We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and good value for London”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Citadines Barbican London
Ranked #426 of 1,068 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Convenient and good value for London”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We chose this hotel because we needed to be close to Barbican. But after a few days we realized that the location is a convenient home base for the whole city. Its just a short walk to Barbican tube which is just 2 stops from Kings Cross. There is a Tesco Metro nearby and plenty of dining choices. Although there is a coin-op washing machine and dryer in the basement (which was broken when we were there) there is also a laundrette across the street. The rooms are small but having a kitchen is very useful.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jonathan62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne C, Manager at Citadines Barbican London, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review. I was happy to read that you had a pleasant stay. We are indeed located centrally and very close to The Barbican Tube station.

Please accept my sincere apologies over the issues with the equipment in the launderette. We immediately called out an engineer to get this sorted as soon as possible.

We do hope that we get the chance to welcome you back to Citadines Barbican in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Anne C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    289
    121
    37
    31
See reviews for
103
204
55
196
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Stayed at this property for a week with my parents. Having stayed in other Somerset and Citadines properties in other countries before, Citadines Barbican meets our expectation. The room is clean and has everything we need during our stay. Kitchenette was very well equipped. Only thing was the hair dryer in my parents' room wasn't really working well. It was not a big problem as my mom could come over to our room to use ours. So we didn't complain to the front desk about this. The room doesn't come with air conditioning. We requested for fan and it was provided promptly. Our rooms were facing the main street at low floors so traffic noise can be quite loud when we left the windows opened. Having hot coffee, tea and chocolate provided to guests for free at the breakfast area was a nice touch.

There are not much surrounding the property but it's very near to Barbican tube station in Zone 1. If you don't mind to walk a bit further, there are a few tube and railway stations such as St Paul's, Farringdon and Angel that could bring you to anywhere in London.

The only disappointment we had during our stay was the tour that we book through the hotel front desk was cancelled without us being informed. The travel agency said they did try contacting us. Not sure whether the travel agency tried calling our room directly or the hotel front desk because the message was never conveyed to us. I feel that the hotel could have handled it better.

Other than those issues, overall it was a pleasant and comfortable stay. Staff were pleasant and all our needs and requests were attended to promptly.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vividplanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne C, Manager at Citadines Barbican London, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I was happy to read that overall you and your family had a pleasant stay. We will be undergoing a full refurbishment to both our rooms and public areas in 2015 and the installation of air conditioning is top of the list during this planned work.

Please accept my sincere apology over the issue with the tour. We have addressed this directly with the tour operator to ensure that this does not happen again.

We do hope that we can welcome you back to Citadines Barbican in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Anne C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We were moved to this hotel as our original hotel had problems in their facilities. The lobby was clean-the breakfast seemed scarce(but there is a breakfast joint not to far away). The subway was nearby but, as tourists, we had to transfer to get to most place, making it not very convenient. Our family of four(two almost frown kids) fit fine in the room/s. It was like a very small apartment with a stocked kitchen, restroom, living room with a queen pull out, and bedroom. What was odd was that all the room had fire-doors which automatically closed-so we had to prop them open with the luggage-the room was clean but the whole hotel looked tired. The staff were not friendly, never greeting us as we came and went, and answered questions with as little info as they could muster. As tourists we were dependent, to a certain degree, on directions and recommendations of the staff, which were not forthcoming so I think we wasted some time looking for restaurants etc. This hotel is not in the tourist area but more a business/student area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rita F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne C, Manager at Citadines Barbican London, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I was really sorry to hear about the issues that you encountered during your recent stay with us. Please do accept my sincere apologies over any inconvenience caused. Please be assured that this is not the standard that we strive to achieve at Citadines Barbican. We will do the necessary retraining with the staff members concerned. They should have been more helpful and offered you any assistance necessary.

We do hope that we can welcome you back to The Ascott group in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Anne C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

This place is handy to the Barbican and city. It is clean and had everything is needed, including a pull out rack over the bath for drying laundry and hangers that you can move - both bonuses if you are staying for a while and want to do hand washing. Tesco is close, Waitrose a wee bit further but an easy stroll . I don't really like pulling my bed down from the wall but it does give you more space once packed away so I'd can see the logic, and it was comfortable. Overall, fine and functional.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenaNZ99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne C, Manager at Citadines Barbican London, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review. I was happy to read that overall you were happy with our product and our services.

Our apartment layout will be relooked at during our refurbishment in 2015. We do hope that we will get the chance to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I was working in Cheapside so the location was perfect, a less than 10 minute walk. Also close the the Smithfield/Faringdon area where there are good restaurant options.

The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. This is an "apart'hotel" so that means that it is, basically, a hotel room with a kitchenette. I did find that it was quite cramped - there wasn't a lot of room between the desk and the bed. The bathroom wasn't enormous.

The free wifi won't be breaking any speed records. Good enough for email but not for Netflix, etc.

So, clean and comfortable, good location, just a bit cramped. Good enough for a couple of nights if you need to stay in this part of the city.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne C, Manager at Citadines Barbican London, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We will certainly be looking at our apartment layout when we do our full refurbishment in 2015. Please accept my apologies over the issues you experienced with the Wi Fi connectivity. We are currently working with our provider to increase the speed and strength of this.

We do hope that we can welcome you back to Citadines Barbican in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Anne C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This was a pretty average hotel, was used for a 3 day business trip. Proximity to tube and the conference hall were both great (less than 5 minute walk to each). Close to coffee shops and restaurants. Room was pretty good - clean, nice bathroom, good bed, good kitchen. The big bottle of water they gave was also great. Only complaint about the room was that there was a sliver of space above the curtain that let in very bright light in the morning. But that's about it. The staff was very friendly and helpful. All in all, a fine hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keem27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne C, Manager at Citadines Barbican London, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. It was good to read that overall you were happy with our product and our services. We will be undergoing a full refurbishment to both our rooms and public areas in 2015.

We do hope that we get to welcome you back to Citadines Barbican in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Anne C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

According to the literature the hotel is available from 2pm for check-in. We arrived at 3pm and were told that the room was not ready and were asked to wait 15 mins, as both my husband and I both have serious medical conditions this was not a first good impression. The room had everything available and was clean. The staff did not take time to explain certain issues, breakfast times, accessing the lift etc.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaddyBear58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne C, Manager at Citadines Barbican London, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I was sorry to read about the issue with the room not be ready at check in time. Please be assured that this is not the standard that we strive to achieve for Citadines Barbican. This issue will be looked into by both our housekeeping and front office team. The issue with the front desk team not been helpful will be addressed by the front office manager and the necessary retraining will be given. Please do accept my sincere apologies over any inconvenience caused. We do hope that we get the chance to welcome you back to Citadines Barbican in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Anne C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
London City Suites By Montcalm
Clerkenwell
Malmaison London
Malmaison London
#260 of 1,068 in London
1,448 reviews
Holborn
Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreditch
Point A Hotel London Shoreditch
Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
#312 of 1,068 in London
546 reviews
Thistle City Barbican
#609 of 1,068 in London
2,979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines Barbican London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines Barbican London

Property: Citadines Barbican London
Address: 7-21 Goswell Road, London EC1M 7AH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Clerkenwell
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Green Hotel in London
#279 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Citadines Barbican London 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartment hotel with modern accommodations; multilingual staff; situated in the Financial District. Now offering complimentary WiFi throughout the building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Citadines Barbican London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines London Barbican Hotel London
Citadines Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing