We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Britannia Hampstead Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$357
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$318
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$308
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$239
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$222
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$215
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$200
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$176
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$161
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Tower(London)(Great Value!)
US$156
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$383
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$178
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$234
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$187
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$204
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$256
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$216
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,120)
Filter reviews
1,120 results
Traveller rating
62
215
309
207
327
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
62
215
309
207
327
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
500 - 505 of 1,120 reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Having read previous reviews, we were expecting the worst...however, upon arrival we were pleasantly greeted and provided with requested information on local transport and directions. The room was very clean and although a little dated and lacking a bit of love and care (ripped headboard and hole in bathroom floor)- was warm and cosy. We had a room on the top floor and had no problem with noise from the street below. We proceeded down to the bar and a bottle of house wine was reasonably priced at 9.95.,although we did the same the second night and got a totally different bottle. Breakfast was ok.. although the bacon was quite fatty , both the mushrooms and tomatoes were tinned but all items were readily available at 9.00am during the week (last orders 9.30 week days). Car parking was fairly limited - probably about 10-12 spaces at £10 per day. The hotel - as mentioned in previous reviews - does need up dating, however the staff were always polite and helpful . ( I always believe in treating people with respect- and then they will treat you with respect). we had an enjoyable stay but feel maybe a little financial investment from the owning company is required to bring this hotel into the 21st century, it has the staff, it has the location, just missing on an opportunity to be 4 stars

Room Tip: top floor was quiet
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pete g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FranciscoSalazar1982, Front Office Manager at Britannia Hampstead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments – I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

I stayed here the wknd with my husband. On arrival we were pretty much unhappy! Got a drink at the bar, served in a dirty glass. Went to room to see a pretty shabby excuse for a room. Small bed with a thin duvet, shabby curtains, hairs in the bath. Asked for extra blanket and told I'll be fine as the heat has been on all day... Next morning NO hot water.. went to the bar for soft drink; had to wait half an hr to be told there's none!! had to get water instead.. It was cheap to stay in but it could have been a little cheerful.. Won't be staying again and Will definitely not be recommending for anyone to stay in..

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RedMurphy21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FranciscoSalazar1982, Front Office Manager at Britannia Hampstead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Thank you for your review,

I am sorry that you have been disappointed with your stay at Britannia Hotel. All feedback is treated with the utmost seriousness and we will investigate your comments with a mind to improve our service to all our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

i took my son here for a nights stay on a kgb deal and i think this was the problem. trying to get the travel passes included with the deal was hard work and we were promised bar food which we were told was unavailable when we got back to the hotel.staff were condascending, confrontactional, arrogant and threataning

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank rilo495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FranciscoSalazar1982, Front Office Manager at Britannia Hampstead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Thank you for your review, I am sorry that you have been disappointed with your stay at Britannia Hotel. All feedback is treated with the utmost seriousness and we will investigate your comments with a mind to improve our service to all our guests.

I'm surprised to read your comments regarding service as you can see from previous reviews, our team has always had positive feedback however I will investigate all comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

You only get the basics in this hotel,that is all it is a budget hotel.
The bed linen on one of our beds was dirty on arrival at the hotel at about 1 pm,we asked for it to be changed when we went to bed on the night it hadn't been Donne the receptionist brought clean sheets and asked if we could do it ourselves as the housekeeping staff had gone !!
The next morning there was no hot water all day as they were having problems so no showers.
The staff were friendly but some could hardly understand English.
Breakfast is from 7.30 -10 am,we went at 9 and the dishes were empty,we had to wait 10 mins for bacon so we just gave up.next morning we went at 8am and the breakfast was good and plentiful,so make sure you go early.
All in all it is just a budget hotel but they need better management to keep it up to even basic standard ,I have read other reviews who were happy with the hotel and obviously people's views differ,but we stopped in room 208 and there was black damp around the window.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foxtrot1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FranciscoSalazar1982, Front Office Manager at Britannia Hampstead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Many thanks for the review. We always welcome feedback and my team and I are glad that you overall enjoyed your stay with us. I hope we can be part of your future travel plans.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Visiting London on a budget isn't easy, this hotel suited our needs perfectly. Easy access to the Underground, therefore ideal for theatre breaks/sightseeing. Room (111) was a good size, beds were very comfortable, linen was spotless. Self service breakfast with enough choice for vegetarians and an amazing vegetarian restaurant a few minutes walk away. Yes, the furnishings are dated and a bit tatty and the bathroom was steamy and tired looking but this was reflected in the price we paid. I'd definitely use this hotel again.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FranciscoSalazar1982, Front Office Manager at Britannia Hampstead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit. I look forward to seeing you again in the near future

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews