We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect location”
Review of St James House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
St James House
Ranked #397 of 871 Speciality Lodging in London
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“perfect location”
Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

5 min walk from Holland park tube which is on the central line giving access to everything the apartment was lovely and clean and very good value for money. There were plenty of
towels and there were plenty of irons and hair dryers in the public area if needed. Along the road was a good pub and plenty of shops. Will def use these again.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lisa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    14
    17
    6
    6
See reviews for
5
27
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
286 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Booked these apartments on Hotels.com on a book now pay later. Got email of the hotel within 24 hours saying they could not charge my card? Of course not its pay at the apartments on arrival I booked for. They emailed back saying ok as I said I would deal with Hotels.com.

Emailed this month to say it was ok to charge the card now but I was informed that my booking was cancelled and they did not have a room for me. I contact Hotels.com (who are no help at all) . I was discussed with this. I stay in London about 5 times a year for 3 to 5 nights and have never had issue but this place is a discussed. They are rude and don’t care about customer services.
Will never stay here

Room Tip: stay away from this place its terrible run
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hallie14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron K, Manager at St James House, responded to this review, 17 June 2015
Thank you for your review and apologies it has taken us so long to respond. We have recently joined Trip Advisor.

We are sorry you experienced such disappointment. With hotels.com we have always had a policy whereby guests pay via card on reservation. We have never had an option to pay at the hotel as, we are not a hotel but self check in apartments and don't meet our guests so everything is prepaid. This information is clearly stated on Hotels.com by saying "Hotel collects payment on booking".

An email would have been sent when your card was declined giving you an option to resolve payment. If no response is received/ card issues resolved up to 24 - 72 hours (depending on how near / far away your arrival dates are) after this email is sent, it is our policy to cancel the booking. Terms that are, again, made clear on Hotels.com. All card issues must be resolved and charged in this time which is why, if you contacted us the following month 73 hours + it will have been cancelled.

We do hope you were able to find a suitable alternative.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Our apartment was very comfortable for a 4 day stay. The bathroom was small, and a toaster for the kitchen would have been appreciated. However, the location was great and the area had a great feel to it. We enjoyed meals at a couple of local restaurants, and grocery stores were near by too. It was very easy to get around London using the tube. London is an amazing city and there is just not enough time to scratch the surface of all the sights and things to do. The cost was reasonable when you consider London is one of the most expensive cities in the world. No complaints with the apartment or the city. Wow!

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ash R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

I suspect that these apartments have been designed with the business traveler in mind. Someone who just needs a place to sleep for a few days whilst attending meetings etc. And for that purpose I think they are probably absolutely fine. For someone on holidays and staying a bit longer, they are rather spartan.

The good points first: the location is fantastic, you are away from any sort of tourist mayhem, close to wonderful London Parks and Gardens, close to Westfield shopping center and it's restaurants and cafes, and within easy reach of anywhere via bus or the tube. The neighborhood is very pleasant indeed. The apartments themselves are quite nice, nicely finished, good beds, well heated and plenty of fresh air if it's needed. There is a common washing machine and dryer in the basement area which is useful, and shared irons with small table-top ironing boards.

So what's the downside: The apartments have the absolute minimum equipment. No coffee plunger or maker, no toaster, a very bare complement of cooking utensils, a small TV far away from the bed, no DVD, no radio, no helpful tourist information [all common in apartments on the continent], only one comfortable chair [a problem when there are two of you] and a lack of storage space for clothing and other items.

I should also say that we arrived early and were unable to check-in until the apartment was cleaned, but the office staff [in a nearby suburb] were extremely helpful, allowing us to leave suitcases at their office until check-in time. If you are in town for a few days and are going to be out most of the time, them these apartments are definitely worth considering. If you want something for a bit longer, that can act as a more comfortable base, you can probably do better elsewhere.

Room Tip: If you are tossing up between a studio apartment and a Luxury Studio apartment, I'd go for the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Busta62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron K, Manager at St James House, responded to this review, 17 June 2015
Thank you very much for your review. It has been very helpful.

We are glad to hear you enjoyed the stay. Your review, in terms of what is lacking has been able to help us a great deal in improving what is offered.

We do supply kitchen equipment enough for 2x people which is the maximum occupancy of the apartments. If anything was missing we would have happily supplied this.

We have since replaced all the TVs with bigger, up to dates ones as per your suggestions. Thank you. We are glad to say we are currently working on an information package tailored for each building with tourist sights, nearby A&Es and local transport among many other things also as per your suggestion which we hope to roll out very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We stayed here 4 nights in May and made the booking based on price and location. We had heard that the quality of London hotels varied a lot and were quite nervous when we opened the door. However, it was very nice and clean and quite new. Actually it had almost everything you needed for the stay, although some glasses and salt and pepper were missing. Nonetheless, we recommend this for any couple or single that are going to London on a budget. The neighborhood was also very nice with only walking distance from the Westfield mall in Sheperd's Bush.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Styczen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

Firstly the location of this property was absolutely fantastic, right next to Westfield and Shepherds Bush and Holland Park Avenue stations.
The beds were actually incredibly comfortable despite what other reviews said.
The service of staff was also excellent.
I would highly recommend this apartment to anyone looking to stay in this area.

Room Tip: Ask for a basement room, especially in the summer, because they are cooler and tend to be larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan_K79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

Just spent three work related nights here on my own. Good value I thought. The studio type unit I had was spotlessly clean as were the common areas. Nice little shower room. Good towel rating! Decent kitchen facilities. Bed was fine but I can never understand why the industry generally doesn't invest more in this area. My unit was in the basement (three of the units are) but no problem there apart from the lack of any sort of view. It was a bit noisy (traffic) but didn't disturb me unduly. I didn't resort to the earplugs. The booking was all on-line/email and there are no reception staff. Its all done on the basis of door codes and the key is left in the room. It felt very secure though. My key wasn't there when I arrived but I had been given several contact numbers and it was soon sorted out. Contact with the staff was friendly and efficient. Whilst, as noted below, it is close to Shepherds Bush tube station, its actually better to turn right and walk up to Holland Park. Generally a safe area on the edge of up market Holland Park and close to the big new Westfield shopping mall. This would be ideal for a tourist couple happy to do some catering for themselves and looking for good value in a city where one can end up paying a lot more for lower quality. There are bigger units as well.

Room Tip: I suspect the more expensive units are on the upper floors but the basement is warm and dry so that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldbutkeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Hammersmith / Fulham
Ibis London Shepherds Bush
Ibis London Shepherds Bush
#246 of 1,069 in London
1,941 reviews
Hammersmith / Fulham
W12 Rooms
W12 Rooms
#48 of 558 in London
269 reviews
Hammersmith / Fulham
Shepherd's Bush Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hammersmith / Fulham
St Christopher's Inn Shepherds Bush
Whitechapel
SHQ Apartments
SHQ Apartments
#84 of 871 in London
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St James House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St James House

Property: St James House
Address: 173 Holland Park Avenue, London W11 4UR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #397 of 871 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — St James House 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your St James House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing