We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family affairs”
Review of Notting Hill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Notting Hill Hotel
Ranked #871 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Family affairs”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Our stay in the Notting Hill Hotel was terrible. The room (nr. 15) was dirty, the matras was old and ackward, the walls were full of stains, the bathroom was like an pre-war East European one, etc etc.
Besides that the staff was not too pleasant. When I asked for an international charger it was like I asked for a golden bar. And the most annoying thing was that we heard the family- who runs the hotel- constantly arguing. "Nicholas this, Nicholas that" followed by a slammed door. Two nights in a row...never again. It is a shame, because the location was perfect.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SDB860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    19
    51
    41
    72
See reviews for
27
52
25
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

On the positive side, this hotel has a great location. Just off notting hill station. Nice quiet road. But as you approach it, you get a clue of what you are in for. It's the most dilapidated building on the street, a theme that continues inside. The bedrooms are tiny, although they were clean. Bathrooms are very compact and ours had a broken door and toilet seat. At £95 a night, I find this a total rip off.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MiaandHunts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2013

I emailed hotel to book 3 nights twin room from 18 July, included my mobile phone number. received email confirmation. Did not read all the way down to see they wanted email address and mobile number which they had, time of arrival at airport ( travelling from within the UK by train) and full postal address. Why would they need this? Arrival to be before 6.00 pm or room would be cancelled. Arrived at about 3.00 pm. Told that room was cancelled - very unhelpful staff. Place looked dirty and dingy so on balance glad we went elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janehelen2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2013

There were three of us staying on a very limited budget. We found this hotel to be exactly what we needed. Clean sheets, shower, helpful friendly staff. Right around the corner from restaurants, movie theaters, and shopping. A couple of minutes walk to Portobello Market. Close walk through Kensington Park and Palace. Very conveniently located around the corner from the underground.I would stay here again. If you are looking for luxurious accomodations, look elsewhere. If you want an inexpensive safe nights sleep, this is your place.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiddo911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Do not stay here unless you have to be close to Portobello road. The rooms are aweful, and the beds are hard and unfresh. The area is beautiful though, so it`s a good base if that`s what you`re about.

Room Tip: Use Hotwire instead, and get a real hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Warrenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 March 2013

In many places I have seen , good , that was the worst. First - no possibility to make tea or coffe in room , no shampoo , just two bars of soap!!! Dirty silly, carpet, dust behind the desk. And stuff... hmmm Someone when I was about to eat something was in my room to switch my laptop.When I came back there was note with my key to not left laptop on bed. Ok, my fault... That was no reason of this visit.It was 4 hours after check in, so I was very surprised. I'm travelling in business with friends (in their room closet had just one doors!!!), and had some visitors, as they did. When one of my friends came, he was stopped, because man in reception was informed there is 5 people already in my room. I go downstairs, we took 'extra large' lift and when we get to 4th floor, man from reception was upstairs already, to 'check'. I asked him to come in and 'count'. He was very nice . After night another terrible surprise !!! Breakfast !!! Burned cold toasts , butter , jam , some fruits. Serials all around. Dirty plates on tables - its hard to clean up when you have no time because you are busy in toasts preparation !!!
In one word - never again

Room Tip: there is no good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Utomou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

The sellotape holding the doorbell together was a good indication of things to come. If the Notting Hill Hotel were a themed hotel it might be described as 'Shabby Chic' except it isn't chic.

Our room was small with furniture that looked like it had been rescued from a fire. The bathroom was so small one had to come out of it to get dry, the shower spurted water at all angles, some of it even went in the shower tray. The toilet, for some bizarre reason was about two inches lower than the standard toilet which meant I jarred my back on the first visit and had to exercise caution on subsequent visits. The walls were stained and the tiles were mouldy, I felt a little sorry for the chambermaid who had seen fit to fold the first toilet roll sheet to a neat little point, but would have been better employed re-grouting the tiles.

There were no tea and coffee making facilities in the room, but facilities were provided in the squat that was laughingly called the 'resident's lounge', paper cups and smart price coffee, and a somewhat dodgy kettle. The 'free' breakfast comprised of cereal and toast which was okay but had to been eaten in a strange Moroccan themed underground bunker, that smelt of damp and cornflakes.

The staff were indifferent and a little unkempt and tired as if they themselves had spent a night in the hotel. To be fair the bedding and towels were clean and the room was warm. My partner and I both agreed we had enjoyed a good night's sleep...this was largely due to the fact that we walked the streets of London until the early hours unable to face going back to our room until utterly exhausted.

Room Tip: Choose a different Hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Notting Hill
Notting Hill Gate Hotel
Notting Hill Gate Hotel
#828 of 1,063 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Notting Hill
The Abbey Court Notting Hill
The Abbey Court Notting Hill
#607 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Notting Hill
The Laslett
The Laslett
#342 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notting Hill
The Premier Notting Hill
The Premier Notting Hill
#349 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,434 reviews
Notting Hill
Portobello Hotel
Portobello Hotel
#562 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Notting Hill
The Royale Chulan Hyde Park Hotel London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Notting Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Notting Hill Hotel

Property: Notting Hill Hotel
Address: 2 Pembridge Square | Bayswater, London W2 4EW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #871 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Notting Hill Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Notting Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Notting Hill
Notting Hill London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing