We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a window would be nice..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Britannia Hampstead Hotel
Ranked #944 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Reviewed 5 January 2014

me and my boyfriend stayed here on the 3rd January for one night having bought a deal through groupon. the location of the hotel was fab in terms of being close to a tube station that had great connections but other than that the hotel isn't anything to shout about. as we were placed in a basement room we were rather unhappy with the room as it slightly resembled a prison due to the lack of light.. a bit of daylight might have been nice. I think the description of the room being a city room and all was rather ironic as we could not see any of the city from our dungeon abode.
the hotel was fine for what we needed it for as we only dumped our bags and slept there and did not have the breakfast included as it looked vile so if you are looking just for a place to sleep and get ready then this is fine.
p.s. never got the free bottle of prosecco we was promised but hey ho!!

Room Tip: do not get a city room - it's a dungeon!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sammygaulter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FranciscoSalazar1982, Front Office Manager at Britannia Hampstead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Many thanks for the review. We always welcome feedback and my team and I are glad that you overall enjoyed your stay with us. I hope we can be part of your future travel plans.

I am sorry to hear that you did not like our rooms in basement, please let us know next time you book with us, so that we can allocate you upper floors with windows.

Kind Regards

Francisco Salazar
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,051)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

464 - 470 of 1,051 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2014

Stay clear of thiis hotel, tired, dirty.
Staff the most unhelpful I've ever come across.
The room they gave us was unsuitable for a family, we're eventually given another room.
Plumbing was a disgrace, flush hanging out of wall. Shower over bath, mouldy, base of bath dirty with thick lime scale, wouldn't even have bathed the dog in it.
Curtains hanging down from the tracks. Windows filthy, covered in black mould.
The breakfast, which we did't eat look gross, the croissants were stale, hard and cold.
The coffee and tea was in dirty stained thermos flasks (and that was the outside).
We booked this as a theatre package through superbreaks.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sian d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FranciscoSalazar1982, Front Office Manager at Britannia Hampstead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Thank you for your review, I am sorry that you have been disappointed with your stay at Britannia Hotel. All feedback is treated with the utmost seriousness and we will investigate your comments with a mind to improve our service to all our guests.

Kind regards,

Francisco Salazar
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

having read number of the reviews we were a little concerned as to what standard this accommodation was however we were pleasantly surprised- the hotel its self is 10 minutes from the chalk farm tube station which is 15 minutes the centre of London in a nice area
our room was of a good standard clean large twin room,bath/shower etc if a little dated no concerns
breakfast was as expected -the usual from a traditional English or cereal as you would expect from a budget hotel -very average
look we booked this through superbreaks for £269-which included return train travel for 2 from Edinburgh,2nights b&b at the hotel,2 unlimited oyster cards and a trip on the thames .so overall we got a great deal you couldn't book it yourself separately for less so very pleased

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cameronEdinburghUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FranciscoSalazar1982, Front Office Manager at Britannia Hampstead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Many thanks for the review. We always welcome feedback and my team and I are glad that you overall enjoyed your stay with us. I hope we can be part of your future travel plans.

Kind Regards

Francisco Salazar
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

me and my partner stayed in an 'executive' suite there over the new year for 3 nights and it had to be the worst hotel we've stayed in and made it difficult to enjoy our break in London. The bathroom had brown mould all over the floor and the plug in the bath was black. We also found blood on the floor and duvet, and hairs on our pillows and dampness around the windows. The curtains were run down and the location wasn't great at all as it's situated nearby to se high rise flats. Upon arrival the staff member on duty told us to 'WAIT' in a very sharp and awful tone of voice after us saying excuse me to her. I could go on but there would be nothing good for me to say; advise from us is just dont waste your money here!!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JN994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FranciscoSalazar1982, Front Office Manager at Britannia Hampstead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Thank you for your review, I am sorry that you have been disappointed with your stay at Britannia Hotel. All feedback is treated with the utmost seriousness and we will investigate your comments with a mind to improve our service to all our guests.

Kind regards,

Francisco Salazar
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

...but not much!
Having read the other reviews I did approach my stay here with some trepidation. Check in was fine but reception somewhat dirty. Placed in a basement room the walk along the corridor was accompanied by the unsubtle smell of sewage with a background damp odour.
Room was small with the wardrobe put in front of the wooden shutter that may have been once a window - presumably as some sort of security measure. Bathroom was clean but had a makeshift frosted window frosted with stick on plastic sheet.
Arriving back quite late (it was New Years) the night reception security guard looked a bit grubby but was helpful enough so can't complain. Back to the room and time for bed, not very comfortable and probably over 20 years old. Room was noisy but was to be expected at this time of year.
Overall the hotel is very tatty but not bad priced and in a convenient location so as long as you know what you are letting yourself in for book with caution.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Guest00007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FranciscoSalazar1982, Front Office Manager at Britannia Hampstead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Many thanks for the review. We always welcome feedback and my team and I are glad that you overall enjoyed your stay with us.

I am sorry that you were dissapointed with our basement, in my opinion rooms are ok due to they have been refurbished recently, I am sorry to hear that you found smelly corridors. I will investigate it and make sure it will not happen again.


Kind Regards

Francisco Salazar
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We have traveled extensively and stayed in several London hotels. We were given a basement room - horrible! Unclean, smelled of mold, shabby, tiny, no hair dryer, towels like dish rags, and very over-priced. I refused to sleep under the covers because of the filth. Couldn't move because of holiday and we only were staying one night do stuck it out. The front desk attendant when checking in was extremely rude and unhelpful. When we reported this to the manager upon checking out, he didn't seem at all concerned - told us that "maybe she was having a bad day!" Hello! This is the hospitality industry! Do yourself a favor and stay away from this place. For the price, there are many other places of much better quality.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DFinSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

My husband and I stayed here in September 2013. We were put in a basement room, which was basic and clean BUT very near a function room so it was noisy. Also, the corridors getting to the room were filthy! It looked like they hadn't hoovered for weeks and the white doors were grey they were so dirty. The breakfast we paid for was all cold and we didn't even bother eating it the second morning! The overall look of the reception was very shabby. It looked like it hadn't been decorated in years! I would only advise staying here if you are on a higher floor as these rooms look nicer and may be more pleasant. We will not stay there again!

Room Tip: Check you are on a higher floor and skip the breakfast option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FranciscoSalazar1982, Front Office Manager at Britannia Hampstead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

I am sorry that you have been disappointed with your stay at Britannia Hotel. All feedback is treated with the utmost seriousness and we will investigate your comments with a mind to improve our service to all our guests.


I'm sorry that your stay was disappointing as a result of our restaurant food. I can assure you that the matter is being looked into and will be dealt with accordingly.

Kind regards,

Francisco Salazar
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Camden Lock Hotel
#434 of 1,076 in London
645 reviews
Corner House Hotel
#767 of 1,076 in London
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Camden
Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Britannia International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Hampstead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Hampstead Hotel

Address: Primrose Hill Road | Hampstead, London NW3 3NA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #944 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Price Range: £52 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Hampstead Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Commercial Hotel on the north side of Regent's Park in residential Hampstead, 15 minutes from the West End & main line stations. In vicinity of Camden town- London Zoo and Lords cricket ground. Emirates stadium is less than 4 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Britannia Hampstead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Hampstead London
Hotel Britannia Hampstead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing