, Manager at Citadines Barbican London, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay. Regarding the issues that you experienced with the hairdryer please accept my sincere apologies over any inconvenience caused. I do hope that the team at Reception were able to organise a replacement one for you. We do hope that we can welcome you back to Citadines Barbican in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

I should first of all that we enjoyed our stay of 9 days. On arrival we had a strong smell of mould in the apartment. Strong enough to bring on an asthma attack. Talked to reception who were pleasant about it but they were fully booked. No we could not be moved the next day. Housekeeping and maintenance arrived but they could not help, but could smell the mould. We solved the problem by keeping the sink and bath plugged at all times. Room number to avoid 607.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Aussietriptraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne C, Manager at Citadines Barbican London, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks you for your feedback. I was sorry to read about the issues you experience with the bathroom. Please accept my sincere apologies over any inconvenience caused. Please be reassured that our maintenance and our housekeeping team were dealing with the situation. I believe that there may have been a breakdown in communcation of our side as we were offering to room move you the following day after the issue was brought to our attention. Once again my sincere apologies that this was not make clear to you. I will address this with the team members concerned.

We do hope that we can welcome you to Citadines Barbican in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Anne C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

The pluses:

The location is excellent for the City - very easy to find, and close to Barbican tube. The suites are of various sizes - mine had a lounge, bedroom, small separate kitchen and bathroom. Having an equipped kitchen means that your self-catering options are vastly increased, although the local area doesn't really have much in the way of supermarkets if you're in search of supplies.

I was on a prepaid corporate rate, but even the rack rates don't seem especially pricy given the size of the accommodation.

The minuses:

The decor's looking a bit tired and battered - the hotel is either due a major refurbishment, or the owners are increasing their margins by skimping on the upkeep. That extends to the cleaning - see the photos for the state of the bathroom, then make your own mind up about whether you want to spend any significant amount of time there. In fairness, the rest of the suite was as clean as I would expect a hotel room to be, but there is zero excuse for letting a bathroom get into that state.

The sound-proofing isn't great, either - if you're on the upper floors the traffic noise won't be too much of a problem. If the suites immediately surrounding you are likely to be occupied by the Spanish Olympic Inter-Room Shouting Squad, as was my experience, you may wish to plan ahead and pack earplugs.

Room Tip: The higher the better to reduce traffic noise, and odd-numbered rooms at the top have a good view ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timdLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne C, Manager at Citadines Barbican London, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your feedback regarding your recent stay. Please accept my sincere apologies over the issues you experienced with the cleaniness of the bathroom during your recent stay with us. We have a full refurbishment planned for the property towards the end of this year to all of our rooms and public areas. I will address the issues with this particular room with our Head Housekeeper and our maintenance department and ensure that they get the bathroom sorted as soon as possible. Please be reasssured that this is not the standard that we strive to achieve at Citadines Barbican.

We do hope that we can welcome you back to Citadines Barbican in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Anne C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
233 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

Citadines Brbican was nicely located in the city with good linksto several tube lines. Just a short walk away from the Museum of London there were several amenities in the area including shops, restaurants and attractions.

The hotel room was basic but comfortable enough. Wifi included. The kitchen was small but fully equipped with microwave, fridge, stove, kettle, pots pans etc. No cleaning service unless you are there for more than a week but this also allowed for privacy.

I would recommend this hotel for business but not for romance.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank JustRose_CH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

Stayed here for a week on business. Got it cause of the kitchen and I like to cook. Staff at front desk was very nice. Was there for 5 nights.

Location: Pretty good. Less than 5 min walk to Barbican tube station. Close to a Tesco although if you are willing to walk 10 min go to the Waitrose instead. Walk East towards Shoreditch and there are a lot of cool pubs and restaurants as well as Brick Lane market about 20 min walk away.

Room: Decent size, pretty big for London. Bed was ok, just 2 small beds pushed together. TV small but decent amount of channels. Bathroom is fine, nothing special. Soap/Shampoo mix attached to the wall. Good water pressure in the shower with small bathtub. Clean enough but was a bit drab.

Kitchen: Ok compare to other suite locations I've been to. Just stove and Microwave, no oven.
Make sure you open windows when you cook or the smell will last a long time. Happy they provided things like dish washing liquid which many others don't.

No in suite laundry.

All in all a decent place if you can get it for a good rate. I would stay here again if the rate was very good relative to other places but it probably wouldn't be my first choice.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, stay away from main street if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sorjue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed at Citadines Barbican for one night. The location is great - right in the heart of the City, making it great for both business travellers and sightseers. The apartment was well-equipped, clean and efficient - pretty much what you'd expect. Two things stood out and persuaded me that this aparthotel deserves a four star rating.

First, the friendliness of the staff. Everybody smiled and said hello and nothing was too much trouble, including coming to my room to show me how to turn off the kitchen lights (it's a tiny switch on the back, by the way!). All too often this isn't how things are in hotels, but it's something that really makes a difference.

Second, the breakfast. OK it was fairly standard fare, but the bread was real crusty bread and the fruit salad was made of fresh fruit with not a tinned ingredient in sight. A staff member looked after the buffet throughout, so that everything was kept fresh and clean. Simple, but effective.

I'll definitely stay here again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Clerkenwell
Malmaison London
Malmaison London
#271 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,402 reviews
City of London
London City Suites By Montcalm
South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
#173 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holborn
Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London
Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
#303 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
City of London
The Montcalm at the Brewery London City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines Barbican London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines Barbican London

Property: Citadines Barbican London
Address: 7-21 Goswell Road, London EC1M 7AH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Clerkenwell
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Green Hotel in London
#279 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Citadines Barbican London 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartment hotel with modern accommodations; multilingual staff; situated in the Financial District. Now offering complimentary WiFi throughout the building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Citadines Barbican London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines London Barbican Hotel London
Citadines Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing