We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location - poorly maintained rooms & spotty housekeeping” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Citadines South Kensington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Citadines South Kensington
Ranked #186 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good location - poorly maintained rooms & spotty housekeeping”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed 5 nights in late June. The location is great: museums, parks, playgrounds, cafes and good restaurants all within 5 minutes! In general the front desk service was very good. However, both rooms we were given needed serious maintenance and housekeeping was spotty, at best for the 5 days we were guests. The first room we were given, the air-conditioning did not work in the bedroom upstairs. We were reassigned to another 1 bedroom apartment 3 floors down and while the location in the hotel was better and the air-conditioning worked, the lack of maintenance was noticeable: paint chipping, bathroom door rotted and warped on the bottom, very dusty carpet upstairs and smudged/marked walls in the entry. Upstairs bedroom was two twin beds pushed together that were reasonably comfortable. The pull-out couch downstairs was incredibly uncomfortable. Housekeeping was spotty at times and thorough at other times. Overall, we would not return to this location unless there was a major remodel and significant improvement in housekeeping.

Room Tip: 2 - 5 the floors are good and windows keep street noise to a minimum. 6th floor rooms have a roofin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank VoyageConsciente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    284
    289
    63
    32
    21
See reviews for
290
163
41
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

A group of 9 of us recently stayed here. On arrival we were welcomed warmly by staff and were upgraded to 3 apartments from the 2 we had booked to allow us lots more space at no extra cost. The apartments were all very clean and had air conditioning and comfortable beds - even the sofa bed! The kitchen was well equipped and the dishwasher very useful. The apartments are situated a short walk from the tube station. The lobby area downstairs is well presented and has a coffee machine which is a nice touch. Overall a very pleasant stay, polite and helpful staff. I would definitely recommend staying here.

Room Tip: The split level apartments sleep 4/5, but if you're here for a longer term stay I would recommen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AC1234321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabor T, General Manager at Citadines South Kensington, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay at Citadines Prestige South Kensington.

We appreciate your feedback, as we like to take on board any comments and suggestions that can help us to improve our services.

I’m very glad to hear that your stay was so positive. We are happy to have met your expectations in service and quality standards. Receiving such positive feedback from our guests, motivates us to further improve our commitment to delivering good service.

I hope we are able to further exceed your expectations should you stay with us again, we very much look forward to welcoming you back to our residence.

Yours Sincerely,
Gabor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abergele, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Very impressed by these apartments. Very well equipped.We had an apartment on the first floor but street noise was hardly noticeable. Central location and close to the tube and supermarket. Used the attached bar for breakfast and found the staff to be very friendly and the food well priced.
The sting in the tail refers to the invoice on checkout which showed that the price for the last night-1st July was double the cost of the previous 2. Presumably because we were in ? peak season. As we weren't going to use any facilities for food prep for the following day i would have moved to a hotel for the last night at half the cost. However as we used Booking. Com i will also take this up with them. Other sites show the cost of each night and not just the total. That said i would highly recommend these apts. and would use again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank 233janet_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

good location but room in poor condition and cleaning services very inadequate. washing machine and dryer was ridiculously expensive £9 for a single wash + dry.

online booking system was terrible. finally had to call to sort out the bookong.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TCTF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

The location was good, our air conditioner did not work in the first room we were in, but when we were relocated to another room it was good. We couldn't get the WIFI to work which was a little disappointing, but on the whole we enjoyed our stay. The kitchen was handy, we bought our groceries at the Tesco store up the road. The apartment was not far away from Gloucester Road Station which was handy for travel. We would recommend the Citadines to stay to others. Having the laundromat in the basement was great for us. Our room was serviced every day and the apartment was very clean all the time. We really enjoyed our stay. Thank you.

Room Tip: We had a corner suite, which was a little more spacious. Having the hallway within the unit was exc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ruth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Cosy and clean serviced apt. Helpful though not the most informed front desk staff. Angeline was one of the more helpful ones. Another front desk staff did not even know the television listing for World Cup. Given the time of the year, it was quite a surprise that he could not provide this information though it was evident that there was a channel showing the WC matches.
There’s a nice coffee machine near the entrance and it’s promptly refilled. Good for those who need a cuppa first thing in the morning.
Conveniently located near the tube station and supermarkets. Nice eateries just round the corner. Feels like a very safe district. Can do a nice morning walk to Kensington Gardens / Hyde Park.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sellabathma K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Our family of 3 stayed for 4 nights. Tight in all quarters for 3 tall people but managed. NO A/C or Vents in bathrooms-extremely hot. Keep the main door to living quarters open at all times.Bed and sofa bed pretty comfortable. Cheap tubs-crack which grew with time. WiFi poor( intermittent). If you depend on your computer constantly, my advise is pick another place. Enjoyed the hospitality station in front lobby. The Hotel is situated in a quiet and cute village with lots of good places to eat for all meals. The Underground is a few blocks away and very convenient..get the Oyster card..what you don't use may be reimbursed. A nice walk to wonderful stores and Hyde Park. We spent most of our time away from the Hotel. I would recommend this place for the location but disappointed in the price for what you get.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lynn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Fraser Suites Queens Gate
Fraser Suites Queens Gate
#424 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#61 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,532 reviews
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Citadines Trafalgar Square London
South Kensington
The Queen's Gate Hotel
The Queen's Gate Hotel
#338 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
South Kensington
Rydges Kensington London
Rydges Kensington London
#357 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines South Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines South Kensington

Property: Citadines South Kensington
Address: 35 Gloucester Road, London SW7 4PQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Green Hotel in London
#151 Romantic Hotel in London
#271 Family Hotel in London
#346 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Citadines South Kensington 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartment hotel; some with full kitchens; multilingual staff; restaurant & bar; situated near Kensington Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Citadines South Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines Prestige South Kensington Hotel London
Citadines Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing