We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Kings Hotel is a great value!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kings Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kings Hotel
Ranked #1,005 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Lincoln City, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Kings Hotel is a great value!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

After reading some negative reviews, I was worried about whether my stay would be pleasant at the Kings Hotel. But I need not have been concerned. When I arrived on September 27,2013, I was checked into a clean, newly remodeled room...yes, it was small, but it was comfortable and completely adequate. The location was ideal - just a block from Hyde Park and a three minute walk to Queensway tube. Groups of foreign students came and went as hotel guests during my eight day stay, and they all were well behaved with no noisy late night disturbances. Best of all was the helpful staff - and especially Sylvia - who went far beyond the normal level of assistance to make my stay pleasant, safe, and comfortable! It is a budget hotel, but it offers an outstanding experience for a reasonable price.

Estle
Lincoln City, OR

Room Tip: Be specific about what you need, as the hotel is quite accommodating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Estle2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    34
    71
    64
    169
See reviews for
105
49
18
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

This is the most disgusting hotel I've ever been in, filthy and the worst customer service EVER. When we arrived we walked in to reception and the staff didn't say a word to us! When we went up to our room which was dirty, dusty, rubbish under the beds, broken towel rail, blood on the pillow case, mattresses filthy stained and about 100 years old. There was a fan attached to the wall above a bed, hairdryer wires taped up, burnt out and cracked plug sockets, filthy bathroom, curtains, you had to wait 3 minutes to flush the toilet!? We complained and the manager came to look and asked why we'd pulled the bed out, didn't apologise once then said he'd get it sorted and that it was a basic room. I understand it's basic but it should be clean!! When we discovered the state of the mattresses we went to speak to the manager again and found that water was leaking through the light on the stairs, we told the girl at reception who didn't seem to be surprised and didn't act on it!! No one came to speak to us again so we decided to ask for a full refund and went to another hotel. They were not bothered one bit. I have no idea how that place is still open. Avoid at all costs.

Room Tip: Avoid at all costs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sw1232013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

Stayed here on 7 Sept '13 in Room 42. On the top floor, no lift. No fire escape, hair dryer with no plug and wire fixed direct into plug socket. Don't believe this has had a fire and safety inspection for a decade and can't understand how it remains open. Holes in ceiling, skirting board caked in layers of old paint. Bathroom 30 years old, no wash basin plug, washers on taps useless, couldn't turn taps on. Didn't dare try a shower, bath enamel all chipped. Bed old, lumpy didn't dare look at mattress, filthy base. A ceiling fan fitted but it was filthy and noisy. Arrived just in time for Proms in the Park so no time to try elsewhere. DO NOT STAY HERE!!! You have been warned

Room Tip: I wouldn't think there is a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 696Rosemary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

I stayed at the Kings hotel in August - I wish I would have stayed somewhere else. It is the dirtiest place I have ever been to. The hotel staff couldn't care less. My bathroom door couldn't be opened from the outside, and it took a good while and a lot of patience to get that sorted, but that was the least of the problems at the hotel. My friends stayed in a triple room in the basement - the room was as hot as a sauna and there were rats in the walls. They were promised a move to another room after the first night, but the move fell through, and they had to sleep with the rats two nights before they got another room on the second floor. The rooms are filthy, and I can't even begin to describe the beds. I won't go anywhere near this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anu T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

We had a one night stay here and never again, it's terrible!!!!! All the reviews on here are true. Our room was filthy, the bed was broken, bathroom dirty, there was a cupboard which had stale food in had obviously been in there for a while, mould on the walls, the hotel needs a full refurbishment.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ric9903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

Met friends in London who were staying here and went to check in with them. On check in the manager was rung and told them they had moved my friends to a different hotel, a 10 minute taxi ride away! Told them it was not acceptable as this hotel had been chosen due to it being close to friends in a nearby place. After a bit of persuasion they were allowed to stay in kings and manager said he would ask a different booking to move hotels! Average rooms and not great bathrooms, shocking service.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellena0593
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerrykeel, Ireland
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

We stayed in a triple room on the bottom floor. This room was nice but very small and cramped. There was no air conditioning so the room got very hot and the window only opened into what seemed like a shed so no air was coming in this made the room very stuffy. On the first night staying here we were woken to the sound of something nawing on the inside of the walls ( clearly a rodent) this went on for hours so we eventually went down to reception to complain. They sent someone up to investigate and they confirmed that that's what it must be but didn't apoligise and only offered to move or room the next day at 2pm so we were stuck with a rat for the night. The next room was up six flights of stairs and the hotel didn't have any lift so we had to haul our heavy suitcases up the stairs and they never offered to help us even though we were clearly struggling.This room was much worse it was dirty and badly in need of refurbishment. The staff there couldn't of been less helpful when we asked about local shops and taxi's and the Continental breakfast contained a stale croissant and a slice of toast got looked at like we had ten heads when we asked for a glass of water. Would not recommend this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RachR765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Troy Hotel
#587 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
Comfort Inn Hyde Park
#504 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
MStay 39 Studios
#609 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Byron Hotel
#492 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
Central Park Hotel
#864 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,505 reviews
Marylebone
London Kings Hotel
London Kings Hotel
#58 of 567 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Hotel

Property: Kings Hotel
Address: 60-62 Queensborough Terrace, London W2 3SH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,005 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Kings Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Kings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing