We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Place to shower and sleep...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Britannia Hampstead Hotel
Ranked #958 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We stayed at this hotel on the 11-13th march 2014, on first impressions the outside of the hotel was awful!, however the lobby was dated but clean and fresh and, it is important to note at this point that the staff were lovely.
Our room was very dated but clean in the important places, and the bed was very comfortable!.
a previous guest had obviously been smoking in the bathroom, the shower was very dated and yellow with age, and there was a dust problem in the bathroom light grill and in the light fittings and pictures.
We ate dinner on the first night at £10.95 per person and wished we hadn't!
Breakfast was varied and offered plenty of choice, make sure you have paid in advance since it costs £10.95!. If you are a fan of bacon, please be aware that they use off cuts of what looks like gammon and bacon and a mixture of smoked and unsmoked. the fried eggs were dreadful but if you have the time to sit and wait they bring out a few fresh ones every now and then.
The staff were knowledgeable when we asked how to get to different places.
If you like to watch decent tele in the evenings, this is not the hotel for you because the tv offered only 6 freeview channels.
overall, if you want a sleeping base for a short stay in London, then you could do worse than stay here.it is only 8 mins walk to chalk farm underground, and only 3 stops from there to kings cross/St Pancras northern line.

Room Tip: choose a higher floor if possible, especially if you want you window open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gavin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FranciscoSalazar1982, Front Office Manager at Britannia Hampstead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

Many thanks for the review. We always welcome feedback and my team and I are glad that you overall enjoyed your stay with us. I hope we can be part of your future travel plans.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,088)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

458 - 464 of 1,088 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

It's an ok hotel, clean with friendly staff. Few minutes walk to Chalk Farm tube and Camden Town. Great full English with chips too!! Used it many times good value for London. Bar open late with good selection, parking on site again reasonable prices.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank gidemarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FranciscoSalazar1982, Front Office Manager at Britannia Hampstead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments – I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

Stay 12th march 2014 !!!! Paid £75.00...in room now !!!!

Awful..... room seriously needs upgrading very tired and dated, stained carpet, bedding creased and one single divan in room had no legs divan just on the floor. Valance sheet has marks all over it. Net curtains have mould marks on them. Room is too hot and had no real breeze from window and cannot turn heating down.

The car parking is a nightmare and you walk through car park and it is disgusting food from kitchens over floor.....filthy !!!

Checked in eventually....reception area not inviting and grubby. We are on floor 4 and walking down the corridor we were greeted by a carrier bag of rubbish and half eaten sandwiches on the floor (ok not entirely hotels fault but the scummy people in the room who put it there).

Shower looks ancient and bath is grubby so will probably not be using them. Glad we are only here for 1 night.

Breakfast £10.50 expensive even though its all you can eat.

Would not recommed this hotel at all and will be seeing if we can get a refund !!! Please do not go by any of the hotel room photos as they look lovely its not !!!!

I usually have an open mind when I read reviews but I must admit I wish I had taken note of them on this occassion !!!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Sam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FranciscoSalazar1982, Front Office Manager at Britannia Hampstead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Thank you for your review, I am sorry that you have been disappointed with your stay at Britannia Hotel. All feedback is treated with the utmost seriousness and we will investigate your comments with a mind to improve our service to all our guests.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Room 112 - 1st Floor.
We were both really happy with our room.
Big & clean. No sign of mould or damp.
Furniture all matching, with a sofa.
Parking, friendly staff.
10 min walk into Camden, stayed as we were going to watch The Babyshambles play at The Roundhouse!!
Brilliant stay, 11am check out, didn't have breakfast so cannot comment.
So many tasty cafe's near by ...

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank robexKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FranciscoSalazar1982, Front Office Manager at Britannia Hampstead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit. I look forward to seeing you again in the near future

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

We booked here to go to the roundhouse. We needed cheap and close. It did it all! You want to moan about this place, then put it on your credit card. Staff were lovely and room ok. Exactly what we expected for the dirt cheap. very basic, bit hey. I'm no superstar

Stayed: March 2014
Thank Craigi23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FranciscoSalazar1982, Front Office Manager at Britannia Hampstead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments – I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

My husband and I stayed here a gift through wowcher. On arrival in the taxi I had to ask if we were at the right place as the outside was filthy fag butts on floor cans of lager in the hedge and broken glass in the door. This was not as the pictures had shown. We checked in and given room 011 which was a cold basement room, on entering the room I could have cried, the room stunk of damp, the carpets was threadbear and had stains all over it( sick) The window was rotten and a draft was coming through from an old door or hatch behind wardrobe. The curtains where mouldy from the windows, the view was a hedge a strongbow cider can and a condom packet!! We asked to be moved as not happy also I can not be in a room like this due to medical condition we got room 501 although better it was still very outdated, bathroom was in need of refurb, tiles we're black with mould and black hair and mould in bath and around toilet. There was a crack in sink and panelling was coming off wall. Bed was clean at least but was old twin pushed together and started itching all night god knows why!! . Only one socket under the table, light switch for room didn't work or no bulb. To top it off room next door became occupied at night and they didn't stop taking till 3am, there was also a smell of cannabis on our floor (nice). In wardrobe there was signs of mice as wood been chewed!! Room noise at night was awful hardly slept. TV only had 6 channels working and had a constant red line through it. Oh one good comment good selection of food but cold, staff pleasant. Such as disappointment as this was a gift and a break well needed. Britannia group you need to market and update your details as pictures are misleading. Will not be going back. Health hazard.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Katrina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FranciscoSalazar1982, Front Office Manager at Britannia Hampstead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Thank you for your review, I am sorry that you have been disappointed with your stay at Britannia Hotel. All feedback is treated with the utmost seriousness and we will investigate your comments with a mind to improve our service to all our guests.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Booked this hotel on a kgb deal (£89 for 2 for 2 nights) for a trip to London to see my daughter. On arrival we had to wait for 2 hours for the room to be ready. I paid an extra £20 for an executive room thinking it would be bigger. The room was standard size, small double bed. mouldy bathroom. toilet seat fell off. The evening meal first night was horrendous, cold, tasteless and over seasoned with salt, salt and more salt. There was one young waitress walking about looking bored. shaking the pans in the hotplate to make the food look 'good'. We filled up on bread rolls and fried onions off the sausage. nice!!!! Breakfast next morning was slightly better. Needless to say we did not eat the next evening meal, because it looked the same as the night before. Don't get me wrong it is in a fabulous location for Camden market and the tube station is not far away and it was 'cheap'. But I will not be staying there again. Britannia you need to wake up and smell the coffee. A dash of paint, fresh cooked food (not frozen) and some happy staff would make the world of difference.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kath s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FranciscoSalazar1982, Front Office Manager at Britannia Hampstead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Thank you for your review,

I am sorry that you have been disappointed with your stay at Britannia Hotel. All feedback is treated with the utmost seriousness and we will investigate your comments with a mind to improve our service to all our guests.


Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Camden
Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock
Corner House Hotel
#758 of 1,081 in London
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Camden Enterprise Hotel
#121 of 1,081 in London
109 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Britannia International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Hampstead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Hampstead Hotel

Address: Primrose Hill Road | Hampstead, London NW3 3NA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #958 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Price Range: £47 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Hampstead Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Commercial Hotel on the north side of Regent's Park in residential Hampstead, 15 minutes from the West End & main line stations. In vicinity of Camden town- London Zoo and Lords cricket ground. Emirates stadium is less than 4 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Britannia Hampstead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Hampstead London
Hotel Britannia Hampstead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing