We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad for a night's stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Britannia Hampstead Hotel
Ranked #954 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We visited a few weekends before Christmas for two nights, and chose this place for the price and the location. My partner has stayed here a few times before on business and deemed it just fine for what it was, and I do agree. Check in was easy and fast and our room was ready before check-in time so that was a bonus! Everything was clean, beds where comfortable and shower was hot and pressure incredible. It is a little worn as a general over-view but as just a sleeping arrangement it definitely did what it was meant to. It is up a hill but it’s not a bad walk in nice weather, the closeness to the tube station is definitely a pro too. I probably wouldn’t stay again as there are so many other hotels in different places to experience in London, but to be close to Camden/Kings Cross it was just fine.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank ND0304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FranciscoSalazar1982, Front Office Manager at Britannia Hampstead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments – I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,073)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

441 - 447 of 1,075 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2014

Visited this hotel a year ago and again this week as part of a Superbreak package.Check in as very speedy although the receptionist was rather brusque and not terribly friendly.There has been some attempts to update the rooms with fresh wallpaper and new shower fittings. They are clean and tidy and extra pillows are found in the wardrobe. We had a slight problem getting the shower to work but this was sorted out within half an hour if reporting it.
Our twin bedded room was on the first floor overlooking the back and was fairly quiet except for the guests in the next room having incessant loud conversations all evening and noisy guests in the corridors in the early hours of the morning. This is not the hotel's fault - just inconsiderate people.
Our package included breakfast. This is a buffet offering a good choice of food from fruit (tinned)' yoghurt, cereals, "hot" cooked items and toast which you make yourself. The cooked items are kept warm under heatlamps which results in rubbery fried eggs and dried out scrambled eggs. They dont seem to be able to cook eggs to order or just put a couple out at a time. Mind you cruise ship buffets suffer from the same problem.
Dinner can be purchased in the hotel but the menu was very limited.There is also a bar in the hotel but we walked down to Camden Lock where there are a variety of eateries and pubs to choose from.
We would return to the hotel again providing we can get the Superbreak package at the same rate.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mccPreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FranciscoSalazar1982, Front Office Manager at Britannia Hampstead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit. I look forward to seeing you again in the near future

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Went for a two night b/b. A bit tired looking but good base for break.
Rooms a bit dated but ok
Good sleep. Near a tube station.
Breakfast had good selection and plenty of.
You get what you pay for and I would rather have a hearty breakfast to set you up for the day than just pay for a fancy room.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank ronbalneaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FranciscoSalazar1982, Front Office Manager at Britannia Hampstead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

Many thanks for the review. We always welcome feedback and my team and I are glad that you overall enjoyed your stay with us. I hope we can be part of your future travel plans.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Let's be honest this place isn't great. I'll start with the positives though. Natalia on reception was very helpful and the breakfast was ok. The price is also cheap for London. Negatives, very dated and fairly dirty. Room was also like a sauna with no way I could find of making it cooler. There was also blood all down the sides of my sink basin. I will upload a picture for you to go "urghhhh" at.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank J0nesy1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FranciscoSalazar1982, Front Office Manager at Britannia Hampstead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

Thank you for your review, I am sorry that you have been disappointed with your stay at Britannia Hotel. All feedback is treated with the utmost seriousness and we will investigate your comments with a mind to improve our service to all our guests.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Scruffy hotel, even as you approach it looks tired and old. Outside is dirty, cigarette ends all over the place, never swept or cleaned. Dowdy and depressing inside. Bedroom was awful, blue walls, green curtains, odd lamps, great big light fitting on the ceiling, lights over the mirror in the bathroom with absolutely no light bulbs in! Awful tatty furniture, valance on the bed was creased and dirty, sheets looked ok, terrace outside bedroom was awful, dirty and dismal, door leads out on to terrace which doesn't lock so other people in other rooms could easily come in, no key to lock it with - never slept a wink. Breakfast was horrible, tea and coffee awful, beans mushy, other stuff luke warm. Car park scruffy, only room for about 9 cars and it's by smelly dirty bins. I couldn't get out quick enough, had to stay one night as couldn't get anywhere last minute but wouldn't have stayed longer and wouldn't go back - it's like a throw back from the 70's, we had 2 single rooms, £84 each - not too much money but not worth it - would be ok if it was basic but clean but this was just plain scruffy and awful.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vickyhotelguru K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FranciscoSalazar1982, Front Office Manager at Britannia Hampstead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

Thank you for your review, I am sorry that you have been disappointed with your stay at Britannia Hotel. All feedback is treated with the utmost seriousness and we will investigate your comments with a mind to improve our service to all our guests.

I'm sorry that your stay was disappointing as a result of our restaurant. I can assure you that the matter is being looked into and will be dealt with accordingly.

I just would like to clarify that our doors for interconnecting rooms can be loocked as well as the door for the balcony.

Moreover, the carpark has space for up to 15 spaces including for disables. There is an easy entry and way out. The price is £10.00 24/hours.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We stayed at this hotel on the 11-13th march 2014, on first impressions the outside of the hotel was awful!, however the lobby was dated but clean and fresh and, it is important to note at this point that the staff were lovely.
Our room was very dated but clean in the important places, and the bed was very comfortable!.
a previous guest had obviously been smoking in the bathroom, the shower was very dated and yellow with age, and there was a dust problem in the bathroom light grill and in the light fittings and pictures.
We ate dinner on the first night at £10.95 per person and wished we hadn't!
Breakfast was varied and offered plenty of choice, make sure you have paid in advance since it costs £10.95!. If you are a fan of bacon, please be aware that they use off cuts of what looks like gammon and bacon and a mixture of smoked and unsmoked. the fried eggs were dreadful but if you have the time to sit and wait they bring out a few fresh ones every now and then.
The staff were knowledgeable when we asked how to get to different places.
If you like to watch decent tele in the evenings, this is not the hotel for you because the tv offered only 6 freeview channels.
overall, if you want a sleeping base for a short stay in London, then you could do worse than stay here.it is only 8 mins walk to chalk farm underground, and only 3 stops from there to kings cross/St Pancras northern line.

Room Tip: choose a higher floor if possible, especially if you want you window open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gavin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FranciscoSalazar1982, Front Office Manager at Britannia Hampstead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

Many thanks for the review. We always welcome feedback and my team and I are glad that you overall enjoyed your stay with us. I hope we can be part of your future travel plans.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

It's an ok hotel, clean with friendly staff. Few minutes walk to Chalk Farm tube and Camden Town. Great full English with chips too!! Used it many times good value for London. Bar open late with good selection, parking on site again reasonable prices.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank gidemarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FranciscoSalazar1982, Front Office Manager at Britannia Hampstead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments – I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Corner House Hotel
#744 of 1,076 in London
431 reviews
Camden
Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Camden Lock Hotel
#471 of 1,076 in London
655 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Britannia International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Hampstead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Hampstead Hotel

Address: Primrose Hill Road | Hampstead, London NW3 3NA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #954 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Price Range: £41 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Hampstead Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Commercial Hotel on the north side of Regent's Park in residential Hampstead, 15 minutes from the West End & main line stations. In vicinity of Camden town- London Zoo and Lords cricket ground. Emirates stadium is less than 4 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Britannia Hampstead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Hampstead London
Hotel Britannia Hampstead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing