We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Accessibility Aldwych”
Review of Aldwych Theatre

Aldwych Theatre
Book In Advance
More Info
US$69.36*
and up
Beautiful: The Carole King Musical at the Aldwych Theatre in London
Ranked #102 of 1,611 things to do in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: There can be no other theatre in the world which has two such distinct and diverse claims to fame as the Aldwych.During the period from 1925 until 1933 the theatre housed a series of farces by Ben Travers which have gone down in history as 'The Aldwych Farces'. They included such familiar titles as A Cuckoo in the Nest, Rookery Nook, Thark, Plunder and A Cup of Kindness. Nearly 30 years later, on 15 December 1960, the Royal Shakespeare Company took over the Aldwych as its London base.During the next 21 years, prior to the company moving to its theatre in the Barbican, history was frequently made.The Aldwych is currently the residence for the Olivier & Tony award winning Beautiful - The Carole King Musical
dorset
Level Contributor
146 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Accessibility Aldwych”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

My heart fell when I saw how many steps there were to get to the auditorium. An absolutely wonderful usher, Gianni, took us in hand and showed us all the easy ways to access the theatre. He came back at the interval and the end. If he is representative of the staff there and you have a moderate disability go. Wolf Hall and Bringing up the bodies are superlative so don't feel you can't cope.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank beaminster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    483
    189
    39
    20
    13
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
332 reviews
84 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Saw Wolf Hall,
thought it was boring, dull and disappointing.
It lacked any cohesion and floundered on
a weak, script.
Although the actors were impeccable in their delivery,
I thought the production would have benefited from
the addition of a star name or two

Minimal it was in scenery, could do better!

My thoughts were that the modern dialogue seemed oddly out of place,
delivered in Tudor costume.
Ah well, we can't all agree with the rave reviews of the so called critics!!

Oh, why oh why, do we have to sit 3 hours in cramped tiny seats,
that were clearly installed 100 years ago,
when people were four feet tall!!
Come on theatres, lets have a little more leg room,
after all we wouldn't fly 3 hours like that!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank xTimeTravellerx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
Level Contributor
68 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“BRILLIANT SHOW”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

I saw 'Stephen Ward' on the last night. It is nothing short of a disgrace that this brilliant musical from Andrew Lloyd Webber has closed. Alexander Hanson was superb, the storyline captivating with an exquisite musical score.
The only thing I can think of is that the title didn't draw people's attention as so many wouldn't know who Stephen Ward was.
Improvements I would say would have been if they had created a real swimming pool and mansion on the stage. Other than that, I enjoyed the show immensely and hope it will rise again, maybe in Melbourne, Australia as 'Love Never Dies' did.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank ToddyChristchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
179 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Profumo”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Great play and thought provoking. I was searching Google after watching the play to better understand the background to the play. The actors were great and you left the theatre thinking this should not have happened. The injustice, the collaboration of the estabishment against an 'innocent man'. Could this happen today? Could the Home secretary be so corrupt? Could London Poice Chief frame innocinet people? Great play, well acted and it got you thinking. Well worth a visit.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank paul1953uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fun but thought provoking”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

With it about to close and knocked by some professional critics, I wanted to see it and was highly delighted I did. My first impression was that Alex Hanson who was the lead as Stephen Ward was a world class singer. The top supporting actresses were superb characters who breathed life in the roles which echoed between girls wanting to have fun and a much more sleazy walk on the edge of prostitution. Lots of names dropped in to a very accurate portrayal mixed with some totally farcical depictions of police and journalists. If it is closing it is because it steps into a no-mans land which is not quite saved by sterling lead cast work. Don't take the kids as there is nudity, sexual antics and very adult comments. It is a wry humour but suits adults with a brain and that is perhaps why it hasn't attracted huge audiences?

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank ljustice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Aldwych Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Aldwych Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing