We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lower priced alternative, but needs some attention”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Citadines South Kensington
Ranked #146 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 1 December 2006

Just returned from an 8 night stay.
The pros:
-close to tube (3 blocks)\
-walking distance to Kensington Palace, museums, Kensington High St shopping
-kitchenette
-restaurants and supermarkets very close
-very safe, residential area

The cons:
-apartment needs renovation-the sofa, carpets, and walls are worn and dirty in places
-had to go to lobby to use the wifi internet-in room router did not work for ANYONE from the States
-dishwasher did not work properly, despite 2 requests for maintenance
-telephone did not work, causing us to (almost) miss a wakeup call and several phone calls

Would I stay again? I would probably check out the Trafalgar Square location, just to save some time on the Tube. Howver, management really needs to renovate. While the rooms are "clean", there was quite a bit of visible build up of dirt on the walls and baseboards, and the sofa was quite dirty.

  • Stayed: November 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank SA Tripster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (952)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

708 - 714 of 952 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2006

We booked Citadines thru a London apartment agency for a recent family trip to London and were quite disappointed. The apartment was very small and well worn. The air conditioning was either not working or turned up very warm. The service was mediocre. We had to follow up to get our one cleaning for the week. We booked for 4 people, but they only gave us 3 bath towels and then made us pay for the extra towels. The people working the front desk were pleasant but not helpful. They missed our wake up call and would not help with a simple request to print a boarding pass for our flight out.
It was nice to have a small kitchen in the room to prepare easy meals or breakfast.
Overall, I would not recommend this location for families.

  • Stayed: June 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank gilbert60305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2006

I had to check out early at this hotel! Their rooms are not air conditioned and had little to no ventilation! Add to that a London heatwave and you have a recipe for misery! Partly my fault as I ssumed Citadines would be air-conditioned. Partly theirs as when you ask them they claim their rooms are "air cooled". What is up with that? If you are going in Fall, WInter, or Spring, I would say book this place but as for summer, stay away!

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Raisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Vancouver Canada
13
Reviewed 15 June 2006

Great location, close to the tube station, grocery store, bakery just two blocks away. Royal Albert Hall is 5 min walk , Harrods 15 min. Get a tube pass which includes the bus (stop accross the street) My sister and I stayed there for 10 days and felt it was our home away from home. The staff are friendly and helpful .We had planned to cook our dinners in, that didn't last long as we found so many restaurants within easy walking distance. After touring the busy parts of the city it was great to come "home" and re-group in our quiet, cosy surrondings. Our unit was a located on the first floor, with bedroom and bathroom upstairs, kitchen and sitting area, with TV downstairs. Wireless internet is available in the lobby, which been a non smoker I found it hard to spend too much time there, but I understand they are in the process of installing connection in the rooms. My next stay to London will definetly include the Citidines Kennsington.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Fresno CA
17
Reviewed 8 June 2006

We have stayed at the Citadines South Kensington four times and each time we enjoy the place more. We were there last month and were able to check in early. The lift was not working and we had to walk up five floor with our luggage. We didn't really mind because we were getting into the room early. As I was huffing up the stairs to the second floor, along comes a young man who works there and asked what floor we were on--the next thing I knew, he was carrying my luggage up to our room. We had just stayed there a few months ago and it seemed like the people behind the desk this time were much more helpful than previous stays. We love the location--it's great to have the tube close by and our choice of supermarkets to shop. We had a room facing the back this time and it was very quiet--looked out onto the mews and it was a lovely view. We tried a twin bed room and were very happy with it. We usually stay in the room with the sofa bed and it was very nice not to have to open and close the bed--plus the mattresses were much better! The room seemed bigger with the twins too--hard to walk around when the sofa bed was open. Can't wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Bangalore, India
12
Reviewed 1 June 2006

Absolutely wonderful sense of customer service...

I had queried about availability of a taxi cab to take me to the airport, but the taxi driver fell ill that day, and the front office manager (not sure of his name, but mentioned that he was Egyptian) gladly offered to drive me to the airport at 6:30 am.... I mean, who would expect the manager of a hotel to drive you to the airport in his car when anyone would normally hail another cab for you?

I rate this apart'hotel the best in Customer Service :-)

  • Stayed: March 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2006

Family of four stayed in a top floor DOUBLE HEIGHT! apartment the week of April 9th 2006.

Amazing amount of space for family with teenagers. (Non smokers stayed in smoking apartment and had no trouble.) Made our first trip to London extremely comfortable. Kitchenette is helpful for easy breakfasts and quick dinners.

Staff was accomodating. Early check in, extra towels on request.

Location is wonderful. Easy tube ride to all. Nice to come back to a quieter neighborhood after a day of touring.

Food stores near by. Restaurants; recommend Jakobs at 20 Glouchester Rd. Organic middle eastern food. Delicious! Lovely host!

The multi day passes for the tube and bus are wonderful.

Recommend the Eye, the restaurant in the crypt of St Martin's in the Fields, the Cabinet War Rooms and just strolling the streets of this great city.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kashohny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Queen's Gate Hotel
The Queen's Gate Hotel
#381 of 1,081 in London
1,048 reviews
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#61 of 1,081 in London
3,896 reviews
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Fraser Suites Queens Gate
Fraser Suites Queens Gate
#491 of 1,081 in London
618 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Citadines Trafalgar Square London
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines South Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines South Kensington

Address: 35 Gloucester Road, London SW7 4PQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Green Hotel in London
#151 Romantic Hotel in London
#342 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: £119 - £261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Citadines South Kensington 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartment hotel; some with full kitchens; multilingual staff; restaurant & bar; situated near Kensington Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Citadines South Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines Prestige South Kensington Hotel London
Citadines Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing