We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Bookstore!”

Waterstone's Booksellers Ltd
Ranked #38 of 739 Shopping in London
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing Bookstore!”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We visited the Waterstone's across the street from our hotel while staying in the Bloomsbury area of London on Gower Street. It was located by the University of Central London. My daughter and I were amazed at its four stories of books. We live in the United States and frequently shop at B&N's, but this bookstore was so much better. If you are a book lover, this is a dream stop for you! We could have stayed for hours.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Theheathfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    49
    6
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Visited once - lovely establishment”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

I actually visited this place once when my daughter was in primary school and I remember it like it was just yesterday. We came in looking for books and the staff were so polite. I would definetly be visiting again if I am in need of books.

Helpful?
Thank missgmallett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Readers paradise”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We visited Waterstone's Piccadilly as our 13 y.o. daughter is an avid book reader and to see her face when she entered the store and saw all the books on display was a treat! The staff are very helpful and knowledgeable and there are numerous places to sit and read on each floor as well as the restaurant on the top floor and the cafe on the lower ground floor. This is Europe's largest book store but it is more than just the volume of books. It is indeed a great place for book lovers. It's worth checking their website for details of the book signings scheduled.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Munchkinfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Earls Barton, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“One of the best”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

One of the best ways of spending a couple of hours in London. There isn't anything the staff don't know...

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
444 reviews
307 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“Super!”
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

What a great bookstore! Three floors full of books, most anything you could ever want...classics, contemporary...lots and lots of everything!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Waterstone's Booksellers Ltd also viewed

 

Been to Waterstone's Booksellers Ltd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing