We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but needs some work, and staff training”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Britannia Hampstead Hotel
Ranked #939 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location but needs some work, and staff training”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

I read reviews before traveling and I was ready for the experience. The hotel is near station, but for me it was the small things that added up. The shower handle kept falling off, there was only small light in the bathroom, which meant the shower was almost in darkness.
I asked about a vegetarian breakfast and you would have thought I had asked for a 5 course meal. I had to pay for the continental breakfast the night before, which was GBP5.50, but this didn't seem to be recorded anywhere, despite the painful procedure the night before of handing over cash, as it couldn't be added to the room charge, or pre-authorised on the credit card. I was therefore almost called a liar, as I hadn't been given any receipt for the cash paid for breakfast.

In the morning, I saw that I could in fact eat the beans and egg so I did. I had to pay another GBP 5 which was demanded off me. I felt that there was no ability to trust guests here. The lady had to get her manager and I therefore got the impression that there is no trust amongst the staff too.

I also got this impression at check in and check out where all queries had to be run past a superior. I realise that English isn't the first language for the staff, and I am ok with that. However, they need to be given some discretion to make their own decisions, which would aid a better stay. I felt like a criminal over a lousy 5 pounds and will not be staying there again.

Upon a very painful checkout, I was given someone elses invoice, and only when I stated it wasn't mine, one was promised to be emailed to me. It came by email an hour later.
If you do stay here:

Get a receipt for everything as it is a manual process they have for everything.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,016 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    205
    284
    183
    286
See reviews for
176
344
69
153
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

This was my second stay at the Britannia, the first in June 2012, I stayed between 2 rooms on this trip and both rooms were in reasonable condition. Due to location I decided to book again with Superbreak but was disgusted at the room provided, it was a basement room and I would imagine there are prison cell's in better condition. There was no space to move, the room had no window and the smell of damp was awful, there was a dead fly squashed into the bathroom wall, hairs all over the bathroom, the shower curtain and bath mat were mouldy and there were various unidentifiable stains that I don't even want to think about! The staff were all of variable standard, whilst waiting in the bar for a taxi I was lucky enough to hear how bad they have it working there as one girl moaned on to every other member of staff that she came into contact with. I understand it is a cheap hotel but I’ve stayed in better hostel’s it needs a complete makeover or at the very least a dam good clean!

Room Tip: Request a room above basement level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenni_roberto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

Transferred here after cock up by a nearby Hotel. Reviews below accurate, think 70s seaside Hotel left untouched and you're not far off. Staff friendly & Helpful. Large Twin Room with lumpy beds, clean white bedding, faded water stained curtains, heavy furniture, clunky plumbing, stained upholstery - you get the picture but if you want more than this in a large hotel then it would cost considerably more so ....... All in all ok. Nearest Tube: Chalk Farm. On Bus route C11. Oh and in Hampstead by the skin of its teeth!

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 81splaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We booked here for one night on our way home from France. It's in a decent location and only 5 minutes walk from Chalk Farm tube. It's a bit tired looking with shabby furniture and carpets but we found the staff helpful and friendly. The first room we were offered did not have a functioning toilet so we were moved only to be told to move back as it was miraculously fixed! It wasn't fixed so we stayed in another room which was clean and functional. We ate at the hotel and it was cheap but very poor and the buffet was neither hot nor plentiful. It felt a bit of a shambles and we would not stay again.
Ok for one night but needs a major upgrade. The other hotel we stayed at the start of our holiday was the same price and included breakfast and was much better.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank simpsob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We stayed at The Britannia Hotel in July. It is basic but clean and the staff are friendly. Breakfast was adequate. The hotel was in a very good location,near to underground station and on a bus route. It is easy to reach central London and a short bus ride or 20 min walk to Hampstead. On the whole it is good value for an inexpensive stay close to central London.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goolspnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Upon arrival at the hotel i could see from the shabbiness from the outside that this was going to be a bad experience, but i was hoping I was wrong. (How wrong was I)
As I peeled myself of the carpet in reception I approached the desk with my 2 sons and my disabled daughter who was in a wheelchair.
I waited for 4/5 mins for the receptionist to even acknowledge that I was standing there .
She said check in was 3 o'clock and as it was 2.30 we could not check in , she saw my disabled daughter and said because of her you can check in now ,I just felt she was patronising and very rude, and insensitive.
When we got to our room after much confusion what a state, the bathroom had a oder the wardrobes had no handles on them,chairs were stained , the carpets were filthy and stained , the headboards were not fixed to the bed, the wall paper was hanging off the walls with damp staines everywhere,and to top it all the mattress's were filthy with staines and holes all over them .
There was no way my family were staying here , I got in touch with Thomas Cook straight away and told them how i felt and under no circumstances were we staying in this hotel , And they offer us alternative accommodation .
Please don't think that cause this hotel is in a good location that its worth staying in believe when you get here you will be very disappointed .
How this hotel can advertise these rooms is beyond me , this hotel does not even deserve 1* let alone 3*

Room Tip: dont bother
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank colette115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2013

There was a dried-up stain on the door to the room. We hope is was sputum.
The lock on the door was worn out. Somewhat later I had to call assistance (very friendly) as my key was stuck in the lock and I could not get it out anymore. After a lot of shaking and pushing on the key it came out and the door could be unlocked during the second attempt.

The room was on the backside of the hotel. The windows had not been cleaned for years and the sun shone on the window thus visibility was zero.

In the morning the room was very hot and I do not think that there was an airco or forced ventilation. Anyway at that point we had already decided to leave so I did not check for that.

Toilet seat was loose. The toilet did not flush effectively, requiring filling of a waste-paper bucket from the shower as an alternative.

Breakfast could not be added to the hotel bill but had to be settled on the spot. Friendly staff. Credit card accepted...

Reception staff polite, friendly, helpful.

Room Tip: probably any another hotel will be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oprinsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Camden Lock Hotel
#434 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Camden
Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock
Corner House Hotel
#738 of 1,063 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Britannia International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Hampstead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Hampstead Hotel

Property: Britannia Hampstead Hotel
Address: Primrose Hill Road | Hampstead, London NW3 3NA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #939 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Hampstead Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Commercial Hotel on the north side of Regent's Park in residential Hampstead, 15 minutes from the West End & main line stations. In vicinity of Camden town- London Zoo and Lords cricket ground. Emirates stadium is less than 4 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Britannia Hampstead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Hampstead London
Hotel Britannia Hampstead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing