We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Britannia Hampstead Hotel
Ranked #950 of 1,088 Hotels in London
London
1 review
“Good value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

Spacious rooms, good location.
Problems with availabitily of continental breakfast. Didn't want to sell us continental breakfast.
We booked rooms on the south side well in advance and ended up on the side we didn't want. No explanation given, no chance to change rooms.


  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Kristy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FranciscoSalazar1982, Front Office Manager at Britannia Hampstead Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments – I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards

Kind Regards

Francisco Salazar
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,010 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    204
    284
    181
    283
See reviews for
176
340
69
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

My mum and I stayed here for a week. The prices were good. The bar meals were cheap, delicious and filling. I had to have a parcel delivered to the hotel and they (reception) rang me when it came in and held it for me to pick up. When we checked in we didn't get a key but the staff bent over backwards to help. We finally got the key and the staff were still fabulous. The dinner was buffet and a very good price. With wonderful London Taxis going passed, buses, the tube just down the street it is brilliant Would definitely stay here again! Shops etc within walking distance. Would definitely recommend it to anyone. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ryka2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

On getting there n paying for early check in we were given a key to a room that someone else was already in. When we got a second room we found out late at night the air conditioner for the kitchen which was directly under the window was on all night the noise was hellish! Here was a dead spider in th bathroom n chewing gum fell off the bottom of the table. I always use the country house hotel in Manchester and really like it but this hotel has nothing and was a waste of money. Save yourself the money n book somewhere else!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lellieanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

Being one of those nasty, evil, vile smokers and returning to London after a 30 year hiatus I figured my choice for a smoking room would be limited so I booked a room at the Britannia Hampstead prematurely. (I found many more later.) The room was adequate--it felt like the dorm room I had lived in 30 years ago--though there was a plumbing access panel beneath the sink that I had to pry the tiny plastic trash bin into to keep closed. There was a sign above the tub that warned that the smoke alarm would be set off due to the steam from the shower if the bathroom door wasn't kept closed. (You can smoke in the room but steam will set off the firm alarms?)

The lobby is very dated and in poor repair which is too bad; it could be a nice little boutique hotel if the management cared. The carpet was stained and smelled moldy. Dirty dishes were stacked on a coffee table just inside the pub in plain view of the lobby and were still there a few hours after our arrival. Everything ran on Deeka-time. Deeka was the day time manager and if he told you your room would be ready in 5 minutes, count on it being an hour and five minutes. If he said something was an 8 minute walk away, it was more like 20. If he called you a cab and said it would be there in 15 minutes, try closer to 45.

To be fair, the night time manager was friendly and helpful as was most of the staff. The only saving grace for this hotel was that there was a Starbuck's right around the corner.

Room Tip: I can provide no tip in finding a good room at the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FBHink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

Stayed here on an overnight business trip!....hotel was clean, room was clean, staff polite, rooms comfortable and evening meal was great value at £9 for a hot buffet all you can eat.
Breakfast was outstanding value, £8 and the choice was terrific!! Lovely!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ROB E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

Stayed 2 nights in twin room. Hotel rather in need of some tlc. But room ok, bed linen clean and comfortable. Shower hot and powerful.Breakfast not the best but adequate. Staff very welcoming and helpful. From hotel lovely walk through park and onto Regents Park for canal walk to Camden Lock/ Little Venice. Would go back again if on a travel deal but not at full rate.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

stopped one night (saturday 21st sept) room only booked that morning as taking son to university and his student accomodation in Camden and this nearest hotel.
Booked a double,room only for £99 but got two singles pushed together! however linen clean and beds comfortable. Shower pathetic in terms of power but did the job. Room clean but tired.
didnt eat but had a look, glad we didnt. Bar a surprise A REALLY GOOD PINT SAN MIGUEL IN BRANDED GLASS £3-50! cheaper than Yorkshire:).
Location excellent 5 mins chalk farm tube, 10 ish minutes to Camden.
Even though had my card details via booking.com had to pay on check in and wouldnt let me put drinks on my room tab.
THOUGHTS
Lots of potential if refurbished Camden a thriving area
Staff polite
car parking if room £10 a day so excellent value
would I be happy if paid rack rate of £140 NO

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yorkshirejohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Camden Lock Hotel
#428 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Camden
Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock
Corner House Hotel
#742 of 1,088 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Britannia International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Hampstead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Hampstead Hotel

Property: Britannia Hampstead Hotel
Address: Primrose Hill Road | Hampstead, London NW3 3NA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #950 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Hampstead Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Commercial Hotel on the north side of Regent's Park in residential Hampstead, 15 minutes from the West End & main line stations. In vicinity of Camden town- London Zoo and Lords cricket ground. Emirates stadium is less than 4 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Britannia Hampstead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Hampstead London
Hotel Britannia Hampstead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing