We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Pleasant Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Citadines South Kensington
Ranked #146 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Arrived early at the hotel and even though it was in the middle of the morning, the check in staff advised us that they had a room available. Check in was quick and easy. Check in staff and staff throughout the hotel are courteous at all times. The check in staff arranged for a member of staff to help us with our bags to the room. Room was located on the third floor. The hotel is currently under refurbishment, but noise was kept down and did not affect our stay at all. Our studio apartment was clean and airy. Toaster, kettle, fridge, stove, microwave crockery and cutlery are provided. Dishwashing liquid and kitchen towels are provided daily as well as tea/coffee for the room. Bathroom amenities are also provided and replenished daily. Housekeeping was good and thorough and a full clean of the apartment is done once every three days but a freshen up is done daily.

Our room was not facing Gloucester road which was great, as those rooms face the very busy road.

The location of the hotel is great. Few minutes away from Gloucester Road underground station. Restaurants and supermarkets are also right at your doorstep.

The only problem is wifi within this property. Although it is complimentary, it is up and down all the time. Not good for business travellers. Hopefully the hotel can get this problem sorted out as many people have already complained about this.

Good and comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amroid22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (918)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

543 - 549 of 919 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2014

Nothing is too much trouble, great location, great apartment, and great service. The apartment we had was clean and comfortable. We particularly appreciated the free coffee in the lobby. It's a nice touch. The room attendants went beyond the call of duty in that they they cleaned the kitchen, All in all five star.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

I had been living in London for the past 2 1/2 years and before heading back to Australia had a final night whereby I had to find myself a hotel. It was in a great location and very accessible (great to just be able to hope on the Picadilly line straight to Heathrow without having to change tubes). Whilst I didn't need the apartment styled self contained facilities and I was happy to walk across the road for a bite of food the accommodation would be great for a business traveller or family that had a longer than one night stay and wanted to cook a couple of meals etc. The staff were courteous and happy to help where required - but then having lived in London I didn't require much from them they were still welcoming nonetheless.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kylzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We booked to stay in the 4 person apartment but this changed to a double and a twin on arrival for no extra cost. The apartment is only a short walk from the Gloucester Road subway station, which made the city easier to navigate. The rooms were clean and modern and serviced daily, with internet included in our price. For a busy city we found the rooms to be very quiet despite being on a busy road but we always felt safe even coming back to the motel very late at night.

Overall our stay was excellent and would recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

My title says it all - great, central location with easy access to the underground and very good value for money. We were all really impressed with this hotel. We booked to stay in the 4 person apartment but got bumped up to a double and a twin on arrival for no extra cost. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giorgiods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We found this place to be comfortable and quiet, it's in a good location from the train station and waking distance to all places of interest. The rooms are clean and modern. Wireless internet is available in the rooms and the small kitchen served us (x4) very we'll. We found the staff helpful and courteous , overall our stay was great and we would recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 13Astroboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We booked a one bedroom Apartment premier which comes with a double bed in the loft upstairs connected by a narrow staircase with sofa bed in the tiny living room situated next to a tiny kitchenette. The size of the apartment suited our family of 4 which consist of 2 adults and 2 children under the age of 8. We spent 6 nights there in total and would say that after staying at another Citadines Prestige apartment in Paris which was just simply amazing, the place in Kensington is just so-so and doesn't really meet our expectations of the quality expected of a Citadines Apartment-Hotel. Firstly, the staff (foreigners with thick European accents) at the reception were not very helpful and kept a rather stern and serious look most of the time. They gave us inaccurate information about tours that are offered and booked through them. They said that the bus would come and pick us up at the hotel but in reality we were required to travel on our own to Victoria Station to meet up with the representatives of the tour company and board the bus. Instead of being more responsive and provide recommendations to tourists on things to do around Kensington and London, they behave in a more reactive manner answering our questions the best they can even though most of the time, the answers were not accurate at all.

Secondly, the apartment was rather old looking and badly needed some sprucing up (which they were painting the corridors in the foyer when we were there). The sofa bed was just uncomfortable and despite having two old looking heaters, the heat is not evenly distributed throughout the entire apartment leaving us feeling chilly one minute and warm in another area.

Thirdly, the free wifi access was a total con job! We could only access wifi intermittently throughout our stay and we informed the staff about it. Hence, by the third day, they installed a router in our room which only made things worse as wifi was suddenly no longer accessible at all despite the staff churning new usernames and passwords each day for us.

Fourthly, the elevators are simply just scary. They badly needed servicing. They malfunctioned during our stay there. Luckily nobody were in them when it happened. They only sent for the repairman the following morning.

Lastly, the only great bit about the place is its location in South Kensington. The neighbourhood is clean and safe to walk even in the evenings. Outside the aparthotel, you will find loads of cafes (Da Mario, reputedly Princess Di's favourite pizzeria is just around the corner), restaurants and supermarkets such as Patridges and Waitrose. Also, it is situated within walking distance of the Science Museum and the Museum of Natural History. The tube is just a short walking distance away and there are plenty of hop on/hop off bus stands around the area as well.

Overall, we would only stay at this aparthotel again primarily because of the neighbourhood that it is situated in and the reasonable prices that they offer but the staff really need to up their game in terms of quality of service and put more effort in maintaining the rooms and the place.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gemstar1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#59 of 1,077 in London
3,870 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Citadines Trafalgar Square London
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
South Kensington
The Queen's Gate Hotel
The Queen's Gate Hotel
#373 of 1,077 in London
1,030 reviews
South Kensington
Fraser Suites Queens Gate
Fraser Suites Queens Gate
#464 of 1,077 in London
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines South Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines South Kensington

Address: 35 Gloucester Road, London SW7 4PQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Green Hotel in London
#151 Romantic Hotel in London
#345 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: £118 - £256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Citadines South Kensington 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartment hotel; some with full kitchens; multilingual staff; restaurant & bar; situated near Kensington Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Citadines South Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines Prestige South Kensington Hotel London
Citadines Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing