We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good honest Italian Food”
Review of Bar Trattoria Semplice - CLOSED

Bar Trattoria Semplice
Price range: US$13 - US$39
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Mayfair
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good honest Italian Food”
Reviewed 20 March 2012

We came here when we could not get a booking in Semplice which we both adore, was concerned that it would not be as good. It is different it is informal however service, food and ambience were still excellent.

It was a very hot night when we came and they opened the doors to allow some air circulation. Very pleasant and friendly staff enjoyed it immensely and did not feel that we were deprived by not getting into Semplice - different type of dining.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LadyaboutTown001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    12
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great manager - makes the place stand out in London Italian eateries”
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Really great wine list, good food and well priced. Manager makes you feel welcome and he loves wine,just ask him to recommend something and you'll be pleasantly surprised. Best of all very reasonable price. A real hidden gem near Bond Street.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Superb smart trattoria”
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Bar Trattoria Semplice is a smart looking place. It is the Sister of Michelin starred Semplice over the road, and is much cheaper and more relaxed experience. For lunch in London it is ideal. The food oozes qulaity, fresh ingredients, good flavours and an authenticity that is hard to find in the UK. My Pomodoro past dish was as good as what I have had in Italy and made me feel that I was in Florence or Rome. The menu is simple, with good options and a set menu if you desire with a number of specials. The wine list is excellent and the service was perfect, friendly and efficient. The restaurant on a Saturday lunch time was busy and had a good atmosphere which helped create a good Italian lunch time vibe. A superb spot to dine. A smart trattoria of Oxford Street.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PoetfromBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SE London
Level Contributor
234 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Italian food superbly cooked in warm friendly atmosphere”
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Warmly received. Informal modern space. Superb fresh Melanzane all Parmagiana. Excellent Tortelloni with ricotta and spinach. The crispy Zucchini could not have been better. Hard to fault.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SEGooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlborough
Level Contributor
244 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Great Tuscan cooking and good value”
Reviewed 23 January 2012

This trattoria, under the same ownership as the neighboring Semplice restaurant, serves very good Tuscan food at a reasonable (for West End) price. The chef is from Pistoia, and all friendly and hospitable Italians.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Arnoldbakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bar Trattoria Semplice also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing