We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Win some, lose some!”
Review of St James House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
St James House
Ranked #393 of 861 Speciality Lodging in London
Hobart
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Win some, lose some!”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

These apartments are very well located for the Central line and proximity to gigantic Westfield Centre with eateries, shopping, Waitrose supermarket as well as both overground and underground train stations. Holland Park station very close and nice cafés etc near there. Our apartment was neat and clean with kitchenette but no toaster, missing crockery and no wine glasses. The irons available to borrow either leaked or did not work, but I was able to borrow a hair dryer for the week. No heating/ cooling so had to leave windows open admitting all the traffic noise which severely disturbed our sleep. But the worst thing was the mattress which was rock hard and made sleep well near impossible. Enough complaints. Generally we had a pleasant stay here but there is definitely room for improvement.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeninenene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron K, Manager at St James House, responded to this review, 16 June 2015
Thank you very much for your review. It is very helpful knowing your good and bad points to help us improve.

We are glad you liked the area and that your apartment was clean. Apologies that there were missing items. Had you informed us we would have happily replaced/supplied extras as everything should have been there.

In regards to the irons we are sorry to hear they leaked! Again, that would have been promptly replaced. All irons, boards and hair dryers have since been replaced by updated versions.

It is likely that the mattress you had was relatively new when you arrived and was still breaking in. They too have been replaced since.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    14
    17
    6
    6
See reviews for
5
27
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

I booked the aparmant on booking.com. The photos on the web are not true... The room was in LOWER GROUNDFLOOR! Because of these and the old windows it was very nosy. We could not sleep. We didn't get back the money. We went to the office of the Apartmant to make complaint and get back the money. We have never had such a bad accomodation. Truely terrible.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Lívia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron K, Manager at St James House, responded to this review, 1 April 2015
Thank you for your review. We are sorry you had a bad experience with us.

We have recently joined Tripadvisor so apologies for the late response to your review.

Firstly the photos on our website and other partner websites are of a number of different studios within the building spanning all floors and may not necessarily be for the apartment you are allocated. We are currently updating all our photos and looking at new ways to book and improve the lower ground floors as well as double glazing all of our windows to dampen outside noise.

As for a refund, we apologise that we were unable to action this, however, this is clearly stated in our terms and conditions which every guest reads and agrees to before arrival.

Again, thank you for your review as it is invaluable in helping us improve in the future. We are truly sorry you did not enjoy your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

5 min walk from Holland park tube which is on the central line giving access to everything the apartment was lovely and clean and very good value for money. There were plenty of
towels and there were plenty of irons and hair dryers in the public area if needed. Along the road was a good pub and plenty of shops. Will def use these again.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lisa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
286 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Booked these apartments on Hotels.com on a book now pay later. Got email of the hotel within 24 hours saying they could not charge my card? Of course not its pay at the apartments on arrival I booked for. They emailed back saying ok as I said I would deal with Hotels.com.

Emailed this month to say it was ok to charge the card now but I was informed that my booking was cancelled and they did not have a room for me. I contact Hotels.com (who are no help at all) . I was discussed with this. I stay in London about 5 times a year for 3 to 5 nights and have never had issue but this place is a discussed. They are rude and don’t care about customer services.
Will never stay here

Room Tip: stay away from this place its terrible run
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hallie14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron K, Manager at St James House, responded to this review, 17 June 2015
Thank you for your review and apologies it has taken us so long to respond. We have recently joined Trip Advisor.

We are sorry you experienced such disappointment. With hotels.com we have always had a policy whereby guests pay via card on reservation. We have never had an option to pay at the hotel as, we are not a hotel but self check in apartments and don't meet our guests so everything is prepaid. This information is clearly stated on Hotels.com by saying "Hotel collects payment on booking".

An email would have been sent when your card was declined giving you an option to resolve payment. If no response is received/ card issues resolved up to 24 - 72 hours (depending on how near / far away your arrival dates are) after this email is sent, it is our policy to cancel the booking. Terms that are, again, made clear on Hotels.com. All card issues must be resolved and charged in this time which is why, if you contacted us the following month 73 hours + it will have been cancelled.

We do hope you were able to find a suitable alternative.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Our apartment was very comfortable for a 4 day stay. The bathroom was small, and a toaster for the kitchen would have been appreciated. However, the location was great and the area had a great feel to it. We enjoyed meals at a couple of local restaurants, and grocery stores were near by too. It was very easy to get around London using the tube. London is an amazing city and there is just not enough time to scratch the surface of all the sights and things to do. The cost was reasonable when you consider London is one of the most expensive cities in the world. No complaints with the apartment or the city. Wow!

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ash R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

I suspect that these apartments have been designed with the business traveler in mind. Someone who just needs a place to sleep for a few days whilst attending meetings etc. And for that purpose I think they are probably absolutely fine. For someone on holidays and staying a bit longer, they are rather spartan.

The good points first: the location is fantastic, you are away from any sort of tourist mayhem, close to wonderful London Parks and Gardens, close to Westfield shopping center and it's restaurants and cafes, and within easy reach of anywhere via bus or the tube. The neighborhood is very pleasant indeed. The apartments themselves are quite nice, nicely finished, good beds, well heated and plenty of fresh air if it's needed. There is a common washing machine and dryer in the basement area which is useful, and shared irons with small table-top ironing boards.

So what's the downside: The apartments have the absolute minimum equipment. No coffee plunger or maker, no toaster, a very bare complement of cooking utensils, a small TV far away from the bed, no DVD, no radio, no helpful tourist information [all common in apartments on the continent], only one comfortable chair [a problem when there are two of you] and a lack of storage space for clothing and other items.

I should also say that we arrived early and were unable to check-in until the apartment was cleaned, but the office staff [in a nearby suburb] were extremely helpful, allowing us to leave suitcases at their office until check-in time. If you are in town for a few days and are going to be out most of the time, them these apartments are definitely worth considering. If you want something for a bit longer, that can act as a more comfortable base, you can probably do better elsewhere.

Room Tip: If you are tossing up between a studio apartment and a Luxury Studio apartment, I'd go for the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Busta62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron K, Manager at St James House, responded to this review, 17 June 2015
Thank you very much for your review. It has been very helpful.

We are glad to hear you enjoyed the stay. Your review, in terms of what is lacking has been able to help us a great deal in improving what is offered.

We do supply kitchen equipment enough for 2x people which is the maximum occupancy of the apartments. If anything was missing we would have happily supplied this.

We have since replaced all the TVs with bigger, up to dates ones as per your suggestions. Thank you. We are glad to say we are currently working on an information package tailored for each building with tourist sights, nearby A&Es and local transport among many other things also as per your suggestion which we hope to roll out very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We stayed here 4 nights in May and made the booking based on price and location. We had heard that the quality of London hotels varied a lot and were quite nervous when we opened the door. However, it was very nice and clean and quite new. Actually it had almost everything you needed for the stay, although some glasses and salt and pepper were missing. Nonetheless, we recommend this for any couple or single that are going to London on a budget. The neighborhood was also very nice with only walking distance from the Westfield mall in Sheperd's Bush.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Styczen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Notting Hill
Space Apart Hotel
Space Apart Hotel
#400 of 1,068 in London
444 reviews
88 Studios Kensington
#115 of 861 in London
56 reviews
Regent's Park / Kings Cross
Studios2Let - North Gower
Studios2Let - North Gower
#45 of 861 in London
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hammersmith / Fulham
Shepherd's Bush Boutique Hotel
Linton Apartments
#29 of 861 in London
180 reviews
Notting Hill
The Notting Hill Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St James House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St James House

Property: St James House
Address: 173 Holland Park Avenue, London W11 4UR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #393 of 861 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — St James House 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your St James House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing